R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-19-2008, 06:49 AM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Aotearoa
Posts: 62
Default Can a standard Novak GTB be used with Spektrum?

Hi there,

can anyone please tell me whether the standard Novak GTB can be used with spektrum dsm or do i need to have the Novak GTB Spread Spektrum? I currently run a standard Novak GTB with FM 40mhz Tx and Rx and was considering upgrading to spektrum but was curious to do this i will need to buy the GTB SS? If it is possible, are there any major disadvantages to doing that? I only race touring cars.

Thanks for any help any of you can give me
jimbobmahua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 07:07 AM   #2
Tech Regular
 
rcarmchl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Collierville, TN
Posts: 492
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

no need for the GTB SS - your standard GTB will work fine.

The SS version is just "optimized " for 2.4 use
__________________
Blizzard Concepts ~Big-Dog Graphics

Cyclone ~ Orion ~ LRP Sphere ~ S9550
M03 ~ Orion ~ LRP QC3 ~ S9550
RC18R ~ Castle Creations ~ Hi-tec
Slash ~ 9550 ~ SMC Power
8ight-T~9550~V-Spec
rcarmchl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 07:33 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
jla8874's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,042
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Check the radios and electronics thread and that topics been covered in detail there. I think you cant do the opposite of what you're trying, use the 2.4 optimized one with crystal modules.
jla8874 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 08:06 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 268
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

They are compatible. I've been running this combo for almost two years with no problems.

Pete
Pete Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 03:29 PM   #5
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Aotearoa
Posts: 62
Default

Thanks alot for the info guys.
Looks like it might be time to move to spektrum
jimbobmahua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 07:00 PM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
magerp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 48
Default

I was thinking of doing the same thing. I want to buy the 2.4GHz DSM radio and maybe the Novak SS GTB. However, the GTB SS is somewhat old. Does anyone know if Novak will release a new competition brush less esc?
magerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS LOSI XXX-4 G+ Novak GTB, Novak 5.5R Hitec 5997TG, Spektrum Receiver & Lipo Bat ffpm46 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 02-15-2008 09:22 PM
FS/FT NEW Never run Novak HV ESC with fan & mount / Trade for Novak GTB Spektrum ESC ffpm46 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 02-11-2008 08:43 AM
HUGE SALE TONS TC5, Novak Speak Spektrum GTB 13.5, Spektrum Pro, AMB Transponder + mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 01-08-2008 03:11 PM
spektrum pro module and standard reciever for M8/M11 $110.00 shipped for the combo vintagetamiya R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 08-18-2007 06:01 AM
Spektrum or Novak??? AWK Electric On-Road 15 06-01-2006 08:52 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:44 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net