R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-17-2010, 03:09 AM   #14056
Tech Regular
 
Uziman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Burton SA
Posts: 298
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Ok, found the problem... dead sensor board on my brand new Duo2
__________________
Corally RDXΦ'09 ★ Airtronics/Spektrum ★ Tekin ★ Fantom
-------------------------------------------------------
★ www.aerccc.org.au ★
-------------------------------------------------------
Uziman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 03:40 AM   #14057
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sydney (somewhere on the Australian coast..)
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uziman View Post
Ok, found the problem... dead sensor board on my brand new Duo2
How can you determine that?
My RS is connected to a Novak SS Pro 13.5, and all symptons are the same when I disonnect the sensor cable from the ESC.
How can I check the receiver board without a working ESC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2wdrive View Post
So with everyone having dimm lights it is just that you put the esc plug wrong and you have to plug it the right way in your receiver!!
Doesnt make much sense in my situation, as
1. the ESC used to come up properly with just the battery connected
2. it cant connect to the receiver when connected to the HotWire
3. reversing the plug wouldnt work without modifying the ESC plug or the receiver socket. There is this little lug..
DrBen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 04:12 AM   #14058
Tech Elite
 
Pattojnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 4,594
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

problems i have had, and have helped others with, are........
bad wire in plug to reciever.
bad software update
and wrong motor choice.

to check wires, get a sharp blade, lift up the tag on the connector to allow you to remove the plug. check all wires.

keep trying to connect the hotwire, restart windows if need be, and just keep trying.

if you ucan disconnect your motor, do so, this does help if settings have changed.

wrong motor choice has made the ESC not chime, not calibrate, and simply not function.

so these are some choices to look into your problems.
__________________
Serpent - Walter RC
Serpent E Power ..... Serpent 747 Reds M3T
Serpent 966-TE Reds M7T .... S411ERYX Speedpassion 3.5T, T-Shox
Serpent 811-TE REDs R5T
Pattojnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 04:36 AM   #14059
Tech Master
 
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738
Default

Hi Guys
Can someone help with a problem I had with my NEW RS Tekin last night. I ran it for the first time. I ran it in practice and it stopped working.
I hooked it up on the laptop, and the setting had change from sensored to dual mode, so I re-set it back to sensored, but when turning the esc back on, lights 1, 2, 6, n 7, were flashing? I re-set the handset to the esc, but still no joy. I've also tried a factory re-set but still no joy. Can someone please enlighten me.
Cheers Malc
__________________
ARC 2013 model ZEN Racing, MM-UK, HW 3.1, Rich Paints, MM UK Rug Racers win13.5 2007/8
2nd in 2008/9/10 Win Ansman GP 2010 Schumacher GP. 17.5 blinky Winner of STCC 2009/10 13.5 WLRC 2010 Summer series. Winner of EWS Winter. 17.5 Blinky Winner of 2012/13/14 Rug Racers. 17.5 Blinky 2013 WLRC summer series. Newbury RCC GP 2014 17.5 Blinky 2015 3rd in 17.5 Rug Racers
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 04:49 AM   #14060
Tech Addict
 
sell682's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 718
Trader Rating: 81 (99%+)
Default

Im looking for some advice on settings for a 12x LRP 17.5 motor for a 51'x26' road course.

Im running a TC xray t2 009.

Also what does turbo boost do?
sell682 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 04:57 AM   #14061
Tech Regular
 
Uziman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Burton SA
Posts: 298
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBen View Post
How can you determine that?
My RS is connected to a Novak SS Pro 13.5, and all symptons are the same when I disonnect the sensor cable from the ESC.
How can I check the receiver board without a working ESC?



Doesnt make much sense in my situation, as
1. the ESC used to come up properly with just the battery connected
2. it cant connect to the receiver when connected to the HotWire
3. reversing the plug wouldnt work without modifying the ESC plug or the receiver socket. There is this little lug..
Well in my situation, when i unplugged the sensor lead the ESC powered up normally. No dim lights
__________________
Corally RDXΦ'09 ★ Airtronics/Spektrum ★ Tekin ★ Fantom
-------------------------------------------------------
★ www.aerccc.org.au ★
-------------------------------------------------------
Uziman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 05:24 AM   #14062
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCoolCanFanMan View Post
Hi Guys
Can someone help with a problem I had with my NEW RS Tekin last night. I ran it for the first time. I ran it in practice and it stopped working.
I hooked it up on the laptop, and the setting had change from sensored to dual mode, so I re-set it back to sensored, but when turning the esc back on, lights 1, 2, 6, n 7, were flashing? I re-set the handset to the esc, but still no joy. I've also tried a factory re-set but still no joy. Can someone please enlighten me.
Cheers Malc
Can't remember if this was the problem some people were having, where reprogramming back v183 etc, then programme it again with 203 solved it.

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 06:24 AM   #14063
Tech Master
 
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
Can't remember if this was the problem some people were having, where reprogramming back v183 etc, then programme it again with 203 solved it.

