R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-17-2008, 03:20 PM   #1411
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,535
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

for the tekin RS and RS Pro (these are the sensored ones right?) , using the hotwire setup that allows you to control various settings like the castlelink setup from what I have heard, is there an option for custom voltage cutoff?

Reason I ask is that with SMC now making a 1 cell 1/12 scale sized lipo, I would like to give it a try, but the only 1/10 scale ESCs that I know of right now that has it so you can set your cutoff voltage anyway you like are sensorless which from what I understand don't play nice with the spec motors like 17.5T etc.

But with the RS and RS Pro, maybe this is an ESC that can do what is needed so there is no wait for Novak to get there booster circuit or whatever it is called done?
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 03:33 PM   #1412
Tech Elite
 
1armed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 3,075
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to 1armed1
Default

Cain,
Using the Hotwire there is a custom voltage profile.
You can adjust it down to 3.0v which would be perfect for the 1/12 lipo.

Dayton
1armed1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 06:51 PM   #1413
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 301
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Figured I'd chime in here for some info for some of you who may be having problems with setup using Futaba radios! I don't own a 3PK, I own an older 3PJ radio and when I first got the speedo I simply couldn't get the speedo through the setup process, it just would never complete it. The led indicator lights would show the radio to be out of adjustment, so I fidgetted with it forever changing adjustments on the radio to different percentages and in the end having no luck! Come to find out the servo reversing switch for throttle needed to be in reverse and not normal for this speedo, I found this out by using a different model memory for setup on this speedo, one that had a setup for an old Tekin G10 speedo which had the setting in reverse. and it worked the first time. Once I changed the servo reverse to reverse, it setup on the model I wanted on the first try! I can't say that this is the same issue that some or all of you are having but it is something worth trying if you can't seem to get it to setup. I literally spent hours trying to get this thing to work thinking there was something wrong with it only to find out it was one simple change that made all the difference! Hope this helps some of you out!
WailinOnYa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 10:20 PM   #1414
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

As far as RX caps go, spektrum offers their own. I have used the B1 cap as well as the G11 cap as they both are great caps. Just wire them up to an old esc or servo plug harness.

The spektrum lets go so fast it feels like a glitch or radio hit(crystal days).
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 10:42 PM   #1415
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 46
Default

I have a question about the Tekin 17.5 redlines, I currently have two of them and find that they will not run cool no matter what I gear at, they will come off at around 175 -180 degrees and they seem down on power out of the corners. We have several others running these motors at our club and they have lots of power, I have tried fixing it with hotwire and trying lots of different roll outs to no avail. any ideas.
Chad M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 11:26 PM   #1416
Tech Fanatic
 
James35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 750
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
The timing bar on the Hotwire only affects the timing while in dual mode. In sensored only it's negated.
Some suggestions. In your next Hotwire upgrade, grey out the Timing bar if the "Sensored only" mode is checked. That would make immediate sense to everyone. The light would click on in everyone's mind. "Why is it greyed out? Oh yeah... it's using the mechanical motor timing.... I see."

I know you tried to make it look pretty while working properly with various monitor resolutions, but you did this at the expense of functionality. Motor Type: B-DL is not intuitive. I'd rather have the wording "Brushless Fwd/Rev with delay" instead of pretty graphics. You'll need to improve the owner's manual to describe all of your wonderful features. Or at least add a Help button to describe the items in detail.

Speaking of reverse delay. Currently, the delay only checks for neutral for 1 second. I'd love an option for the speedo to check to see if the car is actually stopped (or very slow). If so, then allow reverse. As it is right now, you could be coasting down the straightaway for a second, apply the brake, and reverse inadvertently kicks in instead!
James35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 12:00 AM   #1417
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by James35 View Post
Some suggestions. In your next Hotwire upgrade, grey out the Timing bar if the "Sensored only" mode is checked. That would make immediate sense to everyone. The light would click on in everyone's mind. "Why is it greyed out? Oh yeah... it's using the mechanical motor timing.... I see."

I know you tried to make it look pretty while working properly with various monitor resolutions, but you did this at the expense of functionality. Motor Type: B-DL is not intuitive. I'd rather have the wording "Brushless Fwd/Rev with delay" instead of pretty graphics. You'll need to improve the owner's manual to describe all of your wonderful features. Or at least add a Help button to describe the items in detail.

