R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-26-2008, 07:56 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
LOSI SCOTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 967
Trader Rating: 70 (99%+)
Default GTB Esc question?

Ok i run spektrum and use the dx3r remote. Can you run the GTB non spektrum with the spektrum stuff? If anyone knows let me know. Thanks
LOSI SCOTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 08:03 PM   #2
Tech Apprentice
 
DdasHizEl714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: westminster
Posts: 64
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

i run my gtb (non spektrum versions) with my airtronics 2.4 and i havnt have any problems.
__________________
OC/RC RACEWAY
DdasHizEl714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 08:05 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
LOSI SCOTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 967
Trader Rating: 70 (99%+)
Default

Hmm... well i have a spektrum gtb in my truck and have not a bit of problems i put a regular gtb in my buggy 2 in the past week and both have quit?
LOSI SCOTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 08:14 PM   #4
Tech Apprentice
 
DdasHizEl714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: westminster
Posts: 64
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

from what i ve heard the main diffence between the spektrum gtb is the time it takes before it goes in to a lost signal mode, i guess the 2.4ghz systems need a couple seconds to synch every time you turn them on, but the gtb doesnt give them enough time to do that, so then the gtb automatically goes into a failsafe mode.
__________________
OC/RC RACEWAY
DdasHizEl714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 12:01 AM   #5
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DdasHizEl714 View Post
from what i ve heard the main diffence between the spektrum gtb is the time it takes before it goes in to a lost signal mode, i guess the 2.4ghz systems need a couple seconds to synch every time you turn them on, but the gtb doesnt give them enough time to do that, so then the gtb automatically goes into a failsafe mode.
Ummm, sorry, I think you heard wrong. I have both a Spread Spectrum & regular GTB, & both work just fine with ANY DSM radio. The only thing to keep in mind is that you should not use the Spread Spectrum one with a NON-DSM radio, I believe it has to do with how fast the SS GTB switches, can get rough if the radio's throttle doesn't have as high a resolution(would probably be like someone replacing all the fine throttle steps with just a few, like the OLD mechanical ESC's, very hard on motors, batteries, & very inefficient). I don't know all the specifics, but I believe Novak's site has more info on the subject....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
engine question and radio question alucard13 Nitro On-Road 12 09-12-2008 09:21 AM
Bolink TF drag car question and BL question parnelli97 Electric On-Road 2 08-20-2007 06:32 AM
This is gonna sound stupid question but I have a battery Question. Smoke21 Electric On-Road 7 04-25-2004 09:10 PM
indi charger question/3300mhz battery question TT_Vert Electric Off-Road 4 12-27-2003 12:46 PM
Nitro engine question - newbie question. BloodClod Singapore R/C Racers 6 09-11-2002 10:33 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:59 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net