Skiddins
Thanks Damo will try that later and repirt back
Cheers Malc
__________________
ARC 2013 model ZEN Racing, MM-UK, HW 3.1, Rich Paints, MM UK Rug Racers win13.5 2007/8
2nd in 2008/9/10 Win Ansman GP 2010 Schumacher GP. 17.5 blinky Winner of STCC 2009/10 13.5 WLRC 2010 Summer series. Winner of EWS Winter. 17.5 Blinky Winner of 2012/13/14 Rug Racers. 17.5 Blinky 2013 WLRC summer series. Newbury RCC GP 2014 17.5 Blinky 2015 3rd in 17.5 Rug Racers
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 07:58 AM   #14064
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCoolCanFanMan View Post
Hi Guys
Can someone help with a problem I had with my NEW RS Tekin last night. I ran it for the first time. I ran it in practice and it stopped working.
I hooked it up on the laptop, and the setting had change from sensored to dual mode, so I re-set it back to sensored, but when turning the esc back on, lights 1, 2, 6, n 7, were flashing? I re-set the handset to the esc, but still no joy. I've also tried a factory re-set but still no joy. Can someone please enlighten me.
Cheers Malc
1,2,6,7 is "wrong motor type". Did you check to see if when it reverted to dual mode it also reverted to brushed?

Unfortunately, I have also seen 1,2,6,7 when the ESC had been hooked up to power backwards and was damaged.
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 08:00 AM   #14065
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBen View Post
Hi fellas,

I got back into the hobby after 15 years, and thought Id try an SC10 with Tekin RS.

My issue: updating the ESC firmware seems to have killed the ESC.
That is what I did:

1. Installed HotWire 4.0.0
2. tried to update to 203 – didn’t work. After going through a couple of steps, it still showed 180.
3. updated to version 200 – worked
4. update to 203 – worked
5. Changed some setting, apply:
“Press OK to write setting.” ->OK.
“Go to website to install new software.” What?? Whatever.. ->OK
6. Switch off ESC, disconnect, shut down Hotwire program
7. Start ESC, connect HotWire interface, connect to USB, start Hotwire
Result: Old settings still there.
8. Install again 200. – Looks like its doing its thing again..
BUT: now the ESC doesn’t do anything anymore.
Connect to the PC: not detected, no LEDs
Connect to battery: no LED, nothing.
--Edit: I just noticed, when connecting the ESC to the battery and switching it on, or connecting it all the way to the PC, all LEDs light up permanently, but VERY dim, hard to see. I have to cover the LEDs with my hand to see the slight difference between on and off.

I did NOT disconnect or switch anything during the installation.
I did NOT connect the battery in reverse..
I did connect a 2S Lipo, showing about 8.2V

Ive written an email to Tekin Support, but they seem to be busy.
I waited 6 weeks until this stuff was delivered, and now its weekend, I didnt plan anything the whole weekend but chasing the car around..

Id really appreciate any input or ideas whats giong on here.


Thanks,
Ben
I don't know if it would hurt anything or not, but when using the Hotwire you do not hook up the battery and switch the ESC on. The ESC gets the power it needs via the USB connection.
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 08:39 AM   #14066
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCoolCanFanMan View Post
Hi Guys
Can someone help with a problem I had with my NEW RS Tekin last night. I ran it for the first time. I ran it in practice and it stopped working.
I hooked it up on the laptop, and the setting had change from sensored to dual mode, so I re-set it back to sensored, but when turning the esc back on, lights 1, 2, 6, n 7, were flashing? I re-set the handset to the esc, but still no joy. I've also tried a factory re-set but still no joy. Can someone please enlighten me.
Cheers Malc
Before your ESC stopped working, did it stutter first then stopped? If it did, you cap most likely came off while you were running and not notice it, and kept the the car running with the cap off, which is bad. You will have to send it in for service.
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 08:52 AM   #14067
Tech Master
 
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reenmachine View Post
1,2,6,7 is "wrong motor type". Did you check to see if when it reverted to dual mode it also reverted to brushed?

Unfortunately, I have also seen 1,2,6,7 when the ESC had been hooked up to power backwards and was damaged.
Well I certainly didn't hook it up backwards, as it was in the car when it happened. It shows BL---FW atm. I also tried a new sensor lead then another motor, still no joy, there's no chimes either.
Cheers Malc
__________________
ARC 2013 model ZEN Racing, MM-UK, HW 3.1, Rich Paints, MM UK Rug Racers win13.5 2007/8
2nd in 2008/9/10 Win Ansman GP 2010 Schumacher GP. 17.5 blinky Winner of STCC 2009/10 13.5 WLRC 2010 Summer series. Winner of EWS Winter. 17.5 Blinky Winner of 2012/13/14 Rug Racers. 17.5 Blinky 2013 WLRC summer series. Newbury RCC GP 2014 17.5 Blinky 2015 3rd in 17.5 Rug Racers
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 09:26 AM   #14068
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sell682 View Post
Im looking for some advice on settings for a 12x LRP 17.5 motor for a 51'x26' road course.

Im running a TC xray t2 009.

Also what does turbo boost do?
HotWire Vegas tips from team manager, Randy Pike
http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire.html#
http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire/ESCsetups/index.html
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 10:34 AM   #14069
Tech Fanatic
 
jammincrtjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: GA
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Looking for 13.5 settings

Im looking for a fast setting for 13.5 with duo 1. Large track asphalt. 120 foot straight flowing track.

Any body got anything? Starting FDR?
__________________
NEXUS RACING www.nexusracing.com | FANTOM RACING www.fantomracing.com
ORCA www.orcarc.com | TURTLE TRAX / www.turtletraxraceway.com
--------------------------------------------------
"If you're not first...you're last!"
jammincrtjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 11:50 AM   #14070
Tech Elite
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,609
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Default

Do you have to recalibrate your radio with the speedcontrol each time you make setting changes through the hotwire?? Any input would be great!!
__________________
Pete Potoczak

Home entertainment specialist
Secure Technologies/ www.stiworldwide.com
Potoczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:42 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net