R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-29-2008, 07:20 PM   #181
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 382
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default ez

Got my ezrun Tekmodel 60A setup today and it is pretty impressive so far. I am running it in my Losi xxx-t with a Novak 10.5. I was kind of worried at first about the sensored to sensorless thing but it seems to be no problem at all. Setup was easy the only question I have is what should I gear it for off road racing. My spur gear is 86. What would be a good pinion to go with this. Right now I have a 20T on it.
ghj1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 04:39 AM   #182
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghj1997 View Post
Got my ezrun Tekmodel 60A setup today and it is pretty impressive so far. I am running it in my Losi xxx-t with a Novak 10.5. I was kind of worried at first about the sensored to sensorless thing but it seems to be no problem at all. Setup was easy the only question I have is what should I gear it for off road racing. My spur gear is 86. What would be a good pinion to go with this. Right now I have a 20T on it.
a 9.5-9.0 FDR but if i know the internal gear ratio and i can work it out for you
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 12:47 PM   #183
Tech Regular
 
guinnes.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 341
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edwintklee View Post
guy,

i got a friend who has this problem, when the ezrun connected to spektrum rx, after less that 1 minute, the rx will reset itself, like in glitch situation,

but if those frequency rx no problem, but the spektrum rx connect to my ezrun no problem...

any ideas?
Having similar problem,
three time during a 4 races qualify the esc just stops for about 10 second and reset himself to default settings,and it need to reset the throttle and brakes to.
its getting on my nerves as it did cost me the A final .
im using a spektrum tx rx too,anyone else having same problem?
thanx
guinnes.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 06:07 PM   #184
Tech Regular
 
Bikerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Bikerbob Send a message via MSN to Bikerbob Send a message via Yahoo to Bikerbob
Default

Well I was out at the track last night with my 35a 9t combo.

I was able to use the programming card and set all settings NP.

I went on the track and the power was great!!

I was able to do the triple (on a 14t double brushed.. no)

Now I am using the brushless and lipo now.. so I am getting a real 7.4v and a clean new motor.

I was practicing.. indoor facility on my 4wd belt MR4-BC. I was able to touch the motor after every run.. no problem.. warm.. but not HOT. I did one run for about 15mins.

For what I paid.. this combo has been great. I did end up breaking a fin off the fan, and the fan does spin sooo hard that there is a bit of a gyro effect.. I can FEEL the fan in the car.

Running the fan off the receiver might be a better idea..

Anyway.. I am giving this a 10 for value, a 9 for features, and a 8 for quality.. I am very happy.

James
Bikerbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 06:26 PM   #185
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

You can definatly feel the fan when the standing still......I have broken the fan and i bash in a rocky area........my switch atracts SO much dirt it is not funny



I agree with your ratings BikerBob
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 06:45 PM   #186
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 382
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default gearing

ok guys off to the track on Sunday. How does this sound for gearing. I have a Losi xxx-t. I am going to use 86/23. Does this sound right. I have only ran it on the street and used a 20t pinion and it took a while to get up to speed but it was not even warm to the touch. So I am guessing I can go up a few teeth. Does this sound right.
Also I agree with the ratings on this esc. See how it holds up and then I will get another if it does.
ghj1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 03:17 PM   #187
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 382
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default ez

Ok back from the track. Truck seemed a little slow. Started out with 23/86 and then went to 20/86 which seemed faster but still didn't seem super quick with a 10.5 in a losi xxx-t. What settings can I change to give it a little more torque. Overall very happy. Made the fastest single lap time I have ever done but I just feel there is more. My drive ratio is 2.56. Any help is appreciated.
Also i used 3300 nimh and tried a 5400 lipo and it seemed no faster.
ghj1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 07:57 PM   #188
Tech Adept
 
terryh1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 172
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hello all, just got a speed passion 17.5, could i use the EZ-RUN esc with this motor
__________________
handle the business, before the busines handles you
terryh1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 02:57 AM   #189
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Grrr...the rain stopped for the first time today and i was so excited to check my speed with my new brushless in my truck and being still damp, no traction a 1:1 car comes flying out of a drive way i swerved and ran in to a concrete pole it was running for 37secs and was doin the 10t was doin 73kpm during impact......damage:

Rear chassis plate
Motor mount
Gear box
Inner rear susp. mount
Arm
Motor may be bent
Diff gear
Rear shock tower

so a 60-125 bux fix because of bordem


When new parts arrive i will test is full potential
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 09:58 AM   #190
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 38
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

read this entire thread. Contemplating grabbing the 13T set up for my Slash....

