R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-17-2004, 11:45 PM   #721
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tornado
Errrrrr. ....... is there a huge difference between the already excellent esc VFS2k and the new VFS 1 ?

Better run time ? .... by how much ?...........easier on the comm ?.........
hey tornado... the VFS-1 has been optimized with more drive frequencies and stages. Ko Propo has increased it from 32 stages to 64 stages. this allows for more run time for hotter mods and more fine tuning. Races in japan are 8 mins in length so the addition drive stages and higher frequencies help this.

they did remove 8-10 stages from the bottom end, but still provide for plenty of punch. VFS-2000 is still a great esc, the VFS-1 just improves on it by allowing for finer throttle profile adjustments. they've also added throttle response, current limiter and other features that the 2000 didnt have.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2004, 07:26 PM   #722
tornado
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hebiki
hey tornado... the VFS-1 has been optimized with more drive frequencies and stages. Ko Propo has increased it from 32 stages to 64 stages. this allows for more run time for hotter mods and more fine tuning. Races in japan are 8 mins in length so the addition drive stages and higher frequencies help this.

they did remove 8-10 stages from the bottom end, but still provide for plenty of punch. VFS-2000 is still a great esc, the VFS-1 just improves on it by allowing for finer throttle profile adjustments. they've also added throttle response, current limiter and other features that the 2000 didnt have.
Thanks Chris !!

I'm thinking of getting one actually......just needed some clarifications on its features, so on and so forth before deciding. .......oh Santa.....I've been a goody goody boy ....
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2004, 03:16 PM   #723
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default new vs old

Can I program vfs-1 with my old setting adapter? Would there be any advantages to the new setting adapter and is the new one compatible to vfs-2000?
alien too is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2004, 05:44 PM   #724
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Re: new vs old

Quote:
Originally posted by alien too
Can I program vfs-1 with my old setting adapter? Would there be any advantages to the new setting adapter and is the new one compatible to vfs-2000?

alien too

due to the changes in the number of drive frequencies, the VFS-1 cannot be programmed with the old adapter. also, the new handheld adapter has been reworked so it can program the ICS line of Ko products by using different data cards and vice versa.

hope that helps.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2004, 05:57 PM   #725
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via ICQ to Merciless
Default

Sorry for asking a question i'm sure is answered some where back along but .......

Will my pc link lead from my existing 2000j work with the vfs-1 or will that also need replacing ?? like the adpt. ???

Thanks and sorry for having to ask too .....

Happy holidays
Merciless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2004, 11:44 AM   #726
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Merciless
Sorry for asking a question i'm sure is answered some where back along but .......

Will my pc link lead from my existing 2000j work with the vfs-1 or will that also need replacing ?? like the adpt. ???

Thanks and sorry for having to ask too .....

Happy holidays
It's the same, just download the new software for the VFS-1 to use it.
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 10:26 AM   #727
Tech Regular
 
Crashmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincs, England
Posts: 363
Default Brakes

Hi everyone,
I've just got a VFS-2000 (i know everyone is goin to the VSF-1, but I wanted to give it a go). The problem I have is that the brakes on it seem almost none-existant. I am running a 19 turn V2 with 3 diodes on it the protect the speedo, and the caps etc. The only thing seeming slowing it down is the drag from the motor. Any ideas

Cheers
Crashmaster

Last edited by Crashmaster; 01-25-2005 at 10:55 AM.
Crashmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 10:52 AM   #728
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via ICQ to Merciless
Default

If your radio and speedo have both been set-up together and are calibrated together per the speedo instructions i'd guess you got a blown up speedo.

Check your transmiter setting though i.e expotential throttle travel limits etc. then re set-up the speedo to the radio and test if it's still the same i recon you'll have to send it off for repair.

This as i know from first hand experience is a painless excerise and will not take long at all before it's back in your hand even if your pocket is alittle lighter for the expenience

hope this helps >?
Merciless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 10:58 AM   #729
Tech Regular
 
Crashmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincs, England
Posts: 363
Default

Cheers mate. Checked all through the radio etc, and it hasn't made a difference unfortunately. The forward is fine, just the brakes which are the problem. Do you have any idea what the proceedure is for returning the speedo's for repair/ the costs involved?

Cheers
Crashmaster
Crashmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 11:10 AM   #730
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via ICQ to Merciless
Default

LOL

Earlier in this thread there's a sort of account of the troubles and hassels i had trying to get KO to take resposibility for there 1 week old faulty speedo.

A load of crap really about how even though i bought it in the USA i should try and get KO UK to repair it.

KO UK were saying that they wanted paying to repair it as i bought it in the USA. no surprises there. In the end i had to get some high up guy in KO japan to sort it out for me ;+) which he did and i sent it back to KO usa who had it repaired and back with me in like 2 weeks only and all but 2days of that was it traveling there and back !!!

the proceedure depends on wether you bought it new ??

If you did, it needs to go back to the shop were you got it.

If it's going for repair (not warranty) you need the UK importer i think. I can't remember off hand who that is but i'm sure it's mention further back the thread if you want to look.

Sorry i cant be of more help !
Merciless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 11:14 AM   #731
Tech Regular
 
Crashmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincs, England
Posts: 363
Default

Cheers mate. I'll look into it.
Crashmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 07:58 PM   #732
Tech Adept
 
DaNieL_KuO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rowland Heights California U.S.
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to DaNieL_KuO
Default

Ive had my VFS fried a few times, sent it to KO USA, Robert was always kindly enough to repair it for me and send it back. All iIhad to do was pay for repair cost. I think it was like $40? It was a blown FET and a power coil part.I rember. Because I was running a 7turn without any shocky diodes and using the brakes...lol Doooohhhh!!
DaNieL_KuO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 01:07 AM   #733
Tech Regular
 
Crashmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincs, England
Posts: 363
Default

Nice. I'll have a word with Helger and see what they say.

Cheers
Crash
Crashmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2005, 07:56 AM   #734
Tech Adept
 
jiggen5354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 192
Default

Just got hold of a pc interface. How do I go about programming my vfs 2000j. I have downloaded the vfs2000 manaager software off the ko website and i haven't had much success .
jiggen5354 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2005, 02:12 AM   #735
Tech Regular
 
Crashmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincs, England
Posts: 363
diodes

Hi guys,
What number of diodes (not the super ones, just nomral ones) would you recomend I should run on a 19 turn stock motor?

Cheers
Crashmaster
Crashmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ko propo vfs-2000 esc nitro kid R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 03-29-2008 12:29 PM
KO Propo VFS 2000 ESC Help simba350 Australian Racing 3 11-08-2007 11:34 PM
~F/S Ko Propo Mars R/Ko Propo VFS 2000 Pro/BMI FK05~ RandomTask R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-21-2006 10:18 PM
Ko Propo ESC, VFS 2000/VFS-1 Thraex R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 03-13-2005 02:21 PM
KO Propo VFS-2000 ESC AGR#7 Electric On-Road 9 01-06-2003 11:35 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:08 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net