R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-20-2008, 09:52 AM   #571
Tech Master
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

TenzoR, I've had several pan cars in the past, 1/12th, and even 1/10th. These Tamiya F1 cars drive very well in my opinion. But I do run mostly black can motors, I'm sure if you bolt in a 10T mod, it would be a handful. The key is to drive smooth and not grap big hand fulls of throttle. Excellerate nice and smooth, and let off before the turns. Don't run up to a turn and expect to jam on the brakes expecting it to turn in like a touring car, just stay smooth and set up your turns, and with practice your lap times will start to drop. These are by far the most exciting cars I have right now, and I'm very glad they are back.

Last edited by hobbipro; 10-20-2008 at 01:28 PM.
hobbipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 10:22 AM   #572
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 48
Default

i have a 10t motor in mine and programmable ESC and its not a handfull at all to be honest.

I think the foam tires help with the grip though and stop it spinning my other rwd rc car with rubber tires just spins and spins, but then again it is a grasshopper with a brushless system in it so what would you expect!

with my f103 i re programmed the acceleration curve on the ESC and it handles a bit better for it (or its just in my head, one or the other!)

the only problem is spur gears.

eats them

3 runs (as in 3 battery swaps) and the spur gear is unusable.
__________________
------------------------------------------------------
f103rm, couple o mods
Pimpzilla, all alloy/titanium 1/18th Minizilla
DucatiGary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 11:39 AM   #573
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dingmans Ferry, PA
Posts: 435
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TenzoR View Post
How easy is to drive the F1? I've only had 2 RWD R/C before. The M04L and the Tamtech. The M04L was quite difficult to drive as it spun out quite a lot. The Tamtech was different, it was pretty hooked and easier to predict.

I'm thinking about getting the F1 15th anniversary if it's not too expensive. I enjoy driving RWD RC since it's a lot more fun than 4wd. The Tamtech was a lot of fun and cheap!
I think the reason you found the M04L to be harder to drive was because of the size of the motor. The Tamtech cars are running 380 size motors which don't have the same kind of torque as the M04L so you could be harder on the throttle/brake and it didn't have the torque to really upset the chassis. The M04L on the other hand runs a 540 motor which has much more torque that can easily upset the balance of the car during throttle/braking.

F1 cars definitely aren't like touring car where you can just stab the throttle and watch it squirrel away but if you're smooth on the throttle they're pretty easy to drive.
__________________
Mike
RCNewz.com
quick5pnt0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 11:41 AM   #574
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dingmans Ferry, PA
Posts: 435
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DucatiGary View Post
3 runs (as in 3 battery swaps) and the spur gear is unusable.
Are pebbles or something getting caught in it or is it something else? Possibly something out of round in the drive line like a bent axle?
__________________
Mike
RCNewz.com
quick5pnt0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 12:03 PM   #575
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,172
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

again !
not finish
Attached Thumbnails
TAMIYA F103 RM-20081015_ea24faf800557291016amzp3wvoxrsab_jpg_thumb.jpg   TAMIYA F103 RM-20081020_5f7df0368c6552595169p9koam2qbewu_jpg_thumb.jpg  
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 01:36 PM   #576
Tech Addict
 
Rogier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Netherlands, EUROPE
Posts: 672
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DucatiGary View Post
noticed on ebay a guy is selling painted TRG bodies and trying to pass them off as originals.

item number 170271402709 then check his other items for the other one.

nice paint job but VERY expensive and not what they seem!
I contacted the guy to ask if it are Tamiya bodies and he keeps telling me they are. Man, I hate this kind of people!!
Rogier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 02:20 PM   #577
Tech Addict
 
Vyger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jackson, Mississippi
Posts: 549
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogier View Post
I contacted the guy to ask if it are Tamiya bodies and he keeps telling me they are. Man, I hate this kind of people!!
Is it possible they're F201 bodies?
Vyger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 02:30 PM   #578
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vyger View Post
Is it possible they're F201 bodies?
take a look at them, its the TRG body.

he says both are different models but if you look they are both the same just with different paint jobs.

