R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-14-2008, 09:49 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 275
Default mongoose esc powering a novak SS17.5?

i have a rc12r5 1/12th scale pan car and will be running it in a 4 cell stock class on a small course. i wont need to go faster than about 22mph. so what if i used a novak SS17.5 and powered it through a Novak mongoose, will that be ok. hopefully that will be enough for a while until i get a better ESC.
benben10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 12:33 PM   #2
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 74
Default

WTF!!!!!!
gasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 12:41 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 275
Default

will the mongoose be able to handle the current? the mongoose is rated at 35 amps and the sensor plugs match. or will i be blowing up the esc?
benben10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 12:49 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

i'd say as long as the motors are pulling low amps on 4 cells, yes go right ahead,

its not my speed control...

Go with a cheap brushed route before you try this.
__________________
Support your local tracks!--|--e-teamhobbyplex.com--|--corrc.org--|

NNFaN Paints - Add some pride to YOUR ride.
a_main_attendee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 01:11 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
The Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,451
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

and remember that once you hook up a full sized motor, you will void any warrantee....... so if/when it stops working,,,,, you are al done.
__________________
Sponsors for 2013 - NoVak / Team Scream / liquidrc.com
The Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 01:38 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

Hey Guys,

While we've not tested this yet, it sounds like it may be "okay". We'll have to do some pretty extensive running of this setup before we sign off on it. We'll try to have this done and keep everyone posted, but I'm guessing it will be a "while".

You can always email us directly via "[email protected]".
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 12:58 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 275
Default

i was getting around to emailing novak just havent yet. this was just and idea for a stop gap measure for now. are there any capacitors i should look into adding?
benben10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 01:02 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Ferrarimk13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Staten Island, New York
Posts: 630
Send a message via AIM to Ferrarimk13
Default

they will jsut tell you not to do it, and it would void warranty, i think
__________________
Press Alt+F4 for a good time.
Ferrarimk13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 01:12 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

It sounds like they kind of want us to try it.
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 01:13 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Ferrarimk13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Staten Island, New York
Posts: 630
Send a message via AIM to Ferrarimk13
Default

i would love to see someone do it. it would be the lightest brushless out there, lol
__________________
Press Alt+F4 for a good time.
Ferrarimk13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 05:14 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

I'm sure it's doable and will "probably" work fine. I can't really give to many recomendations at this point as we simply have not had time to do anything but basic function tests.

I know there is a youtube video of a guy doing this all on his own.....

From what i've heard he simply wired up his motor to the ESC and away they went.

When we get more time to sit down and run it/test it the way we'd like to, we "may" release official 540 size motor limits, but then again, we may not.
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 09:42 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 275
Default

i sent an email to novak tech. i would really like to know if this is in the ballpark numbers wise, from what you have seen the SS17.5 do. maybe some dyno info or at least some numbers from a dyno, if you dont want or cant release an entire pretty graph.

also where is this youtube video you speak of. i couldnt find much under "novak mongoose"
benben10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 08:31 AM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Ferrarimk13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Staten Island, New York
Posts: 630
Send a message via AIM to Ferrarimk13
Default

yeah, me neither, i searched.
__________________
Press Alt+F4 for a good time.
Ferrarimk13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 03:16 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
SWTour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Coast...CALIF.
Posts: 2,874
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone ever done anything with this?

I'm looking at wanting to try it with the Novak 21.5 motor and LIPO too...

For OVAL racing the 21.5 motor only averages 15.5 amps over a 5 minute run...(With the bigger voltage)
__________________
Joe Myers
R/C Racing since 1985 ~ Santa Maria, CA (Central Coast)
2001-2012 - South-West Tour R/C Oval Series...will the SWT be revived?
Things are headed towards a return of the SWT Series, but for
2017 the focus will be on the Encino Velodrome (and dirt oval racing)
SWTour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 03:37 PM   #15
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SWTour View Post
Has anyone ever done anything with this?

I'm looking at wanting to try it with the Novak 21.5 motor and LIPO too...

For OVAL racing the 21.5 motor only averages 15.5 amps over a 5 minute run...(With the bigger voltage)
Why don't you be the first one to give it a try?
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak Mongoose frogger Micro and Mini Scales 601 08-05-2015 09:08 AM
Novak Havok=Mongoose? YmeBP Electric On-Road 10 09-10-2008 09:26 AM
Novak Mongoose JeromeB Micro and Mini Scales 132 03-21-2008 06:31 AM
Novak Mongoose syndr0me Electric On-Road 3 01-06-2008 02:43 PM
Novak Mongoose syndr0me Radio and Electronics 4 10-19-2007 06:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:14 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net