R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-06-2008, 11:36 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Veteq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 105
Default Spy Shot: New Brush to Brushless Motor dyno Converter Module

Here you go guys a innovative item I saw at a TCS event in Vancouver. On the pit bench Keith Yu was checking a Brushless motor with a regular brushed motor checker. But in between the motor and the outputs is a converter module. Here are some pics:

Alfred
Attached Thumbnails
Spy Shot: New Brush to Brushless Motor dyno Converter Module-dsc00029.jpg   Spy Shot: New Brush to Brushless Motor dyno Converter Module-dsc00030.jpg   Spy Shot: New Brush to Brushless Motor dyno Converter Module-dsc00031.jpg  
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy Motors - Team Much More
Slapmaster Tools - Apollo Hobbies - Hi Performance Distribution
Overgeared B.O.D - [email protected]
www.AEforums.co.uk
Veteq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 12:46 AM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: PL
Posts: 178
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

With out sensor?
orzel24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 01:26 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: WEST COAST
Posts: 628
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

Is this converter available?Where?
Thanks
koz47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 01:53 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by orzel24 View Post
With out sensor?
Not all BL motors run sensors
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 02:06 AM   #5
Shop Owner
 
nnick's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cheapest prices in Europe ;)
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to nnick Send a message via MSN to nnick Send a message via Yahoo to nnick Send a message via Skype™ to nnick
Default

Another similar tool

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showpost...postcount=2535
__________________
Nikolakopoulos Nick
RC RING

The #1 source for all your electric needs www.rcring.eu

Enjoy RCing....
R/C Tech #82
IRT #123

Don't practice until you get it right. Practice until you can't get it wrong

Team Xray T4'17, Team Xray X10'18, TOP Racing Rebel
nnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 03:03 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
mac853's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Dirty place
Posts: 1,789
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nnick View Post
I wish to have 1 like the Orca's, but hopefully just for sensored motors, rather that prototype from SP.
Just because i don't have SP esc then don't need it's ESC tuner function, just need a simple BL module converter to put working with my MM motor tester.
mac853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 08:22 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Veteq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 105
Default

from what I saw you do not need a sensor cable so it should be able to do sensored or sensor less motors. Also you do not need a speed control just your motor checker you used for brushed motors
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy Motors - Team Much More
Slapmaster Tools - Apollo Hobbies - Hi Performance Distribution
Overgeared B.O.D - [email protected]
www.AEforums.co.uk
Veteq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 09:02 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Francis M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 4,719
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Can someone tell me the benefit of using one of these? I pretty much just use a temp gun for my tuning which is basically figuring out Gearing and timing.....
__________________
TQ-racing Yokomo BD7 Airtronics
Francis M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 09:02 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Bigshades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 582
Trader Rating: 22 (96%+)
Default

Guys, its just a speed controller. Its fixed at full throttle. All the controller does is convert the DC to the proper AC current a BL motor needs.

When the dyno increases or decreases the voltage, it directly changes the input to the "controller", which effects the motor. Its very simple, and i think its a great idea.

You could make this with any brushless speed controller, you would just have to have it at full throttle. You could easily do this with a Nitro's fail safe, instead of using your radio.

Cheers!
Bigshades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 10:37 AM   #10
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Why wouldn't you use use Novak's Sentry with the brushless harness? It calculates RPM from the Hall sensors.

http://www.shopatron.com/product/part_number=5365/135.0
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 11:16 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

I am assuming this is only for Speed Passion motors ESC's but it looks nice...

I like seeing more tuning tools for brushless coming out....

