R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-29-2010, 04:45 PM   #13666
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 275
Default

fred b- lol im not racing this. im just trying to see what kind of lap times i can get with it. i have a data logger i will throw on and play with the current limiter.

i am trying to see if i can get lap times close to a 1/8th nitro. it must be possible. supposedly on this track 16-17 seconds is a fast lap. with my crap driving and crappy old 4cell nimh, i am doing about 22 but my driving is easily costing me 2 seconds. there is no 1/12th racing around here right now so i just want to play with all the gadgets i have
benben10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 05:18 PM   #13667
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
I...
Any help with my issue, Randy? Or do I need to call Tekin?
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 05:29 PM   #13668
Tech Master
 
CCristo's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Millbury, MA
Posts: 1,439
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Cpt.America,

The RPM range changing back to defaults is a known issue. Jim even confirmed it here a few pages back. I've had it where it would do exactly as you stated. Everything would take except the RPM ranges. Try checking the dual mode check box, hit apply, and then set it back to sensored and reset the RPM ranges.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post
Scratch that, I just saw it on my desk. When we do not like what we are reading we fall back to defaults. We are on it.

We needed a 4.1 Hotwire to clean up some other things anyway including the netbook interface.

You know we are working on 204 and listening to feedback right now as well
__________________
Chris Cristo

Pro-Line RacingHobbywingMIPBOOMrcFutabaPT RC Racing Oils
CCristo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 05:33 PM   #13669
Tech Elite
 
Goingfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,454
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Big Race in Kelowna

Hi Randy
Last week we talked about 12th scale 4 cell batteries setup with the 203 software...
Got good news , TQ and won the Amain awesome weekend...
.
Thanks to you....Franko
__________________
Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.

AE 12R5.1,Tekin RS PRO
17.5 super stock T.O.P PHOTON , TAMIYA M05 Mini
CEFX.. High Velocity Racing Motor

Last edited by Goingfast; 03-29-2010 at 07:56 PM.
Goingfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 05:56 PM   #13670
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 237
Default

is there a way to make the boost end RPM higher than 32xxx or is that a hardware limitation? This would be useful for 13.5 & 10.5t.

a couple of other useful features (i think) would be:

- "Turbo Minimum RPM" for enabling turbo only above this RPM, this would help on tracks where it is hard to set the turbo delay due to track layout. What i mean by this is have everything as per existing but do not enable turbo until RPM condition is met ie. you start the delay at full throttle as per existing but turbo is not finally enabled until RPM is above this.

- "Ignore Turbo Delay RPM" above this RPM turbo delay is ignored and turbo engages immediately at full throttle, this would help on straights where you have the turbo delay set at something like 0.5 then have a momentary lift off throttle but want turbo to activate immediately again (not wait 0.5s).

Maybe these are the same value and you have a checkbox to enable the Ignore Turbo Delay above Minimum RPM. Anyway, hopefully i got the idea across
gameover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 06:23 PM   #13671
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CCristo View Post
Cpt.America,

The RPM range changing back to defaults is a known issue. Jim even confirmed it here a few pages back. I've had it where it would do exactly as you stated. Everything would take except the RPM ranges. Try checking the dual mode check box, hit apply, and then set it back to sensored and reset the RPM ranges.
i guess we need clarification. the rpm range that was posted is not the "default" rpm range of the speedo. and so far the only times I have heard of this problem, it would set the rpm range to default. not some random range. i have never had this happen to me directly.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 06:25 PM   #13672
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benben10 View Post
any idea what kind of current to expect on a 2.5 on 2s lipo in a 1/12 pan car? i have a maxamps 2s 20c 3100 lipo that supposedly can handle about 100 amps surge/burst and was wondering if i went small enough in pinion if it would handle it.
i can tell you that in 13.5 1s we are averaging about 28 amps. if that helps at all. also in an 8min run, we are using 3900mah.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 07:44 PM   #13673
Tech Champion
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,697
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Slotmachine
Default

I would like to thank Tekin for making a fine product. It helped me to win the R.O.A.R. carpet Nats. in VTA this weekend. With the 203 software I was able to gear at 7.51 FDR with a 95 foot straight, tons of power.
__________________
HOBBYWING NORTH AMERICA /FALCON SEKIDO/ TEKNO RC TEAM/VBC Racing America/VP-PRO RACING TIRES/2010 R.O.A.R. VTA National Champion Driving a T2R PRO/NANO-TECH Batteries Paul Rush
Slotmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 07:53 PM   #13674
Tech Elite
 
TonyWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Waldorf, MD
Posts: 2,875
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default What class is VTA

Was that at Mimi's
__________________
WALDORFRC.com
301-932-9193
Team Associated / AKA / Byrons Fuel / Futaba
TonyWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 04:01 AM   #13675
Tech Initiate
 
FLATMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 26
Default SOME SETUP HELP?

HOWZIT

I have a top racing photon and running a tekin RSPro 17.5 and 13.5 on a asphalt outdoor track with +/- 45m staight and fairly flowing and technical.

I have a pic but can not upload it???
just want a good starting point for the esc?
FLATMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 04:50 AM   #13676
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLATMAN View Post
HOWZIT

I have a top racing photon and running a tekin RSPro 17.5 and 13.5 on a asphalt outdoor track with +/- 45m staight and fairly flowing and technical.

I have a pic but can not upload it???
just want a good starting point for the esc?
Hey there, one question are you from South Africa ?

I run this setup in 13.5 on a track with a straight that's just slightly shorter than that.

Motor Timing : 0
Throttle Profile : 3
Timing Boost : 52
Turbo Boost : 13
Turbo Delay : 0.0
Turbo Ramp : 2.0
Start RPM : 5500ish
End RPM : 19500ish
Rollout : 25.32
Motor Temp : between 68c and 76c. Max Ambient Temp was 32c and Max Track temp was 49c
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 05:32 AM   #13677
Tech Initiate
 
FLATMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 26
Default

YES IAM FROM SOUTH AFRICA.

THANKS FOR THE HELP.
I HAVE A PIC OF THE TRACK BUT CAN NOT LOAD IT ON HEER THINK IT IS TO BIG!! IF U CAN SEND ME YOUR E-MAIL I CAN SEND THE PIC TO U SO U CAN HAVE A LOOK AT IT?? UP TO U
FLATMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 05:43 AM   #13678
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Yip I thought so, we're pretty much the only bunch that say Howzit

What track is it ? I may have been there before.
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 05:58 AM   #13679
Tech Initiate
 
FLATMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 26
Default

WELL SPOTED MAN!!!

THE TRACK IS IN WELKOM!!
FLATMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 06:03 AM   #13680
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Hehehe.

Yip ran there a few times, not with 203 though. My 13.5 is still pulling hard at the end of our straight on 25mm rollout . So maybe start there and you may have to go up one tooth for Welkom.
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net