48 pitch vs. 64 pitch for 1/12???

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

48 pitch vs. 64 pitch for 1/12???

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2008, 08:05 PM
Tech Master

Default 48 pitch vs. 64 pitch for 1/12???

.......do all of you guys run 64 pitch in your 1 /12 cars? I have a bunch of 48 pitch pinions left over from my old 1/10 buggies/trucks and would like to use them in my 1/12 this winter if possible...........I know 64 will give you more gearing options as opposed to 48...........would i notice much difference between the two?...........need to cut costs where i can..........1/8 on-road is killing me........$$$$$$
Old 07-12-2008, 09:18 PM
Tech Regular

well i am new to 12th my self so i cant give you any definite answers, but i can tell you some things to watch for. 48p is more durable if you run on asphalt and have to watch for pebbles and sand but i think there might be a smoothness issue. 64-pitch might roll better and be more efficient. then again you might not have to worry about that depending on the level of racing you are doing. at local club racing the most important part to tune on the car is the body, as in not tuning it with the lane dividers

other than that make sure to know how to properly gear through calculating rollout and compensate for shrinking in tire diameter as you foams wear. direct-drive vehicles like 1/12th make changes in gear ratio that much more critical since you dont have a transmission that helps reduce how much of a change in gear ratio a single tooth does.

hope i helped
Old 07-12-2008, 09:43 PM
Suspended

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Honestly, if you're so worried about the price of gears that you'd consider using some old used off-road pinions then I'd suggest that 1/12th is out of your price range.
Old 07-13-2008, 01:12 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

12th scale is one of the cheapest forms of RC there is. Keeping the car off the boards is very important, but that is important with any type of racing.