Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
AMB Transponder Cloning >

AMB Transponder Cloning

AMB Transponder Cloning

Reply

Old 04-16-2009, 09:45 PM
  #196  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (26)
 
RCworks216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 26 (96%+)
Default

thanks terry s. i got my PT today!! the thing is cool!! i like the blue light and the fact that its smaller than my AMB. didnt take long at all, postage says it was sent out on 4/11/09 (UK 11/04/09 right?) i got it today so thats quick to me your customer service great too!!! im 1 of 2 that i know of at my local track here in NC that have the MRT PTX. thanks

PS the first time i saw this PT it was in a RC MAG during a MBX6 test. just so you know how i found out about the ptx.
Attached Thumbnails AMB Transponder Cloning-dscn2569.jpg   AMB Transponder Cloning-dscn2573.jpg   AMB Transponder Cloning-dscn2576.jpg  

Last edited by RCworks216; 04-17-2009 at 10:28 AM.
RCworks216 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 08:15 AM
  #197  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (26)
 
RCworks216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 26 (96%+)
Default

ptx works GREAT!!!! had a guy with a AMB that was having trouble all day!! LOL
RCworks216 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 10:59 AM
  #198  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,084
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

After going through rclaps.com, im a tad confused. What I want is a brand-new unique transponder, NOT cloned from one I already have.... is 9981 what I want?

http://www.team-mrt.com/mrtwebshop/e...Fmoreinfo.html

Second question.. considering there is no number printed on the case, how do you enter your PT number at the track when they ask you? (forgive the noob question)
Cpt.America is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 11:14 AM
  #199  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
mkdut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: RC Retired
Posts: 1,961
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
After going through rclaps.com, im a tad confused. What I want is a brand-new unique transponder, NOT cloned from one I already have.... is 9981 what I want?

http://www.team-mrt.com/mrtwebshop/e...Fmoreinfo.html

Second question.. considering there is no number printed on the case, how do you enter your PT number at the track when they ask you? (forgive the noob question)
The only way to get a "unique" transponder is to get an AMB. Rclaps can only clone your existing or provide you with a transponder with 20 pre-programed numbers.

Somewhere on this thread there is a list of the 20 pre-programmed numbers. The scoring software should also recognize a number and the race director and drag and drop it to your name when you "check" on the warm-up laps.
mkdut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 11:26 AM
  #200  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,084
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

I see I see I see... thanks for the clarification.
Cpt.America is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 11:31 AM
  #201  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
mkdut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: RC Retired
Posts: 1,961
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
I see I see I see... thanks for the clarification.
If you are planning to run at Fantasy World you can check mine out as I have a couple on the way.
mkdut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 11:36 AM
  #202  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,084
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mkdut View Post
If you are planning to run at Fantasy World you can check mine out as I have a couple on the way.
I AM actually! But, I will need my second PT by the time I get there (one for me, one for the misses). Debating whether to go with one of these, or buy a used AMB.
Cpt.America is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 09:18 AM
  #203  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (79)
 
F. Mendoza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 7,264
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
I AM actually! But, I will need my second PT by the time I get there (one for me, one for the misses). Debating whether to go with one of these, or buy a used AMB.
If you get the PTX you have the advantage of using the cloned number for whenever you race the car both cars. If the misses uses the car you just push the small button on thre PTX so it switches to another number. It is very easy to do the number swap. It is only a matter of seconds in between different numbers and it is easy going back to your cloned number. The instructions are easy to use.

The PTXs I have have been in use for almost a year and no troubles what so ever. I have 4 of them and only used 2 of them. Being that these work so well I am sure the other 2 are fine also.

I know most racers don't want to veer away from AMB because of its reliabuility. MRT PTXs are just as reliable plus smaller and lighter. No regrets of using MRT. If the wire ever frays on mine, it looks a bit tight to replace the wire but it can be done and you will not butcher the case like on the AMB. The bottom cover of the PTX is screwed on.
F. Mendoza is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 01:33 PM
  #204  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

If you get the PTX you have the advantage of using the cloned number for whenever you race the car both cars. If the misses uses the car you just push the small button on thre PTX so it switches to another number. It is very easy to do the number swap. It is only a matter of seconds in between different numbers and it is easy going back to your cloned number. The instructions are easy to use.

So let me get this right ( I'm a little hard headed) I can have two numbers with the same transponder? The cloned one from my amb and one that is already in the ptx.
pete8541 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 02:05 PM
  #205  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
mkdut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: RC Retired
Posts: 1,961
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pete8541 View Post
If you get the PTX you have the advantage of using the cloned number for whenever you race the car both cars. If the misses uses the car you just push the small button on thre PTX so it switches to another number. It is very easy to do the number swap. It is only a matter of seconds in between different numbers and it is easy going back to your cloned number. The instructions are easy to use.

So let me get this right ( I'm a little hard headed) I can have two numbers with the same transponder? The cloned one from my amb and one that is already in the ptx.
Actually it's 21 numbers. The clone from the AMB(which you have to send to them) and the 20 preprogrammed.
mkdut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 03:50 PM
  #206  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (152)
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,454
Trader Rating: 152 (99%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Krio View Post
Just sent my transponder in to clone and am looking forward to the smaller footprint.
Sent it 3 weeks ago and haven't heard anything. Are they still behind on email?
Krio is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 04:11 PM
  #207  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
mkdut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: RC Retired
Posts: 1,961
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Krio View Post
Sent it 3 weeks ago and haven't heard anything. Are they still behind on email?
It appears that they are. I did finally get an email to say mine had shipped after about the same amount of time. Keep emailing Terry, I think that they are really swamped with orders.

[email protected]
mkdut is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 09:14 PM
  #208  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (79)
 
F. Mendoza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 7,264
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pete8541 View Post
If you get the PTX you have the advantage of using the cloned number for whenever you race the car both cars. If the misses uses the car you just push the small button on thre PTX so it switches to another number. It is very easy to do the number swap. It is only a matter of seconds in between different numbers and it is easy going back to your cloned number. The instructions are easy to use.

So let me get this right ( I'm a little hard headed) I can have two numbers with the same transponder? The cloned one from my amb and one that is already in the ptx.
Originally Posted by mkdut View Post
Actually it's 21 numbers. The clone from the AMB(which you have to send to them) and the 20 preprogrammed.
20 numbers plus your PT# is correct. If you want your PT back it is yours but if you sell it to MRT then I think that is where your number can end up as one of the preprogrammed numbers. I chose to get mine back. Very happy with MRTs sevices.
F. Mendoza is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 09:40 PM
  #209  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
Ed Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,373
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

They all have 21 numbers in them. The first 20 are the same in all of them. The 21st number is either your PT clone, or a random number from the ones Terry has bought up.
Ed Anderson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2009, 12:26 PM
  #210  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 301
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

where do I send it and do they accept paypal?
pete8541 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service