Speaking of reverse delay. Currently, the delay only checks for neutral for 1 second. I'd love an option for the speedo to check to see if the car is actually stopped (or very slow). If so, then allow reverse. As it is right now, you could be coasting down the straightaway for a second, apply the brake, and reverse inadvertently kicks in instead!
I agree with everything you said except the part about greying out the timing bar in "sensored only" mode. The value in still being able to set this parameter comes into play if the sensor cable gets damaged or disconnected during use. Instead of stopping you like other ESCs, the RS just kicks over to sensorless mode so you can continue. You want to be ready for this by having an appropriate timing value set.
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 03:00 AM   #1418
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reenmachine View Post
I agree with everything you said except the part about greying out the timing bar in "sensored only" mode. The value in still being able to set this parameter comes into play if the sensor cable gets damaged or disconnected during use. Instead of stopping you like other ESCs, the RS just kicks over to sensorless mode so you can continue. You want to be ready for this by having an appropriate timing value set.
Agree completely here.
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 04:08 AM   #1419
sg1
Tech Elite
 
sg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,067
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad M View Post
I have a question about the Tekin 17.5 redlines, I currently have two of them and find that they will not run cool no matter what I gear at, they will come off at around 175 -180 degrees and they seem down on power out of the corners. We have several others running these motors at our club and they have lots of power, I have tried fixing it with hotwire and trying lots of different roll outs to no avail. any ideas.
Are you running 1/12, TC? With 1/12 with the Tekin 17.5 on a medium sized track I'll be geared almost 6 or 7 teeth lower then someone using a Duo motor. The power range and torque is at different "sweet spots". I finally got my CE dyno set-up to check brushless and I use the same parameters as what I used to check my brushed motors. The numbers are crazy looking at a brushless and brushed motor!! I can tell you the Tekin 17.5 when geared lower, for example, 3.55" roll out for others, 3.22" for Tekin, will give ALOT of grunt and come off at 140ish after an 8 minute run with minumum fade during the race. On a tight track (75 x 40) I was down to a 2.99" roll out. Hope this helps!
__________________
**Team Scream**Parma/PSE**TQ Wire**Roche**Pemberton**BSR**Graupner/GM**SXT**
sg1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 06:25 AM   #1420
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WailinOnYa View Post
Figured I'd chime in here for some info for some of you who may be having problems with setup using Futaba radios! I don't own a 3PK, I own an older 3PJ radio and when I first got the speedo I simply couldn't get the speedo through the setup process, it just would never complete it. The led indicator lights would show the radio to be out of adjustment, so I fidgetted with it forever changing adjustments on the radio to different percentages and in the end having no luck! Come to find out the servo reversing switch for throttle needed to be in reverse and not normal for this speedo, I found this out by using a different model memory for setup on this speedo, one that had a setup for an old Tekin G10 speedo which had the setting in reverse. and it worked the first time. Once I changed the servo reverse to reverse, it setup on the model I wanted on the first try! I can't say that this is the same issue that some or all of you are having but it is something worth trying if you can't seem to get it to setup. I literally spent hours trying to get this thing to work thinking there was something wrong with it only to find out it was one simple change that made all the difference! Hope this helps some of you out!
Had you asked on this forum or on tekin's forum we would have told you about the reverse thing.
TRF415boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 07:55 AM   #1421
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 301
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I just got it last week and didn't start getting it prepped till saturday night! I have read some of the posts in this thread but not all, so I just didn't see the mentioning of the reversing for the throttle. I did check on the Tekin site but only skimmed a few posts, looked to see if there was a troubleshooting section, but no go. So even if I posted for it I would have had it figured out before I got a reply, so all worked out well. Just took me the time to figure out what was throwing it off. You get pretty good at solving problems when you troubleshoot them for yourself. I love the size of this thing, looking forward to trying it out.
WailinOnYa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 08:16 AM   #1422
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 1,001
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default RS on www.rctvlive.com

Very impressed with the Tekin RS on www.rctvlive.com

Nice job Tekin!
Ginsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 08:58 AM   #1423
Team Tekin
 
TY@TEAMTEKIN's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tekin
Posts: 2,461
Default

Hey I'm on TV! LOL

Pretty cool when Bobby Unser came by, showed him how we get it done on the carpet track!
__________________
Ty Campbell
TEKIN / TLR / SOR GRAPHICS / MIP / PROTEK / KALGARD / AVID
TY@TEAMTEKIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 10:32 AM   #1424
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 171
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

My RS Pro is on the way from Nexus Racing with the Hot Wire. I sent my LRP down the road and kept the Speed Passion for a back-up.

My first outing with it will be the US Open Wheel Dirt Oval Championships with a spec 13.5 Losi (Hacker based?) motor.

Any recommendations for max power and speed? I estimate that blipping the throtte in the middle of the turns will be all that is needed. Mostly to the wood...full speed ahead.

Thanks
Stetler17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 11:10 AM   #1425
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

The version of Hotwire that the team is testing right now adds a different function to the timing bar all together. It's not going to be greyed out but will change when either sensored only or dual mode is checked off.

There are right click options that "open up" to a more descriptive window when making adjustments.

180 degrees is very warm for a 17.5 I'd try one of the posted setups on this thread to try. I wouldn't expect to get good performance out of a motor that warm towards the end of a run.

Can you post some more info? What car, track size, straight length, current gearing/roll out info.

I'm sure we'll get you sorted.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:30 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net