Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
GM - Purple SX12 >

GM - Purple SX12

GM - Purple SX12

Old 08-14-2003, 07:56 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
NMRCDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 209
Default GM - Purple SX12

Was the GM SX9 not enough?

Check it out...

NMRCDude is offline  
Old 08-14-2003, 11:46 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
seaball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,304
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

i dunno that answer, but i was looking for an sx9 a few weeks back.

well i ended up going with the mtroniks m3 cubic. it is incredible. smallest esc i've seen. the drawback is that the schottky diode is external and the cap is large. i opted not to use the hidious factory supplied cap, instead using a standard version from novak. and now my schottky is fastened to the motor. a minor inconvenience.

when i got to the track with it, i saw someone with the sx9, and it's gaudy. small, but the switch is huge. with the m3, all the wires are external, so you set the length. i even shorted across the switch terminals so that i don't even use a switch. i like this alot.

just a strong recommendation for anyone in the market for an ultra small esc.
seaball is offline  
Old 08-14-2003, 12:42 PM
  #3  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: GM - Purple SX12

Originally posted by NMRCDude
Was the GM SX9 not enough?

Check it out...

the SX9 has a motor limit...and the SX12 does not.
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 08-15-2003, 10:56 AM
  #4  
che
Tech Regular
 
che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Niagara Falls, Ontario
Posts: 291
Default

The SX9 does not have a motor limit, but they they suggest nothing less than an 8 turn.

Last edited by che; 08-15-2003 at 11:10 AM.
che is offline  
Old 08-15-2003, 01:23 PM
  #5  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 189
Default

anybody has specs for this esc? its not listed on their site..

and 8 turn limit is kinda enough, but unlimited is better
versa is offline  
Old 08-15-2003, 11:08 PM
  #6  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Default

The M3 can only adjust the powerband by pressing the only switch on the top. And it is waterproof.

SX12 has a lot more adjustment than M3. It also has lower resistance and higher amp output than SX9. I just got one yesterday and it is amazing.
Kamen Rider is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 12:40 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
 
Intelligentsia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 570
Default

how much did you pay for the SX12?
Intelligentsia is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 09:00 PM
  #8  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Default

around HK$1400 around US$180.

I would also suggest Quantum 2 because it is also waterproof.
It will arive Hong kong very soon.
Kamen Rider is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 09:20 PM
  #9  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
jfc_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: www.JonehRC.com
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Kamen Rider
around HK$1400 around US$180.

I would also suggest Quantum 2 because it is also waterproof.
It will arive Hong kong very soon.
damn just bought the LRP Quantum competition and now they got the version 2 already...

anyway, anyone can suggest me the correct map(setting), default is no.2=off-road use. im into touring with my Tamiya EVO III??? thanks.
jfc_tech is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 09:22 PM
  #10  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Default

Stock or Modify???

For Stock, some people use mode 5 for maximum punch.
Kamen Rider is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 09:32 PM
  #11  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
jfc_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: www.JonehRC.com
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Kamen Rider
Stock or Modify???

For Stock, some people use mode 5 for maximum punch.
Driving modified Team Echo S-Pro(Yokomo) 10X2 motor.

kamen, u in Hongkong? Im from Malaysia.
jfc_tech is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 09:45 PM
  #12  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
jfc_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: www.JonehRC.com
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

check this out...LRP quantum 2
Attached Thumbnails GM - Purple SX12-quantum2.jpeg  
jfc_tech is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 10:51 PM
  #13  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Default

That's the one. Waterproof and also some new functions in this ESC.

I am in Hong Kong.
Kamen Rider is offline  
Old 08-17-2003, 02:04 AM
  #14  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
jfc_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: www.JonehRC.com
Posts: 7,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

the Quantum 2 is waterproof??? where i can this information???

Kamen, if i wanna order from you, in Hongkong, will it be cheaper to Malaysia?
jfc_tech is offline  
Old 08-17-2003, 07:30 AM
  #15  
TC3
Tech Regular
 
TC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 319
Default

the quantum2 is waterproof, and the gm SX12W too !!
TC3 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.