R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-03-2003, 07:48 PM   #16
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: the donut factory
Posts: 182
Send a message via AIM to zachzachz
Default

I dont know how to rebuild a motor and I dont even know if mine is rebuidable. Plus I dont have a lathe or anything like that. I think my LHS can do it but I'm not sure how much it would cost.
zachzachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2003, 10:25 PM   #17
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

zachzachz - Getting your LHS to clean up your motor will be cheaper then shelling out $30 for a new one... also if you don't want to pull your motor appart on your own, ask the lhs to show you how it's done.
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 12:27 AM   #18
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Newville,Pa
Posts: 2,152
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Doggy/pops- remember he has a non-rebuildable style can on the motor and it is a 19T arm in a 0 deg. can.... he would be much better off replacing the motor with a good rebuildable stock.... I would suggest a P2k2 as it would be much easier to learn with as monsters,MVP's, and GM3's are very gear sensative....
__________________
G's RC Raceway- Best off-road track on the east coast...period!!!

Pitman for Team Dallas Austin...
IMPACTPLAYR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 03:06 AM   #19
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

IMPACTPLAYR - Losi included a non-rebuildable 19T that's really is pathetic. Yer just go ahead and replace the motor like impact says.
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 02:45 PM   #20
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: the donut factory
Posts: 182
Send a message via AIM to zachzachz
Default

I dont know, I'd rather get a good quality motor that is rebuildable to learn about it then just having the LHS do everything for me. Plus my LHS kinda rips you off, like most of they're prices are $10 higher than this other hobby shop near me but it's still about an hour away.
zachzachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 04:54 PM   #21
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

zachzachz - Check out this website, it might help you out a little. Also check out the rest of the website as it has lots of useful info.

http://www.balakracing.com/commcutting.htm
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 05:46 PM   #22
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: the donut factory
Posts: 182
Send a message via AIM to zachzachz
Default

Wow great site fatdoggy. I want to thank all of you for taking the time to help me out, it means a lot.
zachzachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 05:50 PM   #23
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Someone is confused?

Quote:
Originally posted by IMPACTPLAYR
Doggy/pops- remember he has a non-rebuildable style can on the motor and it is a 19T arm in a 0 deg. can.... he would be much better off replacing the motor with a good rebuildable stock.... I would suggest a P2k2 as it would be much easier to learn with as monsters,MVP's, and GM3's are very gear sensative....
Quote:
Originally posted by zachzachz

I'm using the gm3 that came with it.
???????????

All I can say if you truly have a Sealed 19T, then toss it out and buy a good rebuildable Stock to replace it as 'IMPACTPLAYER' has suggested.

If you indeed have a GM3 (as you posted), at least have someone knowledgeable check it out for you.

Last edited by popsracer; 09-04-2003 at 05:55 PM.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 06:15 PM   #24
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: the donut factory
Posts: 182
Send a message via AIM to zachzachz
Default

I do have a gm3, would a picture of the motor help at all?
zachzachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2003, 06:27 PM   #25
Tech Regular
 
Johnny J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 375
Default

Yes, a picture of the motor that you are talking about would help clear a lot of the confusion lol.
Johnny J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2003, 08:21 AM   #26
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Newville,Pa
Posts: 2,152
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Doggy- not really all RTR cars come with those types on motors... they are cheap and get the kids running quick!!

POPS- the GM3 he is talking about is his GM V3r speedo not a Green Machine 3 motor ....which is a real piece of crap in it's own right(the speedo not the motor).....

Fortunately the car and radio far outweigh the price you pay, so you get the junk (speedo/motor) pretty much as free-bee's........


Free-bee
zip....zero..... Nada!!!!

LOL a little Monster Garage humor!!!
__________________
G's RC Raceway- Best off-road track on the east coast...period!!!

Pitman for Team Dallas Austin...
IMPACTPLAYR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2003, 10:48 AM   #27
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default

(insert classic 'Twilight Zone' theme music here)

Last edited by popsracer; 09-06-2003 at 01:00 PM.
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2003, 07:16 AM   #28
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Newville,Pa
Posts: 2,152
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by popsracer
What you expected them to include a D5 handwound 19T motor???

At least it isn't one of those sealed endbell 540's that can't even keep up with a Tamiya Mabuchi!!!

YES, not all mabuchi 540s are the same!!!! Tamiya's are actually pretty quick once geared right, on a medium to small track they are much closer to stock than stock is to 19T chamelion!!!!!!!!
__________________
G's RC Raceway- Best off-road track on the east coast...period!!!

Pitman for Team Dallas Austin...
IMPACTPLAYR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2003, 12:37 AM   #29
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by IMPACTPLAYR
YES, not all mabuchi 540s are the same!!!! Tamiya's are actually pretty quick once geared right, on a medium to small track they are much closer to stock than stock is to 19T chamelion!!!!!!!!
Yes I can vouch for that,
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
b4/t4 problems trdsupra88 Electric Off-Road 12 03-15-2008 10:52 PM
JR Z-1 Problems...need help! pumpkinfish Radio and Electronics 3 10-24-2007 05:31 PM
Problems.. Oasis Chat Lounge 9 01-16-2006 08:41 AM
tc3 one way problems dontfeelcold Australian Racing 7 12-31-2003 04:34 PM
Set Up Problems Griz Australian Racing 5 12-05-2003 12:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:34 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net