R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-21-2008, 12:27 PM   #136
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 27
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

They do actually advertise them as 1/10 capable...they don't seem to specify onroad/offroad etc.

Last edited by paulicat; 10-21-2008 at 12:38 PM.
paulicat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 03:01 PM   #137
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I wonder if one would work in the RWD TC I'm building...
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 01:50 AM   #138
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe of loath View Post
I wonder if one would work in the RWD TC I'm building...
Yes it should




I have just bought my self another 2 escs thanks cannon
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 07:44 PM   #139
Tech Master
 
dethklok151's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: az
Posts: 1,236
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

well,my slash is stock and with the stock gearing,today,i ran on our dry-semi slick(enough to make my slipper slip at times) offroad track for about 15 minutes,and the little 380 motor only got up to 155 degrees.at 7 minutes it was around 135.again,i was running the slowest motor,13t 3000kv.

i think this is a fair system.in my opinion,what is gonna get this combo in trouble,would be running in grass ,sand or gravel. ithink that on a track,under decent circumstances it will be ok.if you decide to overgear,or run monster truck tires ,etc,i think you may run into trouble.

i also see many people buy motors with outrageous kv ratings,when a lower kv motor would be better.this combo is barely faster than my slash was with the stock motor,which also makes me like this system,as well as a low voltage cutoff.
would i recommend it ?yes,if you already have a pretty good idea of what you are doing,and with the lower kv motor.and dont get the big headed status quo crap stuck in your head that you need the faster motor,cuz you probably dont.try the lower kv one,youll probably like it.
go into this purchase(of the 35a one)with low expectations,and you'll be humbly surprised.not friggin AMAZED,but happy none the less.dont expect it to be equal to a mamba,or lrp,or whatever,but count it as a stock equilavent replacement,not necessarily a speed upgrade.just because it says "brushless"doesnt mean its gonna do 90 mph.
i' ll go back to my seat now.thanks for listening...
__________________
"hey buddy,ya gonna finish marshalling my car or just lay there and bleed?"
Tamiya euro truck on asphalt
dethklok151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 09:47 PM   #140
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dethklok151 View Post
well,my slash is stock and with the stock gearing,today,i ran on our dry-semi slick(enough to make my slipper slip at times) offroad track for about 15 minutes,and the little 380 motor only got up to 155 degrees.at 7 minutes it was around 135.again,i was running the slowest motor,13t 3000kv.

i think this is a fair system.in my opinion,what is gonna get this combo in trouble,would be running in grass ,sand or gravel. ithink that on a track,under decent circumstances it will be ok.if you decide to overgear,or run monster truck tires ,etc,i think you may run into trouble.

i also see many people buy motors with outrageous kv ratings,when a lower kv motor would be better.this combo is barely faster than my slash was with the stock motor,which also makes me like this system,as well as a low voltage cutoff.
would i recommend it ?yes,if you already have a pretty good idea of what you are doing,and with the lower kv motor.and dont get the big headed status quo crap stuck in your head that you need the faster motor,cuz you probably dont.try the lower kv one,youll probably like it.
go into this purchase(of the 35a one)with low expectations,and you'll be humbly surprised.not friggin AMAZED,but happy none the less.dont expect it to be equal to a mamba,or lrp,or whatever,but count it as a stock equilavent replacement,not necessarily a speed upgrade.just because it says "brushless"doesnt mean its gonna do 90 mph.
i' ll go back to my seat now.thanks for listening...


Any this is how it should be run in a truck or any thing heavier than a 1/10th



BTW i run my T4 on grass for 20 mins until heat becomes a problem, running 28/87 and trac-ta-gator tires
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 10:26 PM   #141
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 538
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

+1 agreed!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dethklok151 View Post
well,my slash is stock and with the stock gearing,today,i ran on our dry-semi slick(enough to make my slipper slip at times) offroad track for about 15 minutes,and the little 380 motor only got up to 155 degrees.at 7 minutes it was around 135.again,i was running the slowest motor,13t 3000kv.

i think this is a fair system.in my opinion,what is gonna get this combo in trouble,would be running in grass ,sand or gravel. ithink that on a track,under decent circumstances it will be ok.if you decide to overgear,or run monster truck tires ,etc,i think you may run into trouble.

i also see many people buy motors with outrageous kv ratings,when a lower kv motor would be better.this combo is barely faster than my slash was with the stock motor,which also makes me like this system,as well as a low voltage cutoff.
would i recommend it ?yes,if you already have a pretty good idea of what you are doing,and with the lower kv motor.and dont get the big headed status quo crap stuck in your head that you need the faster motor,cuz you probably dont.try the lower kv one,youll probably like it.
go into this purchase(of the 35a one)with low expectations,and you'll be humbly surprised.not friggin AMAZED,but happy none the less.dont expect it to be equal to a mamba,or lrp,or whatever,but count it as a stock equilavent replacement,not necessarily a speed upgrade.just because it says "brushless"doesnt mean its gonna do 90 mph.
i' ll go back to my seat now.thanks for listening...
stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 05:48 PM   #142
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I plan trying the 60A version in a 1/12 car using a Protoform Speed 12 body. Just from the pictures the ESC seems a little high, I think at least you will have to remove the fan. Will this ESC fit in a 1/12 car regarding height? The 1/12 scale bodies are soo low.
Is it possible removing the heatsink also if its too high? I have seen people using the LRP Sphere without heatsink in the 1/12 cars, so maybe this should work here also.
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 07:05 PM   #143
Tech Fanatic
 
vlozity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 785
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default


anyone opened the can and replaced the wires?


