R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2010, 08:02 PM   #14356
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

how much motor timing
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 08:04 PM   #14357
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
17.5 Ballistic Motor timing set to second lowest mark
Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
how much motor timing
It's on the 2nd to lowest mark on the negative side. So if I understand novak motors right, the middle hole is 30. Each mark is worth 5degrees. So 20?
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 08:09 PM   #14358
Tech Master
 
VenturaDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ventura, SoCal
Posts: 1,131
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

dont know the full setup but one of the fastest cars at our track is a 17.5 ballistic and he is geared at a 5.0 fdr while most of us are geared 6.0-7.0 with other motors. Decent sized outdoor track.
__________________
Dustin Colt45 Aguirre
Kyosho RB6--Futaba--HW--Shuurspeed 17.5
Kyosho SCR--Hitec--Lrp--Yeah 13.5
Durango Dex210--Futaba--Trakpower--Tacon 8.5
VenturaDC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 08:23 PM   #14359
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

i would move the start up to around 4-5k with the 0delay and 1k start it may be bogging down
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 08:30 PM   #14360
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern NSW Australia
Posts: 734
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hello
Is any one running the LRP x12 10.5 and if so what are your setting to keep it cool.
Mine was coming of at 199F and not as fast as the tekin.
Is it better in sensorless mode.
Steven
Casino Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 08:46 PM   #14361
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE View Post
i would move the start up to around 4-5k with the 0delay and 1k start it may be bogging down
That is the one thing I have not tried. I'll give that a shot.
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 09:01 PM   #14362
Tech Elite
 
L.Fairtrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beyond the Wall
Posts: 3,773
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to L.Fairtrace
Default

I would suggest in TC never starting any motor below 3-4k start.

It seems the wider I make the range the more power the motor makes. Up to a point obviously but it also smooths out the power band also.
__________________
Awesomatix USA - EaMotorsports - RocheUSA - MonTech - Sanwa - BSR Racing Tires - TQ Wire - Solaris Racing Tires - Side Piece Racing

180 and 360 Raceway. Best on the East Coast. Take your pick
L.Fairtrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 10:36 PM   #14363
mok
Tech Master
 
mok's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to mok Send a message via Skype™ to mok
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casino Kid View Post
Hello
Is any one running the LRP x12 10.5 and if so what are your setting to keep it cool.
Mine was coming of at 199F and not as fast as the tekin.
Is it better in sensorless mode.
Steven
Motor timing - 35
Turbo boost - 15
Timing insert - 3 dot (-5 degree)
Start rpm - 13500
End rpm - 24000
Turbo delay - 0.2
Turbo ramp - 2
Brake strength - 85 (had to balance motor temps with brakes)
Push control - 10
Drag brake - 0
Fdr - 6.995
Track - 240m length, approx 55m straight, asphalt (rubber tyre)
Motor cooling - none
Temps - 95C to 99C
Fastest lap time - 0.082s off the lap record
Chassis - Xray T3

IMHO, to go faster on that track without more heat i would need a cooling fan/heatsink solution...
With cooling I would be able to push up the turbo a couple more notches for super boosto! on the straight

-Mark
__________________
XRAY T3'2011 / TEKIN RS PRO / LRP X12 / HYPERION SWIFT G3 RACE PACKS / FUTABA S9551 / SPEKTRUM DX3R
www.epracer.com - www.precc.org.au - www.westcoastmodelrallyclub.asn.au - www.onroadrccarclubbunbury.org.au
mok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 11:01 PM   #14364
Tech Elite
 
-WHEELMAN-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Redlands, California
Posts: 4,506
Trader Rating: 266 (98%+)
Default

Loving my RS thanks Tekin again!! Still have confidence youll get the RX8 figured out. Im a loyal Tekin customer!! Had a great time running the pro in my B44 last night! Turbo was fun on the long straight!!
__________________
BRETT T. RICHARDS = SUPPORT YOUR TROOPS, LOCAL TRACKS AND HOBBY SHOPS OR THEY COULD ALL BE GONE ONE DAY!
-WHEELMAN- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 03:17 AM   #14365
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern NSW Australia
Posts: 734
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mok View Post
Motor timing - 35
Turbo boost - 15
Timing insert - 3 dot (-5 degree)
Start rpm - 13500
End rpm - 24000
Turbo delay - 0.2
Turbo ramp - 2
Brake strength - 85 (had to balance motor temps with brakes)
Push control - 10
Drag brake - 0
Fdr - 6.995
Track - 240m length, approx 55m straight, asphalt (rubber tyre)
Motor cooling - none
Temps - 95C to 99C
Fastest lap time - 0.082s off the lap record
Chassis - Xray T3

IMHO, to go faster on that track without more heat i would need a cooling fan/heatsink solution...
With cooling I would be able to push up the turbo a couple more notches for super boosto! on the straight

-Mark
Thanks Mok
these motors run hot, is that the norm.
Steven
Casino Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 03:44 AM   #14366
Tech Addict
 
warnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 522
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Spektrum Cap doesn't help?? omg.. just spent the day finding one.. oh well I will give it a go anyway.. Is there a way to test the Capacitor on the Tekin to see if its working correctly??

