R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-06-2003, 10:01 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default Trinity Monster Stock PRO motor questions

I just bought the Trinity Monster Stock PRO online. I was wondering if I have to break in the motor?
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2003, 10:13 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
rc_bam226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,074
Default

Not really, the comm is diamond trued, and you have the proper brush/spring setup. The only thing that I would recommend is to properly seat the brushes by running the motor at 3.3 V for about 30 - 60. And you're ready to race.
rc_bam226 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2003, 10:14 PM   #3
Moderator
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to StephenSobottka
Default

I always retrue the comm, put new brushes in, align the hoods, polish the bushings, and reshim before i run ne motor i buy.
__________________
~~Stephen Sobottka~~
SMC Racing
StephenSobottka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2003, 10:31 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Sorry I forgot to mention that I bought it New In Package.

How do I run it constantly at 3.3v?
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2003, 11:40 PM   #5
Moderator
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to StephenSobottka
Default

my post, even if its new i still redo everything.

run on a turbo 35, or something that has a constant voltage source
__________________
~~Stephen Sobottka~~
SMC Racing
StephenSobottka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2003, 11:43 PM   #6
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Check out the Team Paradigm link in my signature. Their motors are already tuned, and faster than any Trinity I've gone against.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2003, 11:55 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Hmm. Maybe Ill get one of those Team Paradigm Motors for my next motor.

I dont have access to a Turbo 35. But my friend has a LRP Pulsar Pro with the motor break-in feature. Will that work? I only have a few bucks left so I cant really get anything new .
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2003, 11:59 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

The pulsars break-in mode should work fine.
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 08:25 PM   #9
WC
Tech Master
 
WC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Global Citizen
Posts: 1,930
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DOMOisCOOL
How do I run it constantly at 3.3v?
If you don't have a suitable powersupply or charger, just hook it
up to 2 or 3 cells (your choice) and let the motor whirr unloaded.



When I got my Monster Pro, I did open it up and checked
everything... put it on the lathe but it seems that Trinity had
already beat me to it. The comm was spot on, it was totally clean
and level after the slightest of shaves. The arm was correctly
centered in the can and the PRO brush/spring seems to work ok.

Definitely less work than all the earlier P2Ks.

Hooked it up to my lathe pack (4C) for about 15 mins then just
bunged it into the car. Haven't thought any more about it, but
it performs pretty good - Its a decent revver certainly.
WC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 08:38 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
rc_bam226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,074
Default

Yeah, you could use your friends Pulsar Pro. There are different methods to break it in obviously, the main points to remember are to make sure that the brush hoods are in aligment, since you have the pro version, you already have the best brush/spring setup(in my opinion), make sure everything is in good order, if you have access to a lathe, take a small cut to "freshen" up the comm, and seat the brushes properly for the best electrical conductivity. Good luck to you at RC Tech.
rc_bam226 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 09:19 PM   #11
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 12
Default

anyone have a good gear ratio for a monster pro in a sedan that will be used for bashing? thanks.
grimlock3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 09:40 PM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: seattle, WA
Posts: 864
Default

grimlock - would you care to tell us what sedan you're running? It's kinda helpful to figure stuff out if we know, but in my tc3 im running 8.57 final drive. But that's for a tight track, so you could probably gear it at a 8.00.
racerdx6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 09:47 PM   #13
Moderator
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to StephenSobottka
Default

I agree 8.5 is good for tight carpet track racing.
__________________
~~Stephen Sobottka~~
SMC Racing
StephenSobottka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 10:14 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
rtypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,969
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Randman
Check out the Team Paradigm link in my signature. Their motors are already tuned, and faster than any Trinity I've gone against.
Ahem...hehe my bottom feeding stock monster (non-pro) had a little somethin somethin for ya

Take a non pro monster, shim the arm in the magnetic center, allign the brush hoods the best you can...ditch the brushes it came with, solder on some straight serrated 4499's (not that diagonal crap)...cut the comm...and gear it accordingly. Atleast that's what I do and it seems to work well enough to get people to think its a cheater motor

But then again, I've never tried a "tuned" monster so I don't if what I'm doing is the "way" to do it. I haven't gotten motored yet though.
rtypec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 10:20 PM   #15
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rtypec
Ahem...hehe my bottom feeding stock monster (non-pro) had a little somethin somethin for ya

That was before I figured out how to gear this thing I was running a 6.8 in the first qualifier and practice, went to a 7.1, and the motor woke up. I got asked by quite a few people if I was running a cheater arm in my motor at Hitec.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trinity Co27 Monster Stock Pro Motor clay104 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 11-20-2006 01:37 PM
>NEW< Trinity Monster stock Pro motor 25 shipped. SCUBA STEVE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 08-10-2006 09:48 AM
Trinity Monster Stock Pro Motor Brand New mr.rc R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 10-08-2005 11:36 AM
Who are the best motor tuners for Trinity Monster Stock Yokomo Aust Electric On-Road 25 04-24-2004 06:06 PM
Trinity Monster Horsepower stock motor coolrcdad Electric On-Road 184 04-02-2003 09:11 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:39 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net