Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
KO Propo VFS-2000 ESC >

KO Propo VFS-2000 ESC

KO Propo VFS-2000 ESC

Old 04-24-2004, 11:33 AM
  #301  
Klr
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 17
Default Weird runtime problem

Hey all,

I recently bought one of these to replace my cyclone TC and found a weird problem. I am running stock and could get 9 minutes of runtime off of a pack of GP3300 with my old cyclone. Now it barely gets 5 minutes.
My question is this, is the default factory setting not recommended for running stock? I don't have a setting adapter so I can't verify it. All I have replaced are the esc and a servo. I doubt that it is the servo since it is working flawlessly.
I have already checked for all the obvious stuff such as binding, motor etc.
Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Klr is offline  
Old 04-24-2004, 02:27 PM
  #302  
Tech Master
 
PizzaDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Parts Unkown
Posts: 1,088
Default

Well I've got my vfs up and running.
And its working out great.

I'm interested in 27, 23 and 19t setups from all you guys...
PizzaDude is offline  
Old 04-24-2004, 02:35 PM
  #303  
Tech Addict
 
John_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 724
Default

you will be able to use basicly the same setup for all those motors theres a good stock setup on kos website i think vfs stuff
John_S is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 10:23 AM
  #304  
Tech Addict
 
Tim Stamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 594
Default

Ko Propo Staff,

I haven't been able to test my twister yest on my scope. Adam hasn't returned it yet. But I heard from a friend that was at the roar nats that the early versions of the twister had issues being programmed. The person was talking to someone that was pitting with Alex Lopez. Could this be my problem? Who knows.

Have you heard of this? Should I send an e-mail to Hot Bodies and ask them?

Let me know what you think of this info.

Thanks

Tim Stamper
Tim Stamper is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 10:55 AM
  #305  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ridin my Harley
Posts: 707
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Stamper--Call me after 8 tonight. I can meet you on Sunday if you want.
Adam Hartzell is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 10:55 AM
  #306  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Tim Stamper
Ko Propo Staff,

I haven't been able to test my twister yest on my scope. Adam hasn't returned it yet. But I heard from a friend that was at the roar nats that the early versions of the twister had issues being programmed. The person was talking to someone that was pitting with Alex Lopez. Could this be my problem? Who knows.

Have you heard of this? Should I send an e-mail to Hot Bodies and ask them?

Let me know what you think of this info.

Thanks

Tim Stamper
I have 2 twisters and have no problems programming them via PC or the Handheld unit... the twisters are identical to the KO VFS-2000 so there should not be any problems... you may want to contact Robert at KO direct...
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 11:32 AM
  #307  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,210
Default

Originally posted by Tim Stamper
Ko Propo Staff,

I haven't been able to test my twister yest on my scope. Adam hasn't returned it yet. But I heard from a friend that was at the roar nats that the early versions of the twister had issues being programmed. The person was talking to someone that was pitting with Alex Lopez. Could this be my problem? Who knows.

Have you heard of this? Should I send an e-mail to Hot Bodies and ask them?

Let me know what you think of this info.

Thanks

Tim Stamper
Tim-
I have never heard of this problem. Usually it is operator errors that cause settings to not up/download. Make sure that you have set the VFS to the programming mode. Hold the on/off button until the light comes on, then off and then on again.

If you are using the hand held programmer, make sure that you are using the menu function that reads Tx RX. This is to transmit and receive programming.

Many people use the wrong function to do this (Load Save function). This is to store the setting in your hand held programmer and NOT to up/download setting.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 11:41 AM
  #308  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

KO Propo Staff..

Can I hook up the handheld programmer to the PC? and upload the set-up files from my PC to the setting adapter?
please advice...thanks.!
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 11:43 AM
  #309  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Great question!!!!
HarshGuy is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 11:51 AM
  #310  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by HarshGuy
Great question!!!!
How hot is it up there at SWR? is the track melting yet...
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 11:56 AM
  #311  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,210
Default

Originally posted by rc-zombies
KO Propo Staff..

Can I hook up the handheld programmer to the PC? and upload the set-up files from my PC to the setting adapter?
please advice...thanks.!
rc-zombies-
A very good question and I am stumped. I will have to look into it and will have an answer by tomorrow.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 11:58 AM
  #312  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I practiced last Friday and outside temp was 88, track was 112 ....I'm racing saturday and supposed to be mid 90's ....track should be meltee for sure!
HarshGuy is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 12:06 PM
  #313  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by HarshGuy
I practiced last Friday and outside temp was 88, track was 112 ....I'm racing saturday and supposed to be mid 90's ....track should be meltee for sure!
Too hot...hope night racing starts soon... c'ya
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 12:07 PM
  #314  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

There isn't any night racing this year.
HarshGuy is offline  
Old 04-27-2004, 12:34 PM
  #315  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by HarshGuy
There isn't any night racing this year.
What... no night racing..
I guess I better get some 36 and 40R's ready...
what inserts are working good? mainly stock racing....
rc-zombies is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.