Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
KO Propo VFS-2000 ESC >

KO Propo VFS-2000 ESC

KO Propo VFS-2000 ESC

Old 08-26-2004, 09:53 AM
  #676  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 202
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Condenser and Diode Location

KO Staff: (or anyone else that can help).
I've got a similar question to rattlr2.

First regarding Condenser, does it have to be soldered directly to the (-/+) battery leads on the ESC? I wanted to add two small leads to relocate it so I could strap it down somewhere else on the chassis. If I'm using deans connectors, could my Condensor leads be soldered into there the ESC leads are soldered to the male deans plug? (Hope that makes sense).

Second, regarding the starndard KO diode that comes with the VFS2000, does it have to be soldered directly onto the motor? I wanted to create a harness, much like the diode harness for the GT7, where the diode is soldered inline, in route to the motor leads. I would also solder in the lead to connect to the (+) battery terminal.

Any idea if this works or how it affects performance?

Thanks for any input.
Electro-MAX RC is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 11:31 AM
  #677  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,210
Default

Originally posted by tornado
Why closer to the motor and not on the esc or on the wire connecting to the motor ?

Bryan
The idea is that the closer the diode is to the motor, the better it will help to prevent noise and help efficiency. I have tried it inline on the motor wires and have had no problems. It is just our suggestion to prevent noise and help to reduce the short that travels to the ESC when braking.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 11:32 AM
  #678  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,210
Default Re: Condenser and Diode Location

Originally posted by Electro-MAX RC
KO Staff: (or anyone else that can help).
I've got a similar question to rattlr2.

First regarding Condenser, does it have to be soldered directly to the (-/+) battery leads on the ESC? I wanted to add two small leads to relocate it so I could strap it down somewhere else on the chassis. If I'm using deans connectors, could my Condensor leads be soldered into there the ESC leads are soldered to the male deans plug? (Hope that makes sense).

Second, regarding the starndard KO diode that comes with the VFS2000, does it have to be soldered directly onto the motor? I wanted to create a harness, much like the diode harness for the GT7, where the diode is soldered inline, in route to the motor leads. I would also solder in the lead to connect to the (+) battery terminal.

Any idea if this works or how it affects performance?

Thanks for any input.
For your first question, that would work.

Your second, see the previous post.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 09:26 PM
  #679  
tornado
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by KO PROPO Staff
The idea is that the closer the diode is to the motor, the better it will help to prevent noise and help efficiency. I have tried it inline on the motor wires and have had no problems. It is just our suggestion to prevent noise and help to reduce the short that travels to the ESC when braking.
Okey dokey ! thanks Robert. I'm just confused seeking clarification. You've been most helpful.

Bryan
 
Old 08-28-2004, 04:09 AM
  #680  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (3)
 
rattlr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 92
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

ko propo staff what is procedure for runiing reciever pack with hara twister ?
rattlr2 is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 11:34 AM
  #681  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,210
Default

Originally posted by rattlr2
ko propo staff what is procedure for runiing reciever pack with hara twister ?
The postive pin on the lead going to the receiver must be pulled. Don't cut it, because you will need to re-insert it for setting changes.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 04:02 PM
  #682  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (3)
 
rattlr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 92
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

do you need to turn on both switches (the one for reciever pack and speed control)

thanks
rattlr2 is offline  
Old 08-30-2004, 04:23 PM
  #683  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,210
Default

Originally posted by rattlr2
do you need to turn on both switches (the one for reciever pack and speed control)

thanks
Yes you will need to trun on both. The receiver pack will only power the receiver and servo and the VFS will only power the motor. Turn on the receiver pack first.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 03:51 PM
  #684  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North Bay
Posts: 488
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Greetings Ko Staff,

Just was wondering if you had an update on the arrival of the VFS-1.

Cheerz
Obsidian is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 03:52 PM
  #685  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Obsidian
Greetings Ko Staff,

Just was wondering if you had an update on the arrival of the VFS-1.

Cheerz
check out the VFS-1 thread....

ETA sometime this week...
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 10:25 PM
  #686  
Tech Adept
 
jiggen5354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 202
Default too many schottkys?

Is there such a thing as too many schottkys for the VFS 200J?

On my monster stock powered CGM I am running a KO hyper booster, the schottky included with the VFS 2000J and a Novak schottky module. Is this over kill? At the moment I am finding a lack of bottom end after braking for a hair pin corner. I am also running the standard cap and profile of 17's.
jiggen5354 is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 11:28 AM
  #687  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Re: too many schottkys?

Originally posted by jiggen5354
Is there such a thing as too many schottkys for the VFS 200J?

On my monster stock powered CGM I am running a KO hyper booster, the schottky included with the VFS 2000J and a Novak schottky module. Is this over kill? At the moment I am finding a lack of bottom end after braking for a hair pin corner. I am also running the standard cap and profile of 17's.
jiggen.. if your lacking punch. try adjusting your profile. you said its at all 17s right now...

try dropping the first 16 stages to 10...and on the 17th stage start going up. by stage 32..end up around 17-22/23... depending on how the top end feels, comm wear and run time remaining, adjust accordingly.

dropping down to 10 will give you a lot of punch for stock and 19T, but more wear on your comm.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 02:23 PM
  #688  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

i guess ppl forgot about this thread since they're all moving to the VFS-1!
Hebiki is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 09:07 AM
  #689  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
utieh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: paris
Posts: 944
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

KO PROPO staff,

I have a problem with my VFS 2000,
1 month ago during a race the speedo didn't want to work at all, only the red LED were on but absolutely no signal to the motor (steering servo was working fine).
After a few days I reinstalled it in my car and it worked like before.
2 weeks ago I attended a race and it did exactly the same.
It seems that is not possible to download any program since the ESC is not "reacting" when I push the setting button and when I plug in the battery the ESC is turned on already (can't turn it off)

I don't think I can fix this myself.
Should I send it to KO USA or KO J-Land?
Do you have any contact/address or e-mail if it is in Japan
Will it cost something?

Thank you very much.
Best regards.

Gilles
utieh is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 02:52 AM
  #690  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 528
hi guys, need your feedback:

if i wire my VFS2000 to the GT7 wire & schottky diode harness kit, would it be sufficient to run a 10-turn modified motor? or do i still need to solder on the original KO super schottky diode?

also, do i need to install another additional power-up condensor?

thanks.
Devil666 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.