R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-12-2008, 08:59 PM   #331
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 1,544
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John St.Amant Send a message via MSN to John St.Amant Send a message via Yahoo to John St.Amant
Default

I want it NOW ... no , i wanted it 2 months ago... i ordered 2!
John St.Amant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 04:02 AM   #332
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Who will carry the battery and where can I order one?
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 10:21 AM   #333
Tech Elite
 
Carl Giordano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Upper Saddle RIver, NJ
Posts: 2,309
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Manufacturers Please Consider.

I had a chance to look at the 1c pack this past weekend and it looks great, but please consider a design change if possible.

Could you designed the underside of the battery pack with channels to allow speedo motor wires to run under the battery pack.

This would make for a cleaner looking chassis and for those of us who already run wires under our 4-cell NiMh packs an easy change.
__________________
Mugen Racing / OS Engines / KO Propo / Byron Fuels / Schuur Speed Motors / AKA / Bruckner Hobbies / Tamiya M-Chassis / Kyosho / Yokomo / 360v2 Raceway / Cruzin with RC
Carl Giordano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 11:49 AM   #334
Tech Adept
 
360rcspeedway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sportpak View Post
Who will carry the battery and where can I order one?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Giordano View Post
Manufacturers Please Consider.

I had a chance to look at the 1c pack this past weekend and it looks great, but please consider a design change if possible.

Could you designed the underside of the battery pack with channels to allow speedo motor wires to run under the battery pack.

This would make for a cleaner looking chassis and for those of us who already run wires under our 4-cell NiMh packs an easy change.
360 RC Speedway will be getting the first order in very shortly. You can call us at 631 920 6244, I will post when they come in. Also look for our new E-Store coming soon at 360rcspeedway.com

Carl I don't think you will see a change like that, atleast not in the first batch. Problem is that thing is filled, and I mean filled with battery, so the overall height would have to go up.

Also, another interesting note. I have been testing a device for novak, a voltage booster of some sort. It plugs into the battery port of your reciever and has leads that hook to your battery. It also has a switch for on/off. You basically use it like a receiver pack. It outputs roughly 5.5v for the receiver/servo.

I am happy to say it works great, no reciever pack needed. Wierd thing is my runtime increased with this thing. Ran it yesterday with 1c lipo/17.5 motor and was only .3 per lap off of 4 cell/nimh and it ran for 13 minutes only falling off .5 from beginning to very end! Unreal! Yes it was a lil slower but not much, reminded me of what stock speeds used to be roughly 5-6 years ago. Still yet to try the novak device with a 13.5 but once I do i will post results.

-Donny
360rcspeedway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 12:04 PM   #335
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,859
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to brians11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 360rcspeedway View Post
360 RC Speedway will be getting the first order in very shortly. You can call us at 631 920 6244, I will post when they come in. Also look for our new E-Store coming soon at 360rcspeedway.com

-Donny
Donny or Danny,

Do you know what the street price on these packs will be?

Brian
brians11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 12:39 PM   #336
Tech Elite
 
Carl Giordano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Upper Saddle RIver, NJ
Posts: 2,309
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Donny,

Thanks for the feeback and I'm looking forward to converting over my 1/12th scale to a Lipo system. Quick question. Do you feel there is a need to replace the 1s Lipo pack after each heat during a club race? Not sure if there is enought time, 1-2 hours between rounds to re-peak a 1s lipo pack safely?

Do you believe its neccessary to have a few packs available to change between heats to avoid overheating / damaging a 1s race pack?

If so, that's fine, it just influences the wiring. Also, will the 1s have wires for a plug? versus a bullet connection? If yes, I'm assuming deans connectors? IMO: kind of cheezy for a 1/12th scale...

In any event...please let us know when their available for sale.
__________________
Mugen Racing / OS Engines / KO Propo / Byron Fuels / Schuur Speed Motors / AKA / Bruckner Hobbies / Tamiya M-Chassis / Kyosho / Yokomo / 360v2 Raceway / Cruzin with RC
Carl Giordano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 12:40 PM   #337
Tech Adept
 
360rcspeedway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brians11 View Post
Donny or Danny,

Do you know what the street price on these packs will be?

