R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-22-2008, 10:26 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
NTC3Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 49
Default Electric Newbie Question

I picked up a used TC3 that came with ESC and Battery and receiver, where does the receiver get its power from for the steering servo and throttle?
__________________
#1 NTC3 RTR Modded w/JP Racing M12
#2 NTC3 Team Kit w/RB X12
#3 NTC3 FT Kit Ver.2 w/Rody RB V15 Turbo
Savage 4.6SS Kit
Jr XR3i
NTC3Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 10:29 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,224
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

The ESC

Quote:
Originally Posted by NTC3Crazy View Post
I picked up a used TC3 that came with ESC and Battery and receiver, where does the receiver get its power from for the steering servo and throttle?
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 10:39 AM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
NTC3Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 49
Default

How does it get power from the ESC, the ESC has the +and- for the battery, the + and - for the motor and the 3 lead wire for the receiver for throttle. I do not understand where the connection is for power to the receiver.
__________________
#1 NTC3 RTR Modded w/JP Racing M12
#2 NTC3 Team Kit w/RB X12
#3 NTC3 FT Kit Ver.2 w/Rody RB V15 Turbo
Savage 4.6SS Kit
Jr XR3i
NTC3Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 10:46 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 3,121
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to A. Rhodes
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NTC3Crazy View Post
I do not understand where the connection is for power to the receiver.
You kinda answered your own question....

Quote:
Originally Posted by NTC3Crazy View Post
and the 3 lead wire for the receiver for throttle.
That same wire not only gives the SC signal from the receiver, but it also supplies power to the receiver & servo. Not sure how it techinally works, maybe Adam or Charlie can answer that.
__________________
Retired from RC....
Quantum - St. Croix - Bass Pro Shops - XPS - Rapala
A. Rhodes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 10:46 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NTC3Crazy View Post
How does it get power from the ESC, the ESC has the +and- for the battery, the + and - for the motor and the 3 lead wire for the receiver for throttle. I do not understand where the connection is for power to the receiver.
The 3 lead wire also passes the voltage.
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 10:49 AM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
NTC3Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 49
Default

So do I plug the 3 wire lead into the battery slot on the receiver or the throttle slot?
__________________
#1 NTC3 RTR Modded w/JP Racing M12
#2 NTC3 Team Kit w/RB X12
#3 NTC3 FT Kit Ver.2 w/Rody RB V15 Turbo
Savage 4.6SS Kit
Jr XR3i
NTC3Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 10:52 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NTC3Crazy View Post
So do I plug the 3 wire lead into the battery slot on the receiver or the throttle slot?
The throttle slot.
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 10:54 AM   #8
Tech Initiate
 
NTC3Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 49
Default

Thanks, I will try it tonight.
__________________
#1 NTC3 RTR Modded w/JP Racing M12
#2 NTC3 Team Kit w/RB X12
#3 NTC3 FT Kit Ver.2 w/Rody RB V15 Turbo
Savage 4.6SS Kit
Jr XR3i
NTC3Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 10:54 AM   #9
Tech Initiate
 
NTC3Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 49
Default

Can NIMH batteries be discharged?
__________________
#1 NTC3 RTR Modded w/JP Racing M12
#2 NTC3 Team Kit w/RB X12
#3 NTC3 FT Kit Ver.2 w/Rody RB V15 Turbo
Savage 4.6SS Kit
Jr XR3i
NTC3Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 12:41 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,701
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NTC3Crazy View Post
Can NIMH batteries be discharged?

The short answer:
Yes.


The long answer:
There are many various ways to do this. Most racers are using discharge/equalization trays with the pack assembled with the cells side by side. Personally, I'm using a 0-30 from Integy till the bulbs just go out, then I put the pack in a Novak Smart tray and bring the cells down to .9v. With the new batteries (4200 and greater) don't discharge the cells down past .9 v/cell.

