R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-18-2004, 02:49 PM   #526
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Downingtown, PA
Posts: 5,792
Trader Rating: 244 (99%+)
Default

That could be why. I know that the higher freq setting you use the more every thing heats up!
Fred Perkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 06:01 PM   #527
Tech Elite
 
Neil Rabara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 4,821
Default

I just got this speedo from Robert at KO Propo here at the ROAR onroad nats and I am extremely impressed with it's performance. He constantly had alot of the pro drivers coming to him to set it up including me. Atsushi Hara took home the TC Mod and 1/12 Mod titles with this speedo.
Neil Rabara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2004, 11:10 PM   #528
Tech Master
 
PizzaDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Parts Unkown
Posts: 1,044
Default

2 Questions:

I cant seem to store any of the profiles on my handheld programmer!
Whenever I save them, and startup later they're gone.
Anyone got any tips?

Another problem which might have nothing to do with the speedo.
When hammering the throttle it feels like there is somekind of delay or powergap.
I run 19t and 2 caps.
Could the caps be bad?
Or maybe wrong settings?
I used to run the original 19t settings. Later I modified it (with succes, I was faster) to a lower freq setting.

Anyone?
PizzaDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2004, 11:33 PM   #529
Tech Master
 
Kenneth Tan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,123
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

After switching on the Apdaptor again, you have to select the profile that you want and 'Load' it again.
Kenneth Tan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2004, 12:05 AM   #530
Tech Master
 
PizzaDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Parts Unkown
Posts: 1,044
Default

Thanks Ill try that
PizzaDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2004, 12:09 AM   #531
Tech Elite
 
Neil Rabara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 4,821
Default

I think it's easier to use the computer.
Neil Rabara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2004, 12:24 AM   #532
Tech Master
 
PizzaDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Parts Unkown
Posts: 1,044
Default

Yeah I guess you're right.
But I do have the handheld allready.
And think the interface is kinda expensive.

Though it's on my wishlist
PizzaDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2004, 10:54 AM   #533
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PizzaDude
2 Questions:

I cant seem to store any of the profiles on my handheld programmer!
Whenever I save them, and startup later they're gone.
Anyone got any tips?

Another problem which might have nothing to do with the speedo.
When hammering the throttle it feels like there is somekind of delay or powergap.
I run 19t and 2 caps.
Could the caps be bad?
Or maybe wrong settings?
I used to run the original 19t settings. Later I modified it (with succes, I was faster) to a lower freq setting.

Anyone?
PizzaDude- When saving the profile, you must hold down the button. It should say OK on the screen. Then when you turn on the programmer, you must select the correct memory location. You will still have to LOAD the profile. Eventhough you have selected the memormy location, you still have to load it.

As far as the a delay, you may want to try to replace the caps. Send me your profile and I can take a look at it.
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2004, 12:37 PM   #534
Tech Master
 
PizzaDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Parts Unkown
Posts: 1,044
Default

Thanks, Staff.
I'll look up my setup and send it to you.

As for the handheldprogrammer, Kenneth told kinda the same thing.
And I tested it today. It works fine.
So that's clear now.

Is there a way to test wheter caps are in Ok condition or have gone bad?
PizzaDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 12:09 AM   #535
Tech Master
 
PizzaDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Parts Unkown
Posts: 1,044
Default

Ko Staff

Last time I ran I used the standard 19t techn setup.
Which starts out a litlle higher and then dips to a lower rate.Why is this?

I also used the 540setup which I think was used by Hara (if memory serve me right.
I'll have to doublecheck that.


Any other things to try? Tips for a 19t on a tight track? (quite a few 180 degree turns in there so a lot of accelerating.


