R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-30-2005, 02:09 PM   #271
Tech Regular
 
tom235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ut
Posts: 327
Default

but when i change springs on my stock motors i can see the differance and in brush compound.
tom235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2005, 03:23 PM   #272
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,313
Default

The difference you are seeing might be reltated to the frictional forces created by the springs. Only when power is applied do the spring tension matter.
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2005, 05:07 PM   #273
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

You really need a true dyno (turbodyno) to tune motors with,motor checkers are only good for checking rpms and amp draw,after you've tuned it with a dyno.
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 12:05 PM   #274
Tech Regular
 
tom235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ut
Posts: 327
Default

thanks for all you help
tom235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 04:22 PM   #275
Tech Regular
 
Qwiglee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 313
Default

I dunno why people are so negative about motor dynos and call them "motor checkers" like they are some kind of inferior device. I use the Orion checker and I use the slip on fan blade from Racer's Edge to put load on the motor. It makes a huge difference in the readings I get.
__________________
Brian Aldridge
Qwiglee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 06:21 PM   #276
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

We're not negative about the checkers they do serve a purpose but it's just not the same as a true dyno.I use a MM motor master myself to keep track of my motors at the track it is small and convenient and serve's it's purpose,but I tune my motors on a turbo dyno,it's much more sensitive to small changes such as springs and brushes,as long as you have a base reading on your checker you should be alright.I have seen some fast guys use motor checkers to tune with,so it's all good as long as you know you're readings
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 01:10 PM   #277
Tech Regular
 
tom235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ut
Posts: 327
Default

i think there a great tuning tool.
tom235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 02:33 PM   #278
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

I just pulled my motor master checker out and went through all my motors just to see how accurate it was and the best I can tell it does in fact tell me which motors are duds and which motors are good,so it will allow me to sort good from bad,But as far as tuning goes I haven't tried that yet.The Much More motor master is probably the best checker out there,it has a good assortment of features that allow you to do some minor tuning.
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 08:34 PM   #279
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,313
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hyper1
I just pulled my motor master checker out and went through all my motors just to see how accurate it was and the best I can tell it does in fact tell me which motors are duds and which motors are good,so it will allow me to sort good from bad,But as far as tuning goes I haven't tried that yet.The Much More motor master is probably the best checker out there,it has a good assortment of features that allow you to do some minor tuning.
I have to agree with Hyper on this one. I motor checker can weed out the bad motors and check for a motors "freeness" of rotation in the can, but they will not be enough to tune motors off of. It can be done, but the checker will not give you the precision that a TurboDyno or Fantom can.

BTW Hyper1, have we met before? Do you race at Augusta, CSS, TFB, GooseCreek, or somewhere even further away?
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 05:13 PM   #280
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

O kay, I have some Reedy Quad mag 19t and Fantom Blue label 19t. I always thought the Fantoms were much faster and they showed that on my dyno. I figured that Fantom must really know something, till I stopped and really took a look. I must have brain farted, cause it was not based on a Reedy Quad, but what? I went to Faantom's site to try to ge to the source of what this motor is based on. Does anyone know, one guess was a chameleon, but not sure. Help, I love the motors, but it looks like Fantom doesn't make those anymore and I'd like to look into other aftermarket companies tweaking on this base motor.
__________________
RC Car Action Editor and Photographer
Carl Hyndman
edseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 09:26 PM   #281
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

BTW, the blue label Fantom has a copper endbell.
__________________
RC Car Action Editor and Photographer
Carl Hyndman
edseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 09:59 PM   #282
Tech Champion
 
dgullickson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: I'm a Dork Fish
Posts: 7,662
Trader Rating: 45 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to dgullickson Send a message via Yahoo to dgullickson
Default

They were offering a Chameleon 2 Based. We have them in stock if you arte looking for anymore and yes they rip!
dgullickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 11:37 PM   #283
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: oc
Posts: 541
Default ITS BITTER

Quote:
Originally posted by edseb
BTW, the blue label Fantom has a copper endbell.
what up carl? any chance on getting some DC gear? throw me a bone dude j/k just keeping it real
lickrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2005, 01:33 PM   #284
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 380
Default

Anybody running one of these ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dscf0006.jpg (142.0 KB, 302 views)
Andyg01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 04:04 AM   #285
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

What's a reasonable starting rollout for a Reedy Quad-Mag? I'm going to be running outdoor on pretty open asphalt, using a spool up front.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STOCK motor forum porkybmx Electric On-Road 2817 12-11-2007 02:20 PM
Brushless Motor & ESC Forum stonedgti Micro and Mini Scales 28 09-06-2006 10:07 PM
Mod Motor forum Taz_S Electric On-Road 58 11-28-2003 12:58 AM
MODIFIED motor forum Alvin Electric On-Road 104 12-06-2002 12:32 PM
Stock Motor forum Taz_S Electric On-Road 62 09-14-2001 12:32 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:06 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net