Non-requested banter:
If there are any cells in the pack that are below .9 volts, re-charge the pack to about 1000 mah and re-tray, then charge as normal. I had some packs that sat since before vegas this year. I decided to practice with them Sunday. It took a few times cycling, but they eventually got back up to 4000 mah charges (4200 wce cells). They weren't top of their game, but yielded decent practice voltages.
__________________
Speed Merchant Rev7, Tekin, TQ Racing (wire), Team Tamale
RC Excitement - Buy where you race, support your local tracks.
ROAR #105242
timmay70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 02:49 PM   #11
Tech Initiate
 
NTC3Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 49
Default

I am using a MRC 959 Superbrain for charging, what do I set the 'mv' to for 4200 cells? I also have an Integy discharger with bulbs, is it safe to add the pack assembled or should I discharge each cell seperatly?
__________________
#1 NTC3 RTR Modded w/JP Racing M12
#2 NTC3 Team Kit w/RB X12
#3 NTC3 FT Kit Ver.2 w/Rody RB V15 Turbo
Savage 4.6SS Kit
Jr XR3i
NTC3Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 06:02 PM   #12
Tech Initiate
 
NTC3Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 49
Default

Since I have no clue about electric R/C I have alot of questions.

1. Do I need to run capacitors on my motors?

2. What causes the motor to run for only seconds?

3. At how many AMPS do I charge my 4200 NIMH pack?

I bought this used to get the feel of electric and I am lost, I might just resell it and stick with Nitro.
__________________
#1 NTC3 RTR Modded w/JP Racing M12
#2 NTC3 Team Kit w/RB X12
#3 NTC3 FT Kit Ver.2 w/Rody RB V15 Turbo
Savage 4.6SS Kit
Jr XR3i
NTC3Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 06:21 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Ferrarimk13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Staten Island, New York
Posts: 630
Send a message via AIM to Ferrarimk13
Default

Quote:
1. Do I need to run capacitors on my motors?
it depends on the esc, usually its good if you do, but if not, its really no biggie, if it really needs it, the esc will include it, KO propo's need it.

Quote:
2. What causes the motor to run for only seconds?
?? dont understand, but if im guessing right, you mean the battery. If you reverse polarity itll screw up both the esc, and the batteries sometimes.

Quote:
3. At how many AMPS do I charge my 4200 NIMH pack?
No idea, im new to this as well.
__________________
Press Alt+F4 for a good time.
Ferrarimk13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 07:50 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

battery charging is personal prefference but the safest way is to charge a 4200mah at 4.2 amps and a 4600mah at 4.6 amps but i think that is too low.


You should try charging at 5.5 amps for longer runtimes and higher if you would preffer punch. i charge mine in summer at 7 amps and 8 amps in winter, i run ib4600. i set my delta peak to 30mv for the pack
__________________
::Mi4::17.5::::::M03R::HW 3000kv::::::T4::7.5::::::HB Cyclone D4::5.5::

"Why follow, when you can lead?"
Schumacher
Drifting101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2008, 10:56 AM   #15
Tech Initiate
 
NTC3Crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 49
Default

I charged the battery last night and I got 6.3 volts, this morning I checked it again with a volt meter and I got 4.1. I take it that this battery pack is worthless since it will not hold charge.

When I run the motor, the battery lasts for about 10 seconds.
__________________
#1 NTC3 RTR Modded w/JP Racing M12
#2 NTC3 Team Kit w/RB X12
#3 NTC3 FT Kit Ver.2 w/Rody RB V15 Turbo
Savage 4.6SS Kit
Jr XR3i
NTC3Crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie set up question for TC TylerOwenby Rookie Zone 2 05-08-2007 09:39 PM
Newbie question about TC4 va_connoisseur Electric On-Road 4 03-14-2007 11:20 PM
(Newbie Question) Team Associated TC3 electric RTR any good? AttackDonut Electric On-Road 8 11-09-2004 10:19 AM
Nitro engine question - newbie question. BloodClod Singapore R/C Racers 6 09-11-2002 10:33 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:26 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net