I HAD a Novak SS5800, but,.well, we wont go into that. Not a Novak fan, but anyway, this looks like a decent set up.

My guess here is the 9T is just not the best application for off-road really.


Drifting101,...you stated do not use in a Slash, because it's 1/8th scale. Remember, the Slash is considerably LIGHTER than any 8th scale buggy or truck. Despite is 14" wheelbase, it is still weight-wise, the same as a Stampede, ect.

for $85 bucks , kind of hard to NOT try it out.
z-man280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 03:42 PM   #191
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

They are still heavier than a 1/10th, my 1/10th scale truck is pushing the motor a little hard any way
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 04:24 PM   #192
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 38
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drifting101 View Post
They are still heavier than a 1/10th, my 1/10th scale truck is pushing the motor a little hard any way
not exactly-


heavier than a clodbuster? a F350? No. Although they might be a little heavier than a race truck, such as my T4, they still are not tanks by any means. They are also geared lower, numerically, with a 2.72 ratio, vs. the 2.6 which, helps compensate for weight. I still think the 13T is a better choice, so I will look that way anyway.

I will agree tho, as they are basically 1/8th scale. The current Toyota Tundra pro 4 truck runs a 116inch wheelbase, which, converted to 1/8th scale, makes for a 14.5 inch wheelbase. Darn close to the Slash for sure.
z-man280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 08:54 AM   #193
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I'm going to be running a 60A 8.5t setup in my RWD TC (when I finish it lol). does a ratio of 5.5 sound right for a huge tarmac track?
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 08:06 PM   #194
Tech Master
 
dethklok151's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: az
Posts: 1,236
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

still running my 35amp with 3000 kv(13t)motor in my slash,now with 1/8 buggy tires,stock gearing.no problems.even on a muddy track,where the extra load might have been an issue,still no problems.havent even programmed it yet.just dont follow the all too common brushless trend of buying too fast of a motor(or high of a wind or kv rating).it is easier to make a slow motor faster than a fast motor slower imo.my buddy has the 9t in his slash and he is having problems with it,but i think it is the motor's bad.
it would be pretty hard to put down much more power in a slash anyway.play it safe and go with the 13t.
__________________
"hey buddy,ya gonna finish marshalling my car or just lay there and bleed?"
Tamiya euro truck on asphalt
dethklok151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 09:45 PM   #195
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,094
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z-man280 View Post
read this entire thread. Contemplating grabbing the 13T set up for my Slash....

I HAD a Novak SS5800, but,.well, we wont go into that. Not a Novak fan, but anyway, this looks like a decent set up.

My guess here is the 9T is just not the best application for off-road really.


Drifting101,...you stated do not use in a Slash, because it's 1/8th scale. Remember, the Slash is considerably LIGHTER than any 8th scale buggy or truck. Despite is 14" wheelbase, it is still weight-wise, the same as a Stampede, ect.

for $85 bucks , kind of hard to NOT try it out.

I am not convinced you have read the whole thread as you state.

Because you would have seen my feedback on one of these in a Slash

and that irrespective of gearing, the motor can not handle running a slash for more than 4-5 minutes without cooking itself. We tried it in a mates slash to eliminate a binding drivetrain as a cause, same result.

Is this suitable for a Traxxas slash?

Short answer:

NO!
__________________
A800 / A800X Awesomatix

Don't worry about what I'm doing.
Worry about why you're worried about what I'm doing.

"Ego is the anesthesia that deadens the pain of stupidity."

nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya mini cooper sipaboy Electric On-Road 29687 12-10-2017 04:07 AM
Duratrax Evader cheech4 Electric Off-Road 1159 03-25-2015 02:27 AM
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 02:50 PM
wich brushless system maylemay Electric Off-Road 38 06-09-2009 03:46 PM
Whats a cheap brushless system for a traxxas slash Leroy1234p Electric Off-Road 25 05-17-2009 08:07 PM
Xray copies academygaz Electric On-Road 151 11-03-2008 09:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:11 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net