I have tried to roll back the firmware and reinstall 203.. but doesn't fix the problem.

The only thing thats left for me to do is maybe solder the wires directly to the RX motherboard. Maybe if that works I can splice in a plug for hotwire.

Or just to test run a battery for the receiver instead of the Spektrum Capacitor and disconnect the red wire from the Tekin. If this fixes it then its a brown out problem not enough power loosing bind..and a bigger cap may fix it.. instead of 420uF maybe 10V 1000uf. Doesn't leave you feeling safe and connected to the car though.

It seems people are only having issues with the Spektrums.. maybe I should change modules.

Cheers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
I have had exactly the same issues, which reoccurred today.

Had few times when the throttle just stopped and a few runaways, the next round it was fine.

Fine for a few runs, then one horrific round then fine again.

Have tried a Spektrum cap but it made no difference, also tried resetting the ESC. Only thing I haven't tried is going back to earlier firmware the updating again.

Could a loose signal wire cause something like the above?

Its the SR3500 receiver with a Spektrum module in a Futaba 3VC with KO PDS-2413 servo.

Skiddins
__________________
TCX Smokem / F104 wgp
Major Sponsor : Visa Card
TEAM SMA - www.smaracing.org
warnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 03:55 AM   #14367
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by warnos View Post
Spektrum Cap doesn't help?? omg.. just spent the day finding one.. oh well I will give it a go anyway.. Is there a way to test the Capacitor on the Tekin to see if its working correctly??

I have tried to roll back the firmware and reinstall 203.. but doesn't fix the problem.

The only thing thats left for me to do is maybe solder the wires directly to the RX motherboard. Maybe if that works I can splice in a plug for hotwire.

Or just to test run a battery for the receiver instead of the Spektrum Capacitor and disconnect the red wire from the Tekin. If this fixes it then its a brown out problem not enough power loosing bind..and a bigger cap may fix it.. instead of 420uF maybe 10V 1000uf. Doesn't leave you feeling safe and connected to the car though.

It seems people are only having issues with the Spektrums.. maybe I should change modules.

Cheers
As a person selling Tekins I constantly see issues with Spektrum equipment, especiall Spektrum modules used in other brand radios.

I have had customers have issues with the Spektrum modules only to revert to the original FM modules and then have no issues whatsoever
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 04:33 AM   #14368
Tech Elite
 
blade072's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide S.A
Posts: 2,670
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post
As a person selling Tekins I constantly see issues with Spektrum equipment, especiall Spektrum modules used in other brand radios.

I have had customers have issues with the Spektrum modules only to revert to the original FM modules and then have no issues whatsoever
my mate had spektrum issues but he borrowed a sm3500 micro and it was all good...i might give him a cap for it still....
__________________
David Randall

AWESOMATIX A800X ★ MUCHMORE ★ R1 WURKS ★
ROCHE RAPIDE F1-16 ★ SANWA M12 ★ SILVERBACK ★
HOBBYWING ★ RCMAKER ★ VOLANTE RC ★
blade072 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 08:03 AM   #14369
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
Here's my current setup.

Full turbo
Full Boost
0 delay
Ramp 3
1000 start
18000 end
6.7 FDR
17.5 Ballistic Motor timing set to second lowest mark

I got plenty of mid and top end power, but not enough on the low side. I'd like to get a lot more rip out of the corners. I messed with my settings a lot, and always end up very close to this depending on the track I am at. I'm starting to believe my motor just doesn't have the low end grunt I am looking for. My temps very from 120-160 depending on the day and track lay out. It varies so much because we race at night here.

Any suggestions?
Lower boost to 10
Increase delay to .1 or .2
Move start to 3,000 or 5,000 - try both
Moving the timing on the motor back to the central tick

Then experiment with gearing after that.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 09:12 AM   #14370
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

If you're having DSM issues try a different servo. A failing servo can draw enough current on it's own to brown out some of the Spektrum receivers.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:37 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net