Brian
Prob right around $45 Brian
360rcspeedway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 12:46 PM   #338
Tech Adept
 
360rcspeedway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Giordano View Post
Donny,

Thanks for the feeback and I'm looking forward to converting over my 1/12th scale to a Lipo system. Quick question. Do you feel there is a need to replace the 1s Lipo pack after each heat during a club race? Not sure if there is enought time, 1-2 hours between rounds to re-peak a 1s lipo pack safely?

Do you believe its neccessary to have a few packs available to change between heats to avoid overheating / damaging a 1s race pack?

If so, that's fine, it just influences the wiring. Also, will the 1s have wires for a plug? versus a bullet connection? If yes, I'm assuming deans connectors? IMO: kind of cheezy for a 1/12th scale...

In any event...please let us know when their available for sale.
Carl,
Having a second pack wouldn't hurt but def. is not necessary. It takes me roughly 20 min. to charge mine back up after a run, it usually only takes 1500mah. Charging it at 7 amps it doesn't take that long at all.

The packs will come with wires out the front and a dean connector. The one I am testing I put battery bars on through the case, which is pretty neat, I'm just not sure it's going to be legal to do for major races according to Roar. I'll get some pics of it up here in a bit.

My first test pack I kept the wires and the deans plug. I shortened them up a bit and had the wires follow the front of the case, then glued the deans plug to the front of the case. It was actually really neat, but like you I am not a fan of plugs of any kind, especially on a 12th scale car. You can see pics of that in an earlier post I had in this thread.

I'll keep you posted on availability.
360rcspeedway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 01:23 PM   #339
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

How large is the doo-dad from Novak? I'd really hate to have to mount up a rats nest of wires and crap. Any idea how close they are to making it available?

keep us posted when they're launched.

If your only off .3 a lap with 17.5, your much closer then I thought this battery will be. How much time before we found a few of those .1s back? Awesome news!
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 01:43 PM   #340
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,859
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to brians11
Default

Donny, thanks. Also, was your testing that you've been doing now with or without extra weight added to match up to current 1/12 weight requirements?
brians11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 01:59 PM   #341
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 1,544
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John St.Amant Send a message via MSN to John St.Amant Send a message via Yahoo to John St.Amant
Default

I would hope once lipos are mainstream for 12th scale that the weight limit would be lowered. Less inertia means less broken parts.
John St.Amant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 03:14 PM   #342
Tech Apprentice
 
rsperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 62
Default mainstream

Quote:
Originally Posted by John St.Amant View Post
I would hope once lipos are mainstream for 12th scale that the weight limit would be lowered. Less inertia means less broken parts.
You keep talking like that all the 4-cell 4-ever guys are gonna freak

Seriously, we just need to get 4 guys that agree to run together. Most places will let an experimental class run, if it doesn't tear up the track. This will allow testing in the real world. They can even be different configurations of 1p or 2p or 2s

please post responses in future of 1/12 to not hijack this thread too much.
rsperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 03:15 PM   #343
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Brian,
From what he posted a page or so back it sounds like Donny is running without the weight added back.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 01:27 PM   #344
Tech Regular
 
Fastforward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO (USA)
Posts: 467
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Now available at Nexux.

http://www.nexusracing.com/product_i...oducts_id=2395
__________________
Bob DeGood
AKA Big Bad Bob
AKA BBB
Fastforward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 09:56 PM   #345
Moderator
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,609
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

what happened to the 5700 mAh?
__________________
Joe Kelly - JK720.net
5280 Raceway |5280raceway.com | 5280 Raceway Facebook
Clegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CE SINGLE CELL HOLDER rogtsaamokin R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 09-11-2006 10:03 PM
Single Cell evaluation andrewdoherty Electric On-Road 2 09-09-2006 07:58 PM
CE Single cell holder II Fast R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 03-31-2006 04:31 PM
NiMah batteries//single cell as well dasgruvn Rookie Zone 6 09-13-2003 09:17 PM
Single cell label..??? Speed Demon Electric On-Road 4 02-28-2003 08:11 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:02 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net