R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-18-2008, 09:07 PM   #166
Tech Elite
 
schreff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,015
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to schreff
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramyuras View Post
Need help with my xcelorin I ran it a few times and it works fine but this weekend I had a problem with the motor stopping and not moving it sound like when the pinion and spur got out of mesh but that wasn't the case the pinion and spur was just fine did anyone have that problem? if so what did you do to fix the problem.
This sounds like a sensor issue. Try replacing the sensor wire to see if that helps. If not, there could be a damaged sensor in the motor which will cause that. I've only seen that happen one other time with a 10.5 and the motor got up to 235* after one of it's runs. After running at temperatures that high, it did the same thing you're explaining, but nothing was visibly melted inside. Turned out a sensor was damaged and the motor had to be replaced.
__________________
-Jason Schreffler-
TLR|Horizon Hobby|Spektrum|AKA|Team CRC|CR Graphics|TQ Wire|Radio Impound Podcast
schreff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 09:15 PM   #167
Tech Champion
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fpart View Post
Best quote of the offroad season yet-"Get out of the way! you're not even a contender!"- author to remain nameless

That sounds like a famous quote I heard a long time ago:

Drive-thru!
what can I say, sometimes it's hard getting the old guys outta the way so you gotta DRIVE THRU! How's everything Tom?
__________________
Official member of The Guild of Calamitous Intent and proud supporter of Conjectural Technologies.
Serpent S411 LE kit #192
RCTech #361
Matt Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 09:15 PM   #168
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 472
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schreff View Post
This sounds like a sensor issue. Try replacing the sensor wire to see if that helps. If not, there could be a damaged sensor in the motor which will cause that. I've only seen that happen one other time with a 10.5 and the motor got up to 235* after one of it's runs. After running at temperatures that high, it did the same thing you're explaining, but nothing was visibly melted inside. Turned out a sensor was damaged and the motor had to be replaced.
Thank you for your help the highest temp my motor went was 205deg but I will replace the sensor wire and see what happen.
Ramyuras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 07:15 AM   #169
Tech Regular
 
scrawl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 387
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Any chance of a raise of hands of Xcelorin owners running lipo without any issue?

I've spent way too much reading every Xcelorin thread I could find - seems the LVC cutting in prematurely is the most common topic. Trying to determine if its a widespread issue.

On a slightly different note, I downloaded the ESC software today and upon installing, my antivirus (AVG) became all excited - "wujack virus detected in preinstaller.exe". Tested with 7 other AV programs and they came back negative. Sent the possibly infected file to AVG for "deeper investigation" and the report came back postive.

Personally I think its a false positive. Does make me raise an eyebrow though.
scrawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 07:31 AM   #170
Tech Regular
 
JevUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Dover, UK
Posts: 310
Default

Latest news is that my friend said that switching to no LVC was not 100% successful. It cut out once durring the whole weekend. But with the LVC enabled it was cutting out multiple times every run.
__________________
MRT, Novak, Spektrum, Sanwa, Tamiya, Alleven RC, Maxamps, CheapBatteryPacks, Duratrax Ice, Pro Peak PSU, Nuova Faor, McLarney Racing, Futaba, KO Propo, Team Associated, Enerland.
JevUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 08:10 AM   #171
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

I've not had any issues with LVC - but for those that have, I think this is a problem with the ESC not providing stable Voltage or Amperage to the BEC circuit feeding the servo and receiver.

Using a LRP Sphere '07 on my 1/12, and experienced cut-off issues, regaining control with 1-2 seconds. I added the Spectrum Capacitor to the Receiver, problem solved.
kn7671 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 08:25 AM   #172
Tech Regular
 
JevUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Dover, UK
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kn7671 View Post
I've not had any issues with LVC - but for those that have, I think this is a problem with the ESC not providing stable Voltage or Amperage to the BEC circuit feeding the servo and receiver.

Using a LRP Sphere '07 on my 1/12, and experienced cut-off issues, regaining control with 1-2 seconds. I added the Spectrum Capacitor to the Receiver, problem solved.
We tried a cap on the spektrum receiver and didn't notice any difference
__________________
MRT, Novak, Spektrum, Sanwa, Tamiya, Alleven RC, Maxamps, CheapBatteryPacks, Duratrax Ice, Pro Peak PSU, Nuova Faor, McLarney Racing, Futaba, KO Propo, Team Associated, Enerland.
JevUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 11:44 AM   #173
Tech Master
 
fpart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,967
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fpart
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Howard View Post
what can I say, sometimes it's hard getting the old guys outta the way so you gotta DRIVE THRU! How's everything Tom?

Hey Matt..Doing good. Back to offroad. Where are you living now?
__________________
teamTrinity.com Sweepracingusa.com
スクービーは私のヒーローです!
Why is Scooby so slow, you might ask?
fpart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 11:57 AM   #174
Tech Elite
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,266
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scrawl View Post
Any chance of a raise of hands of Xcelorin owners running lipo without any issue?

I've spent way too much reading every Xcelorin thread I could find - seems the LVC cutting in prematurely is the most common topic. Trying to determine if its a widespread issue.

On a slightly different note, I downloaded the ESC software today and upon installing, my antivirus (AVG) became all excited - "wujack virus detected in preinstaller.exe". Tested with 7 other AV programs and they came back negative. Sent the possibly infected file to AVG for "deeper investigation" and the report came back postive.

