R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-22-2010, 01:24 AM   #14161
Tech Elite
 
old_skoolie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 3,154
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon View Post
Turn your radio down to 90% thriottle. Callibrate the ESC. Then turn the throttle up to 110%. (if your radio cant do 110%, use 80% then 100%)

There can be a full throttle "wander" and this stops you losing full throttle as for most racers the full throttle is when the trigger is jammed against the case. This moves full throttle away from the case

I would also think that the rpm range you set is very high . I would have thought starting around 5000 and going to say 13000 might have worked better. Racers can correct me if I am wrong
ARHHHH
thanks Greg,
I'll try the calibration, hope it's the problem, don't want to spend more money,
regarding theset up, this was given to me by the fastest guy at our club, I'm now the 2nd fastest!!!!
Steve
old_skoolie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 01:27 AM   #14162
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by old_skoolie View Post
ARHHHH
thanks Greg,
I'll try the calibration, hope it's the problem, don't want to spend more money,
regarding theset up, this was given to me by the fastest guy at our club, I'm now the 2nd fastest!!!!
Steve
Glad to help
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com ........... new website
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 03:30 PM   #14163
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 126
Default

Hello everybody,

Do you have a good starting point for a 4.5 ?

I'll try the speedo this weekend on a big track, but I need a good setup for a 4.5 motor.

Thanks for you answers
Manu_05' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 12:11 AM   #14164
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I use a KO Eurus radio and can say that the throttle calibration issue can be addressed with as little as a 5% variance. Most seem to be going with 10% as a safe margin. I do not know anyone using 20%.

Basically, on the Eurus, the max number for throttle is 150% so a KO sponsored driver said to start at 140% throttle, set the RS calibration, and then set the throttle to 150%. Works like a charm.

I have also tried the settings of 90%/100% and 100%/110% with no difference noted in lap times. Your choice!

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 01:31 AM   #14165
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manu_05' View Post
Hello everybody,

Do you have a good starting point for a 4.5 ?

I'll try the speedo this weekend on a big track, but I need a good setup for a 4.5 motor.

Thanks for you answers
Used with 4.0t motor and vegas 203 software for sensored motor
with touringcar(T3) on a large outdoor track
Punch level at 1
timing boost 14 or 16
turbo off
start rpm at 8500\end rpm between 20000/22000
Gives good speed and acceleration.
Assumed that you have the RS PRO esc?
eded1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 01:40 AM   #14166
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 126
Default

ThX for your answer!

Yes, I have an RS Pro.

You don't use the turbo with the modified motor ?
Manu_05' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 06:04 AM   #14167
Tech Initiate
 
msxmre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grangemouth, Bonny Scotland
Posts: 28
Default

What gear ratio were you running on that set up as i'm looking for advice on running 4.5t on a large track.
Thanks in advance.
Scotty...
__________________
Tamiya TRF 201, TRF 416,TEKIN RS PRO (the dogs) Novak Ballistic, LRP X12 Motors, Orion Motors and LIPO (they say it's the future mmmmm) www.falkirkrcc.co.uk/forums
msxmre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 06:46 AM   #14168
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manu_05' View Post
ThX for your answer!

Yes, I have an RS Pro.

You don't use the turbo with the modified motor ?
Why would you want turbo with a Mod?

The whole point of mod is the motor is unlimited. If you want more speed fit a faster motor.

Turbo is for Stock motors which are limited in windings.
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 06:47 AM   #14169
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manu_05' View Post
ThX for your answer!

Yes, I have an RS Pro.

You don't use the turbo with the modified motor ?
It is not usual to switch on the turbo because of overheating the ESC.

I aggree with SKIDDINS
eded1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 06:49 AM   #14170
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by msxmre View Post
What gear ratio were you running on that set up as i'm looking for advice on running 4.5t on a large track.
Thanks in advance.
Scotty...
1:6.9
eded1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 09:27 AM   #14171
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

You really shouldn't need turbo in mod, the guys are right.

If you're trying to do that it's like playing with fire. It can be done but you MUST be careful and know what you're doing.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 12:26 PM   #14172
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
Why would you want turbo with a Mod?

The whole point of mod is the motor is unlimited. If you want more speed fit a faster motor.

Turbo is for Stock motors which are limited in windings.
Accepting what Randy says above, why wouldn't I want Turbo with Mod?

