R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-07-2008, 05:17 PM   #121
Tech Fanatic
 
Joost K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Eindhoven - Brabant (Europe)
Posts: 763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vic0280 View Post
whats the most common servo for these cars. offroad guy going back to carpet and dont know what servo to throw in this thing

1/12 size like a 9650 or 1/10 like a 9551
I got this straight from Team Associated...

************************************************** ********
Your name: Joost Kuiper
Electric kit referenced: RC10R5
Comments: Hello, which servo size will fit the RC10R5? Is that a 12th scale size like the S9650 or a 10th scale size like the S9451/S9551???

The 10R5 uses standard size servos like the ones that go into our TC5, T4 and B4 cars.
************************************************** ********

It uses normal size servo's like we are used to in 10th scale cars...

Joost K.
__________________
JKMR P235-SE Stealth Edition Pro10 | Futaba | Orion | Trinity | Orion | BSR tires

*** JK Model Racing ***
*** MIX-RC.DE TEAM ***
Joost K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 06:31 PM   #122
Tech Elite
 
Maybell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,109
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joost K. View Post
I got this straight from Team Associated...

************************************************** ********
Your name: Joost Kuiper
Electric kit referenced: RC10R5
Comments: Hello, which servo size will fit the RC10R5? Is that a 12th scale size like the S9650 or a 10th scale size like the S9451/S9551???

The 10R5 uses standard size servos like the ones that go into our TC5, T4 and B4 cars.
************************************************** ********

It uses normal size servo's like we are used to in 10th scale cars...

Joost K.
If someone at AE said that the 10R5 is setup for standard servo's, that person made a mistake. The servo mounting is made for mini size servos (Fut 9650, JR 3500g, ect.) I have a 9650 in my car.
__________________
Sean Maybell - Team Associated Region 11 Administrator

AE - Reedy - LRP - Hobby Velocity - XP Digital - JConcepts
Maybell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 07:23 PM   #123
Tech Adept
 
Gain Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Down on the corner out in the street
Posts: 249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I had to do some drilling and countersinking to get a Standard servo to fit. Used the servo mounts that fit in the GT, TC3, TC4, etc to mount the servo on to the chassis.

Whoever passed that other info on to you was incorrect unless changes have been made to newer kit....however I just purchased mine so it would have to be just out of the factory.
__________________
DON'T TAZE' ME BRO!!!!!!
Gain Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2008, 07:26 PM   #124
Tech Elite
 
Maybell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,109
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Like Gain Time said, its not like you cant run a standard size swervo if you want to....you just have to come up with your own servo mounting...

I would think about this myself if I was running hot mod motors in my 10R5.
__________________
Sean Maybell - Team Associated Region 11 Administrator

AE - Reedy - LRP - Hobby Velocity - XP Digital - JConcepts
Maybell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 02:30 AM   #125
Tech Fanatic
 
Joost K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Eindhoven - Brabant (Europe)
Posts: 763
Default

Okay, that is possible. I do not have the 10R5 yet so that I don't know. With 4cell a 12th scale servo would do the job nicely but if you are running LiPo with modified motors I think a full scale servo has to be mounted...

Joost.
__________________
JKMR P235-SE Stealth Edition Pro10 | Futaba | Orion | Trinity | Orion | BSR tires

*** JK Model Racing ***
*** MIX-RC.DE TEAM ***
Joost K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 07:44 AM   #126
Tech Adept
 
Gain Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Down on the corner out in the street
Posts: 249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Only reason I put the standard servo in was that when I was purchasing everything for the class it is what I bought because I was told the same thing. So instead of dropping another $60 to $70 usd on a servo I just broke out the drill and created my own little mounting solution. I already had extra servo mounts from when I used to race Gas Truck so I just had to adapt and overcome.