Thanks,
Pizza
PizzaDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 08:26 AM   #536
Tech Adept
 
prodrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 174
Default to ko staff

i just picked up another vfs 2000 series esc but this time it was the j version and when i install it i noticed that the caps that came with it was smaller than the caps that i previously have bought separately. should i use one big power up condenser or two small ones (more like mid sized) if i were to use 23t stock motor? btw the motor is tamiya's super stock RZ

and also should i use copper or silver wires??? deans are copper and big. lrp not so big but silver, keyence maybe? what are the downside??
prodrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 10:11 AM   #537
Tech Master
 
=MisFitz= NuKe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,058
Send a message via AIM to =MisFitz= NuKe Send a message via Yahoo to =MisFitz= NuKe
Default Re: to ko staff

Quote:
Originally posted by prodrive
i just picked up another vfs 2000 series esc but this time it was the j version and when i install it i noticed that the caps that came with it was smaller than the caps that i previously have bought separately. should i use one big power up condenser or two small ones (more like mid sized) if i were to use 23t stock motor? btw the motor is tamiya's super stock RZ

and also should i use copper or silver wires??? deans are copper and big. lrp not so big but silver, keyence maybe? what are the downside??
Just pick up some standard 14AWG wire, works the best, easy to bend and wire a car with. Doesn't really matter which kind, I guess the Novak wire, Orion, whichever.
=MisFitz= NuKe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 10:15 AM   #538
Tech Master
 
=MisFitz= NuKe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,058
Send a message via AIM to =MisFitz= NuKe Send a message via Yahoo to =MisFitz= NuKe
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PizzaDude
Ko Staff

Last time I ran I used the standard 19t techn setup.
Which starts out a litlle higher and then dips to a lower rate.Why is this?
I also used the 540setup which I think was used by Hara (if memory serve me right.
I'll have to doublecheck that.
Any other things to try? Tips for a 19t on a tight track? (quite a few 180 degree turns in there so a lot of accelerating.
Thanks,
Pizza
Well, if the track is very tight, and you know that you are letting off the throttle all the way for each turn, as in when you are coming out of a turn you starting back at neutral throttle and pulling back (versus going through the turn and coming out at half throttle and pulling back), then you might want to try a set-up that starts at about 14 (number on the handheld programmer), and then gradually drop it down to about 10, then bring it back up, slowly, to about 19-22. If you arent getting any tire spin when coming out of the corners, then try starting at about 11 and stay at 11 till almost half throttle, then bring it up to 19-22.
Hope that helps a bit.
=MisFitz= NuKe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 11:03 AM   #539
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PizzaDude
Ko Staff

Last time I ran I used the standard 19t techn setup.
Which starts out a litlle higher and then dips to a lower rate.Why is this?

I also used the 540setup which I think was used by Hara (if memory serve me right.
I'll have to doublecheck that.


Any other things to try? Tips for a 19t on a tight track? (quite a few 180 degree turns in there so a lot of accelerating.


Thanks,
Pizza
Pizza- You would want to start at a higher frequency if you are getting wheel spin. This will mellow out the torque on the motor. I will post the setting that was used at the ROAR nats on Monday. This setting was used by MisFitz to get him to the A-main and pull on some of the factory drivers. This is so that you have an idea.
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 11:05 AM   #540
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default Re: to ko staff

Quote:
Originally posted by prodrive
i just picked up another vfs 2000 series esc but this time it was the j version and when i install it i noticed that the caps that came with it was smaller than the caps that i previously have bought separately. should i use one big power up condenser or two small ones (more like mid sized) if i were to use 23t stock motor? btw the motor is tamiya's super stock RZ

and also should i use copper or silver wires??? deans are copper and big. lrp not so big but silver, keyence maybe? what are the downside??
prodrive- The VFS-2000 and J version come with the smaller 1000uF cap. The larger 2200uF cap is an option. The larger cap will give you more punch, but for 23T motors you can probably just use two of the smaller ones if you have room.
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ko propo vfs-2000 esc nitro kid R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 03-29-2008 12:29 PM
KO Propo VFS 2000 ESC Help simba350 Australian Racing 3 11-08-2007 11:34 PM
~F/S Ko Propo Mars R/Ko Propo VFS 2000 Pro/BMI FK05~ RandomTask R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-21-2006 10:18 PM
Ko Propo ESC, VFS 2000/VFS-1 Thraex R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 03-13-2005 02:21 PM
KO Propo VFS-2000 ESC AGR#7 Electric On-Road 9 01-06-2003 11:35 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:09 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net