Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Hyperion charger and Apogee pack problem >

Hyperion charger and Apogee pack problem

Hyperion charger and Apogee pack problem

Old 06-06-2008, 05:45 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 183
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default Hyperion charger and Apogee pack problem

Got my new EOS606IAD charger today. Also ordered up the multi-adapter for balancing several different brands, Apogee being one of them. I currently only have Apogee packs. Well, the balancer does not work.
First of all the little tab you see on the top of the plug does not snap into anything. No big deal I guess as long as it charges. Well, that is the other problem. I plug it into the adaptor board and nothing. First message I get is "balancer not connected" next it enters "battery test" mode......it answers that there is no battery!
I am charging this correct tight? You just connect the 3 wire balance plug to the 3 wire balance port and leave the main connectors (deans, traxxas etc.) disconnected.
I have been able to successfully charge through the main connector and not using the balance connector.
FYI the balance adaptor I am using is the HP-LB10-EH which lists: KOKAM, GRAUPNER, ROBBE, NEU, APOGEE and VAMPOWER. Don't get what I am doing wrong. Really bummed out after spending all this cash. Here is a pic of the connector. Any help greatly appreciated.

Tony
Attached Thumbnails Hyperion charger and Apogee pack problem-img_0266.jpg  
under200 is offline  
Old 06-06-2008, 06:50 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
tpczx6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fremont CA
Posts: 879
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Can you post a pic of all parts together and how you have them setup. Maybe then we can see if something wrong.
tpczx6 is offline  
Old 06-06-2008, 07:08 PM
  #3  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 183
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Thanks, here you go. I also tried flipping around the pins on the connector. No dice.

Tony
Attached Thumbnails Hyperion charger and Apogee pack problem-img_0267.jpg   Hyperion charger and Apogee pack problem-img_0268.jpg   Hyperion charger and Apogee pack problem-img_0269.jpg  
under200 is offline  
Old 06-06-2008, 07:29 PM
  #4  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,269
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

You need the EH adapter for Apogee packs. They make them for all different sorts of balance plugs, but I believe it only ships for the one that works with Hyperion plugs.

http://www.allerc.com/product_info.php?products_id=3160
syndr0me is offline  
Old 06-06-2008, 08:56 PM
  #5  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (10)
 
Xtant3150c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Posts: 681
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Judging by that last pic the connector is plugged into the adapter wrong.

The red wire on the battery packs plug should be on the same side as the red wire on the adapter. Atleast that is how the adapter works with my Hyperion plugs and Hyperion adapter that came with my EOS0606i
Xtant3150c is offline  
Old 06-06-2008, 09:57 PM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
tpczx6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fremont CA
Posts: 879
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The last pic shows that its a JST adapter which will work with Align and eflight packs.With my Hyperion charger you also need to hook up the main wire also.
tpczx6 is offline  
Old 06-06-2008, 10:17 PM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Arlington, Tx
Posts: 820
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

In other words he only has the balancer output hooked up not the main port for charging. For this charger you have to have both hooked up in order to charge. I have this charger also.
dfiantii is offline  
Old 06-07-2008, 04:07 AM
  #8  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 183
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Thanks a ton everyone. You guys brought up a couple solutions that helped. First, the red wire on the balancer should be on the same side as my plug. I swapped the two outer wires on my balancer batterys' plug to achieve this. Second, I needed to have the main power plug connected while charging. I did have the correct balancer board, it does say EH further down. The actual part number is actually really long and ends with EH. Thanks again everyone.

Tony
under200 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.