to be fair to him his paint skills are really good, he says he has used ltd or never released tamiya decals, im betting he's got a vinyl cutter!
__________________
------------------------------------------------------
f103rm, couple o mods
Pimpzilla, all alloy/titanium 1/18th Minizilla
DucatiGary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 02:34 PM   #579
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quick5pnt0 View Post
Are pebbles or something getting caught in it or is it something else? Possibly something out of round in the drive line like a bent axle?
mabe a bit of dirt, not sure, gone through 2 spurs now.
__________________
------------------------------------------------------
f103rm, couple o mods
Pimpzilla, all alloy/titanium 1/18th Minizilla
DucatiGary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 05:08 PM   #580
Tech Addict
 
TitaniumR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 534
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DucatiGary View Post
mabe a bit of dirt, not sure, gone through 2 spurs now.
Hi,
Could it be the 10T motor is too aggressive?

I've been trying to understand if I can fit a Novak GTB with fan and a brushless motor while cutting the body for a 103? Plan to get the 103R. Appreciate your advise. Thanks.
TitaniumR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 05:49 PM   #581
Tech Addict
 
Vyger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jackson, Mississippi
Posts: 549
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The brushless systems I've seen are just to big to fit into the rear pod of the F103 chassis. You don't want anything interfering/binding the movement of the T-plate. This will make the car handle too sporadic. Using two wires (16 gauge) on a normal ESC is bad enough but three sucks, plus the tabs on the motor stick up to far. In my opinion the brushless system is the less desirable way to go for this car. But that's probably just me...what do the rest of you guys think?
Vyger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 06:28 PM   #582
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 538
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC MARKET View Post
again !
not finish
That's a Beauty!!
stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 06:36 PM   #583
Tech Elite
 
Foxxrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 2,018
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vyger View Post
The brushless systems I've seen are just to big to fit into the rear pod of the F103 chassis. You don't want anything interfering/binding the movement of the T-plate. This will make the car handle too sporadic. Using two wires (16 gauge) on a normal ESC is bad enough but three sucks, plus the tabs on the motor stick up to far. In my opinion the brushless system is the less desirable way to go for this car. But that's probably just me...what do the rest of you guys think?
I agree, it looks horrid with the tabs and wires sticking out the back. This is a class where Brushless actually becomes a lliability. It can be done, but I can see a number of possible problems cropping up. It's best left for Brushed, NiMH.
__________________
Tamiya 416X/ Tamiya TA-05 IFS/ Losi XXX-SCT/ HPI Baja 5SC/ Tamiya M05/ Tamiya F103/ Tamiya F104/ Team Associated 10R5O/ Kyosho IGT2/
Foxxrocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 08:56 PM   #584
Tech Elite
 
theDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ROAR Region 8 Kansas
Posts: 2,995
Default

Has anyone heard when the actual release date is for the 15th ann. kit in the U.S.?
__________________
TEAM ULTRALINE / RickyRacerLidz
www.ultralinehobbies.com
Ultraline Hobbies RC Raceway @ fb
theDover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 09:03 PM   #585
Tech Master
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I agree the brushless in a F103 isnt very appealing. When I had mine in there I had to cut the rear of the body to clear the motor tabs. It looked totally hacked, and I was being very conservative on what I cut out. A F201 is a different story, I have a Tekin system in mine and all the wires can be hidden better in the 201's. But thats not to say a brushless cannot be used in the 103, just be prepared to mod the body you just spend hours on painting, cutting out, and decaling.
hobbipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tamiya f103 gt madmiki Australia For Sale/Trade 1 02-04-2009 12:13 AM
looking for a Tamiya F103 GT level-4 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 05-22-2008 04:56 PM
Tamiya F103 GT heavy Australia For Sale/Trade 3 05-15-2006 02:49 AM
WTB: Tamiya buggy & Tamiya f103 stuff rays_tt Australia Wanted to Buy 2 04-20-2006 07:10 AM
Tamiya F103 or F103 Parts MM-F1 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 04-24-2004 04:14 PM


Tags
rasta scbc


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:27 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net