R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-25-2010, 08:04 PM   #14851
Tech Elite
 
mjc168's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,808
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nazaboy View Post
orca RX-1
I know is RX-1 but which version? version 1, 2 or 3?
__________________
http://www.pprcc.com/

1/10 On-road Touring: Schumacher MI3 + Tekin RS Pro + Orca RX-1 11.5t BL Motor
1/10 On-road Touring: Xray T3 2011 + Tekin RS Pro + Tekin Redline 10.5t BL Motor
mjc168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 08:25 PM   #14852
Tech Master
 
nazaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 1 Malaysia Team RC
Posts: 1,615
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to nazaboy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjc168 View Post
I know is RX-1 but which version? version 1, 2 or 3?
latest may be version 3
__________________
We All Are one Team ( Touring & Drift )
My Ride TRF jer ........moto sensor pianggg
Sanwa M11X Lebih Terasa Akan Kenyamannnnnnyer
nazaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 12:33 PM   #14853
Tech Elite
 
-WHEELMAN-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Redlands, California
Posts: 4,506
Trader Rating: 266 (98%+)
Default

Wow just got 203 on my RS pro and is a turning point in my B44 10.5. I thought about getting a hotter motor but after some tweeks to 203 I was stoked and couldnt be happier. Thanks Tekin. I was like
__________________
BRETT T. RICHARDS = SUPPORT YOUR TROOPS, LOCAL TRACKS AND HOBBY SHOPS OR THEY COULD ALL BE GONE ONE DAY!
-WHEELMAN- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 12:58 PM   #14854
Tech Regular
 
bigdadracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: the happiest place on earth
Posts: 406
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hey guys just a quick question ,I hear that tekin is supost to be comming out with a 205 program soon is this correct if so when is it going to be relesed
__________________
rcamerica/xray/ team powers/bsr tires/ slapmaster tools/ bigdads garage/cheep beer/ mykeart paint works / team pop a top

suport your local hobby shop because ebays track is hard to find !!!!!!!!
Russ Jacobson
bigdadracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 01:10 PM   #14855
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdadracing View Post
hey guys just a quick question ,I hear that tekin is supost to be comming out with a 205 program soon is this correct if so when is it going to be relesed
It's 208 and nobody knows when its going to be released (just like nobody knows when the new Hotwire interface or the Hotwire app for the iPhone will be released).
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 01:27 PM   #14856
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poole, UK
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveW View Post
Ahhh, what interface... Haltech? Got a friend into Vettes and he hates the fuel injection. He just has no idea how good he can have it...
Love the fuel injection on my Vette, almost as much as the HUD; and just don't get me started on the hydro-formed chassis . Don't like the manual shift gear knob but then I changed that years ago. I will admit that I dont dream about the injection as much as I do my RS Pro though
yellowshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 09:12 PM   #14857
Tech Elite
 
rezenclowd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Solvang, CA
Posts: 2,367
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rezenclowd3
Default

So just picked up a Tekin RS Pro and Hotwire. Installed the software from the site onto my Macbook Pro with Windows 7 x64. Gotta say, the software user interface is horrendous. I've seen it before at the track, but using it myself on a decent resolution screen, its a touch hard to click on things, as well as just hard to read and see. It would be awesome if settings were all editable without the mouse/trackpad. Having to use a mouse or trackpad just slows me down.

I do have a problem where text in buttons do not show till mouseover. Is this a known issue or by design? It's not a big deal, just annoying.
__________________
OOMSGFX.COM (no longer painting, but take a look for fun!), Roadrunners RC Club
"Racing drivers have balls, unfortunately, none of them are crystal" (David Coulthard)
"I believe the average IQ of a NASCAR fan is only marginally above the things that hit the windscreen during the race. "

Last edited by rezenclowd3; 05-27-2010 at 10:00 PM.
rezenclowd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 09:26 PM   #14858
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rezenclowd3 View Post
So just picked up a Tekin RS Pro and Hotwire. Installed the software from the site onto my Macbook Pro with Windows 7 x64. Gotta say, the software user interface is horrendous. I've seen it before at the track, but using it myself on a decent resolution screen, its a touch hard to click on things, as well as just hard to read and see. It would be awesome if settings were all editable without the mouse/trackpad. Having to use a mouse or trackpad just slows me down.

