Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
KO Propo VFS-2000 ESC >

KO Propo VFS-2000 ESC

KO Propo VFS-2000 ESC

Old 03-01-2004, 10:04 PM
  #226  
RCTech Member #2
iTrader: (5)
 
TSR6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,961
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Re: Twister same as VFS-2000

Originally posted by CRASH
The Twister is the same as the VFS-2000 correct? Found a brand new Twister at my lhs for $130. I figured that was better then a $160.

Thanks,
Yup, just a different case & colors on the wires.
TSR6 is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 05:43 AM
  #227  
Tech Regular
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: SG lor
Posts: 306
Default

Hi,

can anyone upload the setting sheet for the VFS2000.... I lost mine...

err... not the one that was post earlier... i need the one that comes with the esc which teach us how to set the esc with the throttle... thanks~~
Ronnie is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 07:39 AM
  #228  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Francis M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 4,720
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by =MisFitz= NuKe
Well, if you have a way of adjusting the speedo, then I would start of at about 14 and end at 20-22. this is only a starting point, so you will have to go from there.
thanks.
Francis M. is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 11:18 PM
  #229  
Tech Apprentice
 
Shayd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 95
Default Used VFS2000

Hey guys,

I just picked up a used VFS2000 with the handheld programmer. I have been to the KO site and downloaded every manual there, searched shoptron, and checked under the neighbors dog and I can't find any manual for basic calibration/setup to radio/pre-programed profiles.

Is that available anywhere? I noticed Kingcrab was asking and I never saw a response to him as well beside go to the KO site and been there done that.

Help me mister wizard!

Scott
Shayd is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 12:56 AM
  #230  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,477
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Where online can you buy the handheld setting adapter (in the States)?
MikeR is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 08:54 AM
  #231  
Tech Apprentice
 
Shayd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 95
Default

MikeR

Handheld are for sure sold at the KO shoptron site.

http://www.shopatron.com/index/166.0.1052.1057.0.0.0


Any help on the use of the ESC in my post above?

Do I need to know the secret handshake? Wanted to get the car setup before Saturday at SoCal, but I know where Chris and Eric pit. I'll hackem in practice till they spill the beans I guess.

Scott
Shayd is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 09:14 AM
  #232  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Re: Used VFS2000

Originally posted by Shayd
Hey guys,

I just picked up a used VFS2000 with the handheld programmer. I have been to the KO site and downloaded every manual there, searched shoptron, and checked under the neighbors dog and I can't find any manual for basic calibration/setup to radio/pre-programed profiles.

Is that available anywhere? I noticed Kingcrab was asking and I never saw a response to him as well beside go to the KO site and been there done that.

Help me mister wizard!

Scott
shayd... if you want to program your VFS.. here's how you do it.

if your at a race somewhere, make sure u remove your crystal, and basically unplug everything just in case. also remove your pinion gear too.

- turn on the handheld programmer.
- unplug the esc from the receiver and plug into the programmer.
- hold down the esc switch, you will see the light turn on, turn off, then turn on again.

- on the prgmr. scroll down until you see the screen that says "RX TX" (there will be + and - next to it)
- select RX to receive the current throttle profile from your ESC.
- program your esc to your specs.
- go back to the RX, TX
- select TX (this wil TRANSMIT your program to your ESC.)
- the red light on your esc switch will flash briefly.
- turn off your esc. unplug from the prgmr.

i dont remember how to save off the top of my head, i can post if you want when i get home.

hope that helps!
Hebiki is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 09:15 AM
  #233  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

sorry forgot.. as for pre-programmed profiles. there arent any (that i know of). you can ask Ko Propo Staff and he'll give you a few good profiles to start with.

i have a few also if you want to check them out. lmk.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 09:18 AM
  #234  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Hebiki
sorry forgot.. as for pre-programmed profiles. there arent any (that i know of). you can ask Ko Propo Staff and he'll give you a few good profiles to start with.

i have a few also if you want to check them out. lmk.
ON the KO website there are profiles for both stock and Mod you can download. Masami and Hara profiles are also available.

http://www.kopropo.com/vfs_help_center.htm
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 10:08 AM
  #235  
Tech Apprentice
 
Shayd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 95
Default

Hey Guys,

thanks for the responses on how to "program" in the profiles. But how do you set the ESC to your radio??

off trigger
full throttle
full brake

??

I'll steal...er....accept any profile/help you can offer Chris.

Scott
Shayd is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 10:17 AM
  #236  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

shayd..

hope this helps.
Attached Thumbnails KO Propo VFS-2000 ESC-hara-twister-instruction-003.jpg  
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 10:21 AM
  #237  
Tech Apprentice
 
Shayd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 95
Default

Woo Hoo! Jackpot!!

Thanks sir, you da MAN!!

Originally posted by rc-zombies
shayd..

hope this helps.
Shayd is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 10:22 AM
  #238  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

hey scott...

i have a few profiles for stock and 19T that ive made myself... they work pretty well on wide open tracks like oc circuit la mirada and rc heat. if your gonna race la mirada on march 14th.. let me know.. we can share ideas on profiles.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 07:25 AM
  #239  
Tech Addict
 
Tim Stamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 594
Default

Any of you guys have any issues after programming a speed control? I ask this because I have a twister and my friend has a vfs-2000. We use the same programmer and when he sets his up, the settings change and make a difference. Mine is another story. Keep in mind this is 1/12th scale 4-cell.

The speed control was great when it was set to 17's across the board. I set it for 25's for a mod race that I entered. It never faltered and ran great. Then I set it back to 17 for racing stock afterwards. Now, no matter what I set it to, it has almost no punch. I can set it to 1's across the board, and it keeps the settings, I verified, and it is very sluggish. I have tried and tried to see what's wrong with it and no luck. I was running 2 super shottke's on it in mod and the cap that comes with it. Before I gave up on the speed control, I bought new batteries, built some really good motors and no luck. I have switched back to a Quantum Comp and my car instantly came alive.

It's odd, one time I gave someone my batteries, motor and rolled the car out the same and he said that there was too mush there for him to handle. With a monster stock that pulled tons of amps and had tons of RPM, I had to roll it out at about a 1.2-1.25 to even get it going. Now, I am back up to my usual 1.72-1.75 on the same track and it is screaming fast with the lrp.

Robert, I am sending the speed control down to the carpet nats with my buddy Adam. Is there any way that you could look at it for me. I'm the red haired guy that sat right across the table from you at the outdoor nats in north carolina. That's assuming you will be there. I'm not asking much, I am just frustrated since the lrp is a rental and the owner will be expecting it back soon.

Thanks,

Tim Stamper
Tim Stamper is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 11:04 AM
  #240  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,210
Default

Tim- I will be there and I'll take a look at it. Are you sure that the setting did acutal change? If you are running 4-cells, did you remove the postive wire on the speedo lead to the receiver? If you did, you must reconnect it to change the settings.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright İ 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.