i'd love to be able to move the esc as it sits too high.
__________________
3Racing Sakura D4 RWD & AWD converted to RWD
Tekin RS ESC Tekin Redline 13.5T BL Sensored Savox 1257TG Sanwa MT4
vlozity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 07:47 PM   #144
Tech Regular
 
Bikerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Bikerbob Send a message via MSN to Bikerbob Send a message via Yahoo to Bikerbob
Default

Mine came in today from RC Market.

That was about 15 days from Singapore to Canada to my hands.

I am not sure why.. but my customs (hope they dont read this! ) missed charging me anything for it. maybe because of Singapore?

Anyway.. without the customs and tax.. this ended up being the deal of a lifetime!!

15 days ago our dollar was still above 95c US.. so I paid $90CDN DONE.. to my door.. nice.. maybe I can get one of those Xerun escs for a higher end later..

Anyone know a retailer for Xerun?? cant find them.

James
Bikerbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 07:54 PM   #145
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,104
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

Maybe the esc needs a 5-7 minute timer as thats about how long the motor goes for before spiking in temp?

To be expected from a 380 size set up I guess.
__________________
A800 / A800X Awesomatix

Don't worry about what I'm doing.
Worry about why you're worried about what I'm doing.

"Ego is the anesthesia that deadens the pain of stupidity."

nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 07:58 PM   #146
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 538
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bikerbob View Post
Mine came in today from RC Market.

That was about 15 days from Singapore to Canada to my hands.
Isn't RC Market from HK?
stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 08:11 PM   #147
Tech Regular
 
Bikerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Bikerbob Send a message via MSN to Bikerbob Send a message via Yahoo to Bikerbob
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stocker View Post
Isn't RC Market from HK?
Based out of .. yep.. but shipped out of Singapore.. all good to me.

The ESC is small.. this is going to be nice.

I have the 9t 4300.. first test will be in my MR4-BC (4wd offroad) on an indoor carpet offroad.

If I find this is too much for it.. then I will move it over to my TC3 and put the Novak 4300ss into the offroad.

James
Bikerbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 11:46 PM   #148
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nexxus View Post
Maybe the esc needs a 5-7 minute timer as thats about how long the motor goes for before spiking in temp?

To be expected from a 380 size set up I guess.
The way i have found is:

Esc:

1-3 mins of running runs runs ok temps
4-18 mins " " runs coolest
19+ mins " " runs the hottest

Motor;
1-6 mins of running runs good temps
7-15 mins " " runs fairly hot
16+ mins " " runs way too hot

This is on the finger test (Which is how many secs you can hold you finger on the back end)
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 07:45 AM   #149
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 27
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Please let us know how it goes in the offroad Bikerbob!
I'm awaiting your report before I decide which way to go.
paulicat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 08:23 AM   #150
Tech Regular
 
Bikerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Bikerbob Send a message via MSN to Bikerbob Send a message via Yahoo to Bikerbob
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulicat View Post
Please let us know how it goes in the offroad Bikerbob!
I'm awaiting your report before I decide which way to go.

OK, will do. I am rebuilding the car this weekend and offroad will be setup at the track next week (1 week onroad 1 week offroad).

4300kv is supposed to be 19t. SO I will start by gearing it the same way I would the Novak 4300ss and see where that puts it for about 5min of practice.

I really like the programming card - opposed to multi pushes of the setup button on a Novak.

I am disappointed and happy with RC Market.

I am disappointed because their advertising is false - they use a graphic of the combo with the 5.5 or similar motor NOT the blue finned 380, and second because they claim the motor has a temp shut down.. which being the 380 you would think.. great! I cant fry it. But it is SL and even the instructions say the ESC has a 95 deg protection.. nothing for the motor.
I am happy though because service was excellent - and the price was the best out there. I do think though that if this combo was $10 more with a 8.5 (540size) motor, I would have paid that.. rather than get the 380 size.

James
Bikerbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya mini cooper sipaboy Electric On-Road 29687 12-10-2017 04:07 AM
Duratrax Evader cheech4 Electric Off-Road 1159 03-25-2015 02:27 AM
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 02:50 PM
wich brushless system maylemay Electric Off-Road 38 06-09-2009 03:46 PM
Whats a cheap brushless system for a traxxas slash Leroy1234p Electric Off-Road 25 05-17-2009 08:07 PM
Xray copies academygaz Electric On-Road 151 11-03-2008 09:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:46 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net