I do have a problem where text in buttons do not show till mouseover. Is this a known issue? It's not a big deal, just annoying.
Sounds like you may have some driver issues with your setup.
On XP and W7 it works fine with no visibility issues.
However, I agree the interface is not as useful as it is decorative
But then I come at it from the full scale 2 and 4 wheel eng. management side.
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 09:48 PM   #14859
Tech Elite
 
rezenclowd3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Solvang, CA
Posts: 2,367
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rezenclowd3
Default

Don't have any other issues with programs.... Been playing with drivers from laptopvideo2go.com for my 8600m gt in Win 7 as Apples default Win 7 drivers are outdated.
__________________
OOMSGFX.COM (no longer painting, but take a look for fun!), Roadrunners RC Club
"Racing drivers have balls, unfortunately, none of them are crystal" (David Coulthard)
"I believe the average IQ of a NASCAR fan is only marginally above the things that hit the windscreen during the race. "
rezenclowd3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 09:51 PM   #14860
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brandon, MS
Posts: 543
Default

A couple of the buttons don't show what they are untill you do a mouseover. Then they disapear as quick as they came. Maybe if 208 gets here the interface option for small screens will clear things up, even on a big screen.

The big question is when will 208 be here??????

Ed M.
bentgear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 10:00 PM   #14861
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sydney (somewhere on the Australian coast..)
Posts: 33
Default

same for me running the software on W7: the button description is only visible when hovering the mouse pointer over them.
Thats a tad annoying, indeed. What annoys me even more is the inconsistency in saving settings. After having the software writing complete nonsense into my ESC once, Im now triplechecking every time when saving setting by clicking "default settings","current settings" and unplugging and replugging the interface.

In general, the software interface has a very toyish look&feel.
Well, in the end, it is a kind of toy we are operating with this software.
However, I assume a high percentage of people using these kinds of advanced toys are engineers, so I reckon a "properly" designed interface would appeal more to most users.
Personally Id prefer a simple text file with parameters over the current HW software...

I guess Tekin got this message already, as I read somewhere that a "Netbook" release of the software is in the making.

P.S.: I hope this post is considered what its meant to be: a customer feedback with the intention to contribute to the improvement of the product. The device itself is awesome and I see great potential here.
DrBen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 11:04 PM   #14862
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 232
Default

will the Rx8 that is on rctvlive work fine in an 1/8 on road car as well?
microcrazy24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 11:08 PM   #14863
Tech Elite
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,964
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Interface issues aside... i had the pleasure of running an RS Pro today. Since mine is in the mail for repair, a local was awesome enough to let me use one of his for practice today (1/10 TC outdoor asphalt).

I made two baseline runs with the LRP x12 17.5 (0 timing) and "Brand X" controller (timing 3) to find a suitable gear. After a consistent 6:30 run, i temped 202 degrees without fade on the x12, and 141 degrees on the speedo.

All i did was drop in the RS Pro with a baseline 'map' and repeated the above test with the same gear. The car was notably faster on the top end, and marginally smoother with a little more midband response... all to the tune of 163 degrees on the x12, and 117 degrees on the RS.

After some timing and boost adjustments, along with some delay change... the car was great in the infield, and ballistic (for a 17.5) on the straight! The x12 never temped over 180 degrees, so i have PLENTY of room to grow.

I cant wait till my RS comes back so i can get some wheel time with it! Kudos Tekin!
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 11:55 PM   #14864
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Norwalk CA
Posts: 257
Trader Rating: 21 (89%+)
Default tekin rs with a 10.5 motor

was wondering if anyone had a decent starting point for a 10.5 motor.. straight is about 170 feet. and inside is flowing... all help is appreciated... thanks...
__________________
XRAY T3 - XRAY 009 - SLASH - TEKIN - CIRTIX - MUGEN MTX4R - DM1
www.teamnitronic.com - oc circuit racing - CALRA CEWAY
RC4ODC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2010, 04:55 AM   #14865
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 48
Default

I'm hoping if somebody can give me some tips for setting up the speedo and gearing as well. I run a 13.5 GM motor (1600 gauss version) in a fairly small indoor rubber, carpet track. If it helps with the same motor and a LRP Sphere speed control I was on a 5.4 FDR.
Thanks in advance
A.Wojtecki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:56 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net