Personally I think its a false positive. Does make me raise an eyebrow though.
Yes AVG does believe it found a virus, but instructions say to temporarily disable AV programs while installing.
__________________
- SchuurSpeed - 6X ROAR National Stock Champion
- Hobbywing North America Team Manager
rocketron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 02:26 PM   #175
Tech Elite
 
schreff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,015
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to schreff
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scrawl View Post
Any chance of a raise of hands of Xcelorin owners running lipo without any issue?

I've spent way too much reading every Xcelorin thread I could find - seems the LVC cutting in prematurely is the most common topic. Trying to determine if its a widespread issue.

On a slightly different note, I downloaded the ESC software today and upon installing, my antivirus (AVG) became all excited - "wujack virus detected in preinstaller.exe". Tested with 7 other AV programs and they came back negative. Sent the possibly infected file to AVG for "deeper investigation" and the report came back postive.

Personally I think its a false positive. Does make me raise an eyebrow though.
AVG is a real pain when it comes to the Losi software. You can ask Ron there. I spent 2 whole days installing the software on like 5 machines (2 XP boxes and 3 Vista boxes), all have AVG. After just being fed up, I figured... what the heck, I removed AVG completely on one of the Vista boxes and BINGO. Reinstalling the Xcelorin software after that worked fine. I then reinstalled AVG afterwards and it came up thinking there's a virus. Whatever file it moves to the vault obviously isn't important once the drivers are installed because everything still works. Just don't remove the file from the Vault.

Rule of thumb... if you have AVG (any version) running on your PC and you want to install the Xcelorin software... REMOVE AVG. Don't disable it, REMOVE it. Once the Losi stuff is installed and working, put AVG back on and you should be fine.

I know Larry uses Panda Antivirus and his doesn't complain. I've also seen it install and work fine on some machines running Symantec stuff as well.
__________________
-Jason Schreffler-
TLR|Horizon Hobby|Spektrum|AKA|Team CRC|CR Graphics|TQ Wire|Radio Impound Podcast
schreff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 03:17 PM   #176
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schreff View Post
AVG is a real pain when it comes to the Losi software. You can ask Ron there. I spent 2 whole days installing the software on like 5 machines (2 XP boxes and 3 Vista boxes), all have AVG. After just being fed up, I figured... what the heck, I removed AVG completely on one of the Vista boxes and BINGO. Reinstalling the Xcelorin software after that worked fine. I then reinstalled AVG afterwards and it came up thinking there's a virus. Whatever file it moves to the vault obviously isn't important once the drivers are installed because everything still works. Just don't remove the file from the Vault.

Rule of thumb... if you have AVG (any version) running on your PC and you want to install the Xcelorin software... REMOVE AVG. Don't disable it, REMOVE it. Once the Losi stuff is installed and working, put AVG back on and you should be fine.

I know Larry uses Panda Antivirus and his doesn't complain. I've also seen it install and work fine on some machines running Symantec stuff as well.


report it as a false positive to AVG and they will take care of the issue...
Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2008, 09:12 AM   #177
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys, if you're looking for some more info on the software for the Xcelorin ESC's we just put together a tutorial and posted it on Losi.Com, HorizonHobby.com, and YouTube. Main difference is you can full-screen it on youtube.

http://losi.com/Articles/Article.aspx?ArticleID=1804
http://horizonhobby.com/Articles/Art...ArticleID=1804
http://youtube.com/watch?v=AARVVQdT3ac
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 02:37 PM   #178
Tech Rookie
 
farmerdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Default

I'm 99% sure I can, but I have been told that the Xcelorin may not be compatible with the Novak 10.5ss.

farmerdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 04:27 PM   #179
Tech Master
 
Ron Goetter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Goatsville, PA
Posts: 1,950
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Send a message via AIM to Ron Goetter
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by farmerdan View Post
I'm 99% sure I can, but I have been told that the Xcelorin may not be compatible with the Novak 10.5ss.

The Xcelorin will work fine with a novak motor of any sort. I ran a novak 13.5ss for a couple of race days while i was waiting for for losi 13.5 to come in.
__________________
The Goat... B-Mainer Fo' life
-Awesomatix USA-ROCHE USA-Team CRC-ORCA-SIDE PIECE RACING-TEAM DAK-EA Motorsports-VP Fuel-Trains and Lanes-CR Graphics-TQ Wire-Horsham RC-rugburn anyone?
Shut up and Race!!!!
Ron Goetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2008, 10:23 AM   #180
Tech Regular
 
stuey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 393
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

can you adjust the timing on the 10.5 motor
stuey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LOSI Xcelorin Brushless/ESC combo ORANGE DOG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 26 09-01-2008 10:44 PM
<< ** New Losi Desert Truck with NIP Xcelorin Brushless Combo ** >> RcOneNitro R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 28 08-09-2008 07:35 PM
XCELORIN brushless? matthewh Micro and Mini Scales 48 06-26-2008 04:34 PM
losi xcelorin brushless system HarleyMf2 Electric Off-Road 3 04-27-2008 09:39 AM
Losi Xcelorin S Brushless Electronic Speed Control SoCalMitch Electric On-Road 12 03-27-2008 08:08 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:42 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net