__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 12:03 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
RCSteve93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,601
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
Why wouldn't you use use Novak's Sentry with the brushless harness? It calculates RPM from the Hall sensors.

http://www.shopatron.com/product/part_number=5365/135.0
I hope thats a good hall sensor for $15. My robotics team at my high school was using $50 ones to help us calculate distance in autonomous mode and they are by far the most bitchy things ever to set up. On top of it we were using gears twice the size spinning at 10,000 RPM. And we tested 4 of them we had and they all were missing teeth. I highly doubt the hall sensor on that Novak will be accurate... It might be close but I bet it will miss a few teeth... so a converter would be the best bet IMO.
__________________
rm -rf /windows
RCSteve93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 12:23 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
JevUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Dover, UK
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCSteve93 View Post
I hope thats a good hall sensor for $15. My robotics team at my high school was using $50 ones to help us calculate distance in autonomous mode and they are by far the most bitchy things ever to set up. On top of it we were using gears twice the size spinning at 10,000 RPM. And we tested 4 of them we had and they all were missing teeth. I highly doubt the hall sensor on that Novak will be accurate... It might be close but I bet it will miss a few teeth... so a converter would be the best bet IMO.
It's not a sensor it's just a Y harness

The hall sensors are already in the motor. $15 is expensive for a hall sensor, $50 is - . All sensored brushless motors have 3 hall sensors and they work over 50000 rpm fine and I bet they cost less than $1 each in small quantities.

Imho these devices are a waste of money. A brushless motor is only worth testing when used in conjunction with the esc. That device will not know how your esc drives different types of motors so it's info is not that usefull. I took the time to post my experience with dyno testing brushless here - http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...39#post4291139

I was hoping other people would take part in this but I guess I was being optimistic . I gave my old laptop to my sister so have not had much chance to do more testing but I'm looking at getting a new laptop anyday so will be back testing soon .
__________________
MRT, Novak, Spektrum, Sanwa, Tamiya, Alleven RC, Maxamps, CheapBatteryPacks, Duratrax Ice, Pro Peak PSU, Nuova Faor, McLarney Racing, Futaba, KO Propo, Team Associated, Enerland.
JevUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 12:26 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Victor A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PitNamedGordie View Post
I am assuming this is only for Speed Passion motors ESC's but it looks nice...
I like seeing more tuning tools for brushless coming out....
http://rctouring.eu/images/328_BA_small1.jpg
Here's what SP had mailed me:

Quote:
We are proud to release the first brushless system analysis tools:

Brushless Analysis for brushless ESC and Motor:



This is a first brushless Analysis tools for R/C Car, R/C boat, R/C airplane
and R/C Helicopter

Feature:

Digital Brushless motor checker function

Brushless Analysis for ESC and Motor "Suitable for Speed Passion ESC, LRP,
Novak, GM, ESC
"

Brushless ESC - updates function for Speed Passion GT ESC series

Build in USB update able feature for Brushless Analysis
I want one .

Greetings Victor
__________________
www.RcTouring.EU
Victor A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2008, 02:37 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
RCSteve93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,601
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JevUK View Post
It's not a sensor it's just a Y harness

The hall sensors are already in the motor. $15 is expensive for a hall sensor, $50 is - . All sensored brushless motors have 3 hall sensors and they work over 50000 rpm fine and I bet they cost less than $1 each in small quantities.

Imho these devices are a waste of money. A brushless motor is only worth testing when used in conjunction with the esc. That device will not know how your esc drives different types of motors so it's info is not that usefull. I took the time to post my experience with dyno testing brushless here - http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...39#post4291139

I was hoping other people would take part in this but I guess I was being optimistic . I gave my old laptop to my sister so have not had much chance to do more testing but I'm looking at getting a new laptop anyday so will be back testing soon .
Doh, my bad I thought it was a hall sensor for the pinion. I worded that wrong too, It was $50 for 4 not $50 each. We had to use the robotics organizations sensors and they are way expensive. Good thing we get $3000 for equipment expenses per season.
__________________
rm -rf /windows
RCSteve93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Idea to Use brushed motor dyno for brushless JevUK Electric On-Road 45 04-06-2009 10:52 AM
Brushes, Fantom Dyno, Brush Maste racer34v R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-17-2007 04:42 AM
Thunder Zapper Fantom Dyno Fantom Lathe Spring dyno Brush Butcher Fussy full monte HenBeav R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 12-06-2006 11:38 AM
Cobra Lathe, Break-in Stand, Indi Dyno, Brush Cutter RED-LINE M03 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 10-26-2006 04:59 AM
!!! Everything For Sale !!! Dyno, Charger, Lathes, Truer, Air Brush, Compressor RCSale05 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 07-22-2005 08:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:06 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net