If a Mod can rev out on the ratio you have, why wouldn't I add 5 deg turbo on a medium delay to get even more speed on the straight? That would give me options on ratio for tight sections of infield, yet still give me plenty of beans on the straight.

Tekin's piece of wonder-kit gives us all options. I could understand that it gets abused by some, but I don't understand why some options are dismissed because someone says they're not needed. Have those people tried it? We are racers, so we can never have too much power!

Put it this way, until someone did it and proved how good it was, what would you have said if I asked whether I should use turbo with 0.0 delay and then put the rev range up to bring in the timing? "No," I'm guessing! I've tried it, and it works in the right hands on the right track. Why wouldn't a little turbo help make your Mod killer-fast in the right circumstances?

We don't NEED it, but it would work. Just a thought...
SlowerOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 12:37 PM   #14173
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowerOne View Post
Accepting what Randy says above, why wouldn't I want Turbo with Mod?

If a Mod can rev out on the ratio you have, why wouldn't I add 5 deg turbo on a medium delay to get even more speed on the straight? That would give me options on ratio for tight sections of infield, yet still give me plenty of beans on the straight.

Tekin's piece of wonder-kit gives us all options. I could understand that it gets abused by some, but I don't understand why some options are dismissed because someone says they're not needed. Have those people tried it? We are racers, so we can never have too much power!

Put it this way, until someone did it and proved how good it was, what would you have said if I asked whether I should use turbo with 0.0 delay and then put the rev range up to bring in the timing? "No," I'm guessing! I've tried it, and it works in the right hands on the right track. Why wouldn't a little turbo help make your Mod killer-fast in the right circumstances?

We don't NEED it, but it would work. Just a thought...
so if pro's dont use turbo in mod, which they dont, and have great throttle control, hand eye co-ordination.........

THEN WHY THE HELL DO YOU NEED TURBO......IN MOD?

you have fantastic logic mate!
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 12:52 PM   #14174
Tech Champion
 
YR4Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,625
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
....
The whole point of mod is the motor is unlimited. If you want more speed fit a faster motor.

Turbo is for Stock motors which are limited in windings.
Your statement sums up the whole problem with electric racing today.

Really when using the new Tekin software on a 17.5, is it really stock anymore? Your statement kinda sounds like Turbo is for "cheating" in stock class.

Your other point about running faster motors in mod, again what is mod and what is stock? If I can run a 17.5 with a Tekin that is as fast as a 13.5 without, whats the difference? They're both mod except with different motors.

I'm not trying to argue the whole point of the Tekin vs. everthing else. Really the point is that there is no such thing as "STOCK" anymore.

If someone wants to run 5.5 or even 3.5 with Turbo, then go for it. See how long the car lasts before it blows up or impails itself with a barrier. There will be many other "physical" factors that will limit speed more so than just rules and regulations.
YR4Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 01:10 PM   #14175
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,103
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowerOne View Post
Accepting what Randy says above, why wouldn't I want Turbo with Mod?

If a Mod can rev out on the ratio you have, why wouldn't I add 5 deg turbo on a medium delay to get even more speed on the straight? That would give me options on ratio for tight sections of infield, yet still give me plenty of beans on the straight.

Tekin's piece of wonder-kit gives us all options. I could understand that it gets abused by some, but I don't understand why some options are dismissed because someone says they're not needed. Have those people tried it? We are racers, so we can never have too much power!

Put it this way, until someone did it and proved how good it was, what would you have said if I asked whether I should use turbo with 0.0 delay and then put the rev range up to bring in the timing? "No," I'm guessing! I've tried it, and it works in the right hands on the right track. Why wouldn't a little turbo help make your Mod killer-fast in the right circumstances?

We don't NEED it, but it would work. Just a thought...
Nothing prohibiting turbo in mod, but the reason that boost is suggested over turbo is because mod motors are much more sensative to extra timing. The best way to apply turbo is like you said; longer delay and time it for the straight if you need it. However, even with the smoothest ramp the power will come in rather abruptly upsetting the chassis which is the last thing you want to do in mod. Boost can be controlled much better and you are guaranteed not to add too much timing too quickly if for some reason you grab full throttle much earlier than normal going on the straight or come onto the straight slower (after a crash) and aren't going fast enough when the turbo kicks in. Basically the whole argument against turbo in mod is lack of smoothness (upsetting the chassis) and increased chance for being overtimed (blows motors much faster in low turn motors than stock winds).
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:18 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net