Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
TRF414M, 404x, 414, 414X >

TRF414M, 404x, 414, 414X

Like Tree18Likes

TRF414M, 404x, 414, 414X

Old 09-12-2001, 08:39 AM
  #31  
Tech Master
 
Alvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore, Jurong East
Posts: 1,654
Default

What about the differential housing? The one that comes with the 04r seems to be composite carbon, but if I can get the 414M housing that'll be sweet

Alvin
Alvin is offline  
Old 09-12-2001, 08:41 AM
  #32  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Isaac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,061
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I don't know about the 04R as I haven't brought one yet.
Isaac is offline  
Old 09-12-2001, 01:52 PM
  #33  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 44
Default

I don't know if you can use the front alu diff housing but i'm sure you can use the rear one becasue the 04r's tub chassis has the "poles" sticking out of the chassis. Correct me if i'm worng...
petersiu007 is offline  
Old 09-12-2001, 08:37 PM
  #34  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
TRF-Powered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,003
Default

The Alu housing won't fit. But why bother to get 414M's housing for it anyway? Tamiya probably has a plan to release some hop-ups for TA04R which might inculde the alu housing you are looking for.

By the way, from what I heard from the track. TA04R's tub chassis isn't strong enough and it flex a lot and tends to crack in extreme condition. I heard people saying that Tamiya is coming out new tub chassis for TA04R. I think only you have to do is sending your old tub chassis and get a new one. I'm not so sure about this info. Call Tamiya and ask them. They might give you better idea what's going on.
TRF-Powered is offline  
Old 09-16-2001, 11:39 AM
  #35  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
TRF-Powered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,003
Default

does tamiya sell those setting wheels for TRF414X????? those sure are cool......
TRF-Powered is offline  
Old 09-16-2001, 02:04 PM
  #36  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 44
Default

You mean the blue ones? i have a set of them that i don't use anymore. I'll sell them if you want. You can email me at [email protected] and we can talk about it. Thanks
petersiu007 is offline  
Old 09-17-2001, 07:08 AM
  #37  
Tech Master
 
Alvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore, Jurong East
Posts: 1,654
Default

My local distributor sells tamiya setting wheels, not sure if they're the same as the 414's but they're cool boy! Much nicer than my speedmind setting wheels. And they cost a bomb!
Alvin is offline  
Old 09-17-2001, 07:46 AM
  #38  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 428
Default

yup, they're the original ones way back when they came out with limited edition 1st generation 414x. Looks cool but I prefer setup gauge over them. I only use them for tweaking with tweak station...

Originally posted by Alvin
My local distributor sells tamiya setting wheels, not sure if they're the same as the 414's but they're cool boy! Much nicer than my speedmind setting wheels. And they cost a bomb!

Last edited by stik; 09-20-2001 at 06:30 PM.
stik is offline  
Old 09-18-2001, 05:47 AM
  #39  
Registered User
 
Pyramid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: ID
Posts: 1,945
Default

Anyone has opportunities to compare 414M with the Xray T1?

Both cars look precise but would like to hear opinions.


Thanks in advance
Pyramid is offline  
Old 09-21-2001, 07:00 AM
  #40  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Isaac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,061
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Carpet and Foams

I put the 414M on carpet last Wednesday. TRC "plaids" foams in front and "purples" in the rear. The car that won stock in my earlier post was used with the same set up. Roll out was 26.7mm as it's a tight track with a 90 to 100ft straight. The motor was an ESP "MVP" can stock motor with "E" brushes. I had rip and straight away speed. The car was pretty much dailed. The sway bar in the rear was the thickest blue bar so the rear could possibly be more planted. It was still easy to drive. As long as you got off the gas at specific or obvious points the car would just carry speed through all corners. The fastest and easiest touring car I've driven on carpet. Carpet usually isn't my cup of tea either. I just simply had a ball eating up the track.

People told me this car would have too much traction indoors and that it's a car for parking lots and outdoors. Don't believe the hype. I'm running the Tamiya harder spring set and it's just fine. At least for stock. I hope to try a mod motor soon. I won't be able to race for awhile though.
Isaac is offline  
Old 09-23-2001, 11:30 PM
  #41  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 428
Default

...do you have to do some chassis modification? or they just drop in perfectly?

Originally posted by petersiu007
Anyone fed up with the stock battery straps? Put on the X-ray battery straps!! Works perfect and looks sweet!
stik is offline  
Old 09-23-2001, 11:50 PM
  #42  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
TRF-Powered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,003
Default

for 414M you need to cut the little rectanguler thing where you screw down the battery holder for the stick pack to fit a saddle pack in it.
TRF-Powered is offline  
Old 09-24-2001, 01:25 AM
  #43  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 428
Default

... i have the saddle pack chassis (Tamiya America, bought from tower hobbies) and it doesn't have rectangular part ???.

Originally posted by TRF-Powered
for 414M you need to cut the little rectanguler thing where you screw down the battery holder for the stick pack to fit a saddle pack in it.
stik is offline  
Old 09-24-2001, 07:07 AM
  #44  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (81)
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,951
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by stik
... i have the saddle pack chassis (Tamiya America, bought from tower hobbies) and it doesn't have rectangular part ???.

Do you have the "414 M" or the 04? The "414 M" chassis needs this cut out. The 04 does not. They are two different chassis plates.
Kraig is offline  
Old 09-24-2001, 07:35 AM
  #45  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 428
Default

it was an 04 Pro ...

Originally posted by Kraig


Do you have the "414 M" or the 04? The "414 M" chassis needs this cut out. The 04 does not. They are two different chassis plates.
stik is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.