R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-13-2010, 01:40 AM   #13951
Tech Initiate
 
FLATMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 26
Default

Hi

I have a problem with my hot wire,when i plug the speedo into the hot wire the hotwire does not pick the speedo up and 3 red leds are flasing and on sunday it worked fine.

I tride my second speedo and it work fine.

please help?
FLATMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 01:41 AM   #13952
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 53
Default

Thanks Skiddins and Gameover.

Will Test on the weekend and hopefully not revving out so much will also help with the brakes.

Jamie
JamieV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 03:16 AM   #13953
Tech Initiate
 
FLATMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 26
Default

Here is my 17.5T set up running a team wave motor.

drage brake: 36
revers strength: off
brake strength: 70
nutral width: 16
throttel profile: 3
push controle: off
timing boost: 45 or 40
turbo boost: 13

turbo delay: 0.1 or 0.0
turbo ramp: 2.0 or 3.0
end rpm 14009
start rpm 1649

I have a 13.5 as wel, but have a problem with the hot wire does not pick the speedo up ?? 3 leds flashing??
FLATMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 04:05 AM   #13954
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

that does happen every once in a while.

just unplug from the usb to comp and replug again.
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 04:23 AM   #13955
Tech Initiate
 
FLATMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain stacker View Post
that does happen every once in a while.

just unplug from the usb to comp and replug again.
Thanks bud!

I have unplug it but then no leds flashes??
FLATMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 04:34 AM   #13956
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLATMAN View Post
Thanks bud!

I have unplug it but then no leds flashes??
yeh I would gather that

plug it back in now
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 04:35 AM   #13957
Tech Addict
 
bigz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: QC/Las Pinas
Posts: 502
Default

the esc of a friend suddenly bogged down after two packs and led 1&2 and 6&7 just keeps on flashing when he turns it on. changed everything, motor, sensor wire ,re installed the software and re calibrated the radio but still the same error. anybody know to troubleshoot this? tia.
__________________
Hot Bodies - Nosram - Tekin - Speed Passion - Futaba - Sorex - RIDE

Last edited by bigz; 04-13-2010 at 06:35 AM.
bigz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 04:59 AM   #13958
Tech Initiate
 
FLATMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain stacker View Post
yeh I would gather that

plug it back in now
AGGGGGG! sorry bud what i mean is that when i DO plug it back in then no LEDS are flashing?
FLATMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 08:54 AM   #13959
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamieV View Post
Hi guys - Thanks for your help.

If I go to the standard timing on the motor this is even more timing - Is this definitely what you mean? I understand about lowering the boost to 40

Basically the main advice is to reduce the timing by lowering the boost and gear from 7.75 to say 6.75?

Moving the Start RPM to say 10,000 will give more punch before the Boost kicks in ?

So have I understood your advice correctly?

Thanks
Jamie
I read a blog from a guy that makes electronic carts on a university. they equiped their cart with some kind of brushless motor and the guy that designed to motor also made a 1:10 kit for his remote car. He basicly sais that the timing advance of the motor itself shifts when revved up. this means that when for instance revving to 30K the field rotates like 30degrees. if you then want to obtain maximum torque you would need to apply timing like the Tekin ESC does. so the timing advance of 80 degree is not that strange at all i think. however he states that applying too much timing will directly lead to extra heat. so what we want to do is look for the right amount of timing per RPM.
for me it became better to use a slightly heavier gearing to get the motor in its power range. like when on topspeed you can just begin to hear it screaming. when i got a higher gearing like to 7.5, the motor would scream already on the half of the bak straight and the middles sections were less punchy. so with this gearing i looked for maximum punch in the infield and a seamles lineair acceleration. when using a narrow RPM range i found that the motor dips on about 1/3th of the speed, it just stops accelerating untill the turbo kicks in. increasing the end RPM covers this gap. start RPM i havent played with yet. however motor timing does seem to give speed everywhere. when adding 5degrees of motor timing you get more start punch, more infield punch and a higher topspeed, however extra heat. i put it on 15 because 20 would make the motor heat up to 90C, while 15 lets the motor heat up 75C. maybe if i played more with the start and end RPM i would get a punchier infield and still lineair acceleration.

Mark
Markiempje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 08:59 AM   #13960
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLATMAN View Post
Hi

I have a problem with my hot wire,when i plug the speedo into the hot wire the hotwire does not pick the speedo up and 3 red leds are flasing and on sunday it worked fine.

I tride my second speedo and it work fine.

please help?
same problem i found. some kind of bug or are we doing things wrong?

when i want to setup my ESC i just pull out the connector on my receiver when the car is still turned on. sometimes when i connect to hotwire all leds start flashing, when plugged in again it most of the times works just fine. sometimes i have to try 3 times. very strange.
i also experienced 2 very nasty things when setupping. when car is on i pulled the connector out the receiver and then the motor would rev to full throttle!! i quickly had to switch it of otherwise i would have blown a rotor or tires. from then on i always switch tha car of. however i still get the flashing lights when connecting to hotwire.
anybody some tips?
Markiempje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 09:02 AM   #13961
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigz View Post
the esc of a friend suddenly bogged down after two packs and led 1&2 and 6&7 just keeps on flashing when he turns it on. changed everything, motor, sensor wire ,re installed the software and re calibrated the radio but still the same error. anybody know to troubleshoot this? tia.
It will need to be sent in for service.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 09:15 AM   #13962
Tech Addict
 
bigz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: QC/Las Pinas
Posts: 502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
It will need to be sent in for service.
thanks randy.
__________________
Hot Bodies - Nosram - Tekin - Speed Passion - Futaba - Sorex - RIDE
bigz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 09:20 AM   #13963
Tech Elite
 
Pattojnr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Perth Australia
Posts: 4,594
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLATMAN View Post
AGGGGGG! sorry bud what i mean is that when i DO plug it back in then no LEDS are flashing?
i just had this happen tonight as well. was broken red wire in plug at the connector to reciever. i cut the wires and soldered a new servo lead , now hotwire is working again.
__________________
Serpent - Walter RC
Serpent E Power ..... Serpent 747 Reds M3T
Serpent 966-TE Reds M7T .... S411ERYX Speedpassion 3.5T, T-Shox
Serpent 811-TE REDs R5T
Pattojnr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 01:36 PM   #13964
Tech Elite
 
BigDogRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,955
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to BigDogRacing
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HoboShop View Post
This hobby is just another fun thing for Me to blow some of my play money on!!!! You comments are funny my comments were not for all electric racers just some of them they no who they are. To much complaining about the speeds of today's esc shut-up and race
Funny that you can post twice after I gave you all the info you needed, but the only thing you can post is smart azz bashing on other racers.

I spent hours of testing to come up with what is a great setup for the x12 on most tracks and layouts and you can't so much as throw a quick "thanks" out there.

Good luck on your racing....
BigDogRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 01:53 PM   #13965
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hey Tekin boffins

whats with the Tekin redline motor ??

i have been using my GM 13.5 motor and geaing of 5.7:1 with my Tekin RS with good results

want to try my newer Redline motor and to get the same results as the GM i need geaing of 7.1:1 or their abouts

and the speedo needs a totally differant set up

the track is FAST and flowing with a 70m straight

any set up advice for more speed ??
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:06 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net