R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-11-2003, 05:35 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Steve_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 60
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Robitronic Dyno as a charger?

Has anyone used the robitronic dyno as a charger for GP3300's, I am confused over the delta peak. On my Pulsar it is arranged as 15mv, 20 mv, 25mv etc. On the dyno charging function it has delta peak arranged like 0.15, 0.20, 0.25 etc I have been told that 0.15 would be equal to 150mv!
Steve_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 02:08 AM   #2
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yes, 0.15 would be equal to 150mv. Im not sure of the lowest delta peak with the Robitronic as I never used the charging function of the dyno but I think 0,10 = 100mV should be the lowest. But what I know is the Robitronic dyno was designed some years ago when there were no NiMh-batteries available. So I think its designed for NiCad-batteries only. With some of the Sanyo NiMhs you can use the 100mV setting but I think for the GPs its a little bit too much. Maybe a different thing is the temperature controlled charging mode.
Despite this I think its by far the best dyno available.
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 03:27 AM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
Steve_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 60
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know a good setting for the charger on the temperature function for GP3300's?

Thanks
Steve_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 08:49 AM   #4
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

As you have a Pulsar why do you want charging with the Robitronic? I dont have a Pulsar but I think its much better for charging GPs than the Robitronic.
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 11:28 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
popsracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: "Hot, Sunny Southern California"
Posts: 3,120
Default Robitronic Dyno as a charger?

As a Robitronic Dyno owner, my question is:

Why would anyone want to use a $600+ (usd) Dyno as a Charger?
I love my Robi as a Dyno, but to use it as a Charger, sacrilege!
popsracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 03:49 PM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
Steve_L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 60
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I need another charger because I use my pulsar alot to run my lathe and break in motors at the track which leaves less time for charging cells. I was buying the Robi anyway so I thought I may aswell see if I can use the charger function on it.
Steve_L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Robitronic dyno help Trips Electric On-Road 1 03-01-2008 03:20 PM
Robitronic Dyno Guo Chean R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 10-02-2007 05:26 PM
Robitronic Dyno ammdrew R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 03-16-2007 06:42 PM
Robitronic dyno UMS Electric On-Road 4 01-23-2006 08:47 AM
Robitronic Dyno martbeda R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 11-13-2005 05:57 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:09 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net