R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-24-2008, 08:50 AM   #151
Tech Regular
 
Bikerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Bikerbob Send a message via MSN to Bikerbob Send a message via Yahoo to Bikerbob
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vlozity View Post

anyone opened the can and replaced the wires?


i'd love to be able to move the esc as it sits too high.
Use really good quality connectors and make extentions so that you can move your esc somewhere else? Since this is a budget system, and expectations should not be the same as a $300 system.. the loss you suffer from extra connectors could not be any worse than using a tamiya plug in a car!!
Bikerbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 08:56 AM   #152
Yes
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Send a message via MSN to Yes
Default

NEWB QUESTION


I am new to on road
and brushless third setup ...


Whats max KVs on a 540 BL motor that I can run on a 3s LiPo safely with the
60A EzRun?



Thanks! ! ! Alex
Yes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 09:07 AM   #153
Tech Regular
 
Bikerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Bikerbob Send a message via MSN to Bikerbob Send a message via Yahoo to Bikerbob
Default

HI - COLOUR not good - that LIME was almost impossible to see!

A 3s lipo is 11.1v - You will have to change the fan which if you are going to do lots of power - you dont want to have no fan. The 60A on most sites is rated as their 5.5t or above the KV of the 5.5t is 6000kv

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yes View Post
NEWB QUESTION


I am new to on road
and brushless third setup ...


Whats max KVs on a 540 BL motor that I can run on a 3s LiPo safely with the
60A EzRun?



Thanks! ! ! Alex
Bikerbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 09:44 AM   #154
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

How much is the height of the ESC without a fan, someone could measure that?
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 09:55 AM   #155
Tech Regular
 
Bikerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Bikerbob Send a message via MSN to Bikerbob Send a message via Yahoo to Bikerbob
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by V12 View Post
How much is the height of the ESC without a fan, someone could measure that?
I will measure for you tonight.. but I am thinking about 30mm.
Bikerbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 10:36 AM   #156
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

if you're running 3s lipo I'd say just patch the fan cable into the BEC, or onto a spare receiver port.
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 12:50 PM   #157
Yes
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Send a message via MSN to Yes
Default

I didn't realize that green was so bad sorry , thanks Bikerbob and that means I am safe to use a 5900KV 540 can as long as the original fan is connected to a bec? Or you mean I have to change the fan ???
Yes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 01:02 PM   #158
Tech Regular
 
Bikerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Bikerbob Send a message via MSN to Bikerbob Send a message via Yahoo to Bikerbob
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yes View Post
I didn't realize that green was so bad sorry , thanks Bikerbob and that means I am safe to use a 5900KV 540 can as long as the original fan is connected to a bec? Or you mean I have to change the fan ???
yeah.. the fan is powered through the esc .. it is a 6v fan.. if you put 11.1v it will blow up! LOL..

You can put a lead off the fan to the spare channel in your receiver... that will put you back to your 6v area.

James
Bikerbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 08:19 PM   #159
Tech Fanatic
 
vlozity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 785
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the info Bikerbob!

Quote:
Originally Posted by V12 View Post
How much is the height of the ESC without a fan, someone could measure that?
its 2.5cm or 25mm.
__________________
3Racing Sakura D4 RWD & AWD converted to RWD
Tekin RS ESC Tekin Redline 13.5T BL Sensored Savox 1257TG Sanwa MT4
vlozity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 08:22 PM   #160
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 106
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

hey guys ive just gotten my ezrun 5.5t combo and im having some trouble setting it up

ive tried following the instructios but they are a bit vague .

my problem is that my car is running in reverse and ive checked and my controller isnt set in reverse. i think im having the trouble with when u have to setup the throttle spots . im not sure which spot your meant to hold it on what beep, does any 1 mind explaining to me really quickly please

thank you
scottwhat12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 08:27 PM   #161
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

If all else fails, read the instructions

It says in the instructions if the motor runs in reverse swap two of the wires over.

If taht fails, read the instructions again !!!!

And vlozity .. your first measurement of 25cm or 250mm that you edited was far more entertaining
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 09:11 PM   #162
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 106
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

yea i read through the instructions but it definetly just confused me lol. this is my first brush less motor so im not sure which wire doest what. ill attach a photo with how ive soldered my wires and you guys can see if i have done something wrong .

just some trying to show how ive soldered it up. and 1 or 2 showing the sex machine :P

Last edited by scottwhat12; 10-24-2008 at 10:03 PM.
scottwhat12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 09:22 PM   #163
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Are you just stupid or a bit slow?

Read the instructions. If the motor runs backward simply reverse two of the wires from the ESC to the motor
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 10:06 PM   #164
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 106
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

argh soz about being a retard . had a big night last night and my heads still out of it from the tequila lol .

i worked it out now and got it going forward properly . but i still have a problem when i pick it up and just let the wheels spin freely in the air it absolutely flys but once i put it on the ground it either doesnt move or it just jutters along . is it something wrong with 1 of the esc settins like with the program card? any help would be nice

thanks
scottwhat12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2008, 01:02 AM   #165
Tech Fanatic
 
vlozity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 785
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post
And vlozity .. your first measurement of 25cm or 250mm that you edited was far more entertaining
lol ... was in a hurry and all i had was a tape measure in cm (which i dont use), when i hit return i saw the flaw!
__________________
3Racing Sakura D4 RWD & AWD converted to RWD
Tekin RS ESC Tekin Redline 13.5T BL Sensored Savox 1257TG Sanwa MT4
vlozity is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya mini cooper sipaboy Electric On-Road 29687 12-10-2017 04:07 AM
Duratrax Evader cheech4 Electric Off-Road 1159 03-25-2015 02:27 AM
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 02:50 PM
wich brushless system maylemay Electric Off-Road 38 06-09-2009 03:46 PM
Whats a cheap brushless system for a traxxas slash Leroy1234p Electric Off-Road 25 05-17-2009 08:07 PM
Xray copies academygaz Electric On-Road 151 11-03-2008 09:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:40 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net