R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-20-2008, 09:21 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default Problem with CC sidewinder and LRP 13.5

i recently picked up a used Castle sidewinder and LRP 13.5 motor to run in my 4cell VTA car. I am having some problems though when i pull the trigger on the remote fast the car will jerk and hesitate, it will also do this if i let off while i am rolling and pull back on the trigger hard like its trying to figure out how to keep the motor spinning. But if i roll on the throttle slowly it works fine. Anybody have any suggestions
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 09:56 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
rcdougie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Stuart, FL
Posts: 489
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Make sure your Castle Link is the latest version available. The last update should of cured the sensored motor problem.
rcdougie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 10:01 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

its up to date with version 1.7
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 01:09 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

did some motor and ESC switching...i tried running the LRP sensorless on my speedpassion ESC and it did the same thing but running it sensored it ran just fine so it looks like i cant run the motor sensorless
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 05:55 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
rcdougie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Stuart, FL
Posts: 489
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

You can shadow, I run a sensord novak 13.5 and a trinity 10.5 with my sidewinder. The 1.17 is the firmware, which is up to date but make sure you have the latest software which is 3.051. Restore back to all defaults too and see what happens.
rcdougie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 06:03 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcdougie View Post
You can shadow, I run a sensord novak 13.5 and a trinity 10.5 with my sidewinder. The 1.17 is the firmware, which is up to date but make sure you have the latest software which is 3.051. Restore back to all defaults too and see what happens.
already tried that and it still didnt work...i think the issue is with the motor because it does the same thing when i hook it up to my speedpassion GT and run it uncensored
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 06:06 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
rcdougie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Stuart, FL
Posts: 489
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Its also critical to have good batteries and connectioins. Give CC a call, thier support is top notch.
rcdougie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 07:03 PM   #8
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 92
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Running a 17.5 sensorless using the high FDR and rollouts we use in the Trans Am class will likely not work all that well.

A 13.5 is the highest I've ever seen successfully driven sensorless.
BNiels707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 07:21 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
shadow102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,441
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BNiels707 View Post
Running a 17.5 sensorless using the high FDR and rollouts we use in the Trans Am class will likely not work all that well.

A 13.5 is the highest I've ever seen successfully driven sensorless.
why would they not work that well running sensorless

BTW doing some more playing with the whole system but will a sidewinder even work on 4cells?
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone - - TeamTekin - - Spektrum - - Team Orion - - Futaba

www.nexusracing.com
www.go-rc.org
shadow102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 07:27 PM   #10
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,586
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

The Tekin R1 had problems driving 4 cell oval cars because of the gear ratios used there-similar to a T/A car. Sensorless is probably not ideal for high wind brushless motors
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 11:41 AM   #11
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,140
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

The Sidewinder is not designed to run sensored motors. If you choose to run sensored motors it will hesitate on start up.

If you want to run sensored motors with the Castle system you will have to wait til the Mamba Max Pro comes out. It will have a sensor port for the sensored motors to plug into. Not sure how long til it comes out as I have not even seen a prototype yet but it is in the works.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 02:48 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I was using a speed passion 13.5, and I believe I had to adjust the motor timeing to 12, or 15 and adjust it to start on high to help with the starts.
hobbipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2008, 04:01 PM   #13
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 92
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow102 View Post
why would they not work that well running sensorless

BTW doing some more playing with the whole system but will a sidewinder even work on 4cells?
It has to do with how a sensorless speed control determines rotor position. It is harder for a sensoreless control to determine the position of higher wind motors then lower wind ones.

Since there is no rotor position sensor, the speed control has to 'guess' what position the rotor is in, and try to start the rotor spinning that way. If it guesses wrong, the motor may spin the wrong way. Making matters worse, since it is so hard to determine the position of the rotor of high wind motors (especially at low speeds), the speed control may not even be able to tell it has 'guessed' wrong for a second or more. Once the motor is up to speed it becomes easier for the speed control to determine rotor position so hesitation should go away.

My Tekin RS has some real difficulty with a 17.5 running in full sensorless mode. It gets even worse with a 21.5. I have to use sensors to get it to start acceptably.

As for your other question, the Sidewinder should have no problems with four cells, but I would still recommend picking up a sensored control.
BNiels707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Sidewinder ESC kavvika R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 07-30-2008 08:29 PM
WTB: sidewinder esc Yevins R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-26-2008 12:06 PM
Sidewinder 5700kv Setup Problem SDNitroGuy Radio and Electronics 3 06-27-2008 04:01 PM
m8 and sidewinder razataz Radio and Electronics 3 05-05-2008 05:17 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:59 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net