Most folks are running the micro servo for the same reasons you stated. Who knows my packs may dump half way through the heat.
__________________
DON'T TAZE' ME BRO!!!!!!
Gain Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 10:15 AM   #127
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,493
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

Way back when I ran oval I used to use these servo mounts in my cars. They allow for adjusting the positioning (side to side) of the servo and allows you to use different sizes of servo's. I thought they made aluminum ones but I didn't look hard enough on CRC's website.

http://teamcrc.com/crc/modules.php?n...od&prodID=1241
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2008, 07:07 PM   #128
Tech Apprentice
 
rsperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 62
Default Alum Servo mounts

Alum Servo mounts from CRC

http://teamcrc.com/crc/modules.php?n...od&prodID=4015

http://teamcrc.com/crc/modules.php?n...od&prodID=4017
rsperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 06:49 AM   #129
Tech Adept
 
Gain Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Down on the corner out in the street
Posts: 249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Using Bobs Set up from Vegas minus the inline steering blocks/axles and tweaking the side spring preload to my liking the car ran awesome. Plenty of steering and maybe a bit too much scrub. I will have to wait until I can get more practice time in to see what can be tweaked to make it a bit more free mid corner. Anyways came in first in the main on the shakedown run for this car so all in all I am very pleased.
__________________
DON'T TAZE' ME BRO!!!!!!
Gain Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 07:15 PM   #130
Tech Adept
 
not-a-lobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Valley City, ND
Posts: 232
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Got my car on the track this weekend and loved it. Very smooth and easy to drive. I have two questions 1. Anyone know of a different ride height adjuster for the front end? 2. Running a stock CO motor and 4cell what kind of rollout should i start at? I just kept dropping pinions until i had good take off power through the technical section, and the motor was around 140 deg f.
not-a-lobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 04:56 AM   #131
Tech Master
 
TonysScrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 1,660
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

UPDATE!

Associated RC10R5 1/10th Electric On-Road screw kits are now in stock!



Associated RC10R5 1/10th Electric On-Road 117-piece high grade alloy steel socket head screw kit. Kit includes all applicable cap, flat and button head screws, as well as nuts, washers and set screws.

Thanks and best regards,
__________________
Tony P.

Tonys Screws LLC
http://www.tonysscrews.com
High Grade Alloy Steel Screws, Screw Kits and Mugen Parts
TonysScrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 03:38 PM   #132
pmc
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pinhal novo - Portugal
Posts: 173
Default

hello

I buy a RC10R5 and i get some doubts.

I buy a 4,5T engine speed passion to use , which is the best ratio for outdoor track with a line of 40 to 50 meters with the original spur??

which is the more indicated foam tires for asphalt and carpet??

i Have this servo to use hitec HS-5245MG is good or not??


this is to have a point of reference.

thanks in advance.

best regards.
Pedro Silva
pmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 01:08 PM   #133
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I went to windtunnels website hoping to get all the parts I need to run inline axles on a 10R5. I saw several different versions and prices. Can someone post the AE part numbers to run inline axles? Thanks.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 07:53 PM   #134
AE-Reedy
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 780
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdoherty View Post
I went to windtunnels website hoping to get all the parts I need to run inline axles on a 10R5. I saw several different versions and prices. Can someone post the AE part numbers to run inline axles? Thanks.
#8441 steering block- plastic
#8443 axle- aluminum
#8443B axle- Blue aluminum
#6902 3/16x5/16 bearings- pair
#6222 axle nut

I listed both the standard axle and the FT blue ones, either one will work.
Sean Cochran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 06:32 AM   #135
Tech Adept
 
Gain Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Down on the corner out in the street
Posts: 249
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdoherty View Post
I went to windtunnels website hoping to get all the parts I need to run inline axles on a 10R5. I saw several different versions and prices. Can someone post the AE part numbers to run inline axles? Thanks.
Are you coming over to the Dark side?
__________________
DON'T TAZE' ME BRO!!!!!!
Gain Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 09:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 01:54 PM
factory team rc10t4 and factory team rc18t for sale Zac R R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 28 05-26-2005 05:42 AM
New Team Associated FACTORY TEAM TC3 with full BMI BLUE Graphite Chassis LOADED!!! Ron Meloni R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 06-26-2004 07:09 AM
Incredible Team Associated FACTORY Team 12L3 w/IRS RUG RAT conversion. LOADED!!! Ron Meloni R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 06-06-2004 09:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:42 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net