R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-03-2008, 07:44 PM   #1336
Tech Regular
 
Blue Screw's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 356
Send a message via AIM to Blue Screw
Default

Tom lane...
i posted my setup from the rspro a page or two back for the small track ur refering to but i used the losi 17.5.. its very good.. fastest carthere ask scooby and ivey..if u need more help at the track come on over ill be glad to hooker up for ya!
__________________
Angelo DAlessandro
AE~REEDY~LRP~JCONCEPTS~NOVAROSSI~HUDY~IRS~KALGUARD ~ABSOULUTE HOBBYZ~GRAVITY-RC~TnT CUSTOM GRAPHICS
NITRO ONROAD
XRAY~RCAMERICA~HUDY~SRC~MURNAN MODS
Blue Screw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 11:19 PM   #1337
Tech Addict
 
Adam?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ohhh, that guy...
Posts: 639
Default

If you look carefully at the LED's on your ESC (try it first with a motor you know is good) while you're applying throttle, you can see a very faint strobing across three of the LED's. This is actually showing you that the ESC received a signal from the sensors in the motor. In hybrid mode, you can see where it uses the sensors at low RPM, and then disengages them as the RPM's increase. In sensored only mode, you can see them strobe through the entire throttle band.

Now, check out one of your "bad" motors and see what they do. If there's no strobing, or erratic strobing, you're probably right about the sensors being bad, and the RS is basically running the motor sensorless. It's a pretty fantastic feature that it'll continue to drive the motors even if the sensors aren't detected.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyl03 View Post
is this thing for real?
first the small size .. then the hotwire trickery .. the ease of updating settings & profiles .. whew

the 1st thing i did with the RSPro was to test & "resurrect" 2x motors that were hitherto dead.

1. as mentioned, we were testing 2x sensored BL motors that could not be run on GTB & sphere (stutter, cog then stopped).
but they run as good as new on the RSPro - with or without the sensor cable.
i suspect the sensor pcb on the motors are gone. if so, how does the RSPro get any "feedback" from the motor?
Or it doesn't require any feedback?

2. it seems that the stock timing for a SP17.5 is 12.
is there going to be any significant difference if changed to 100?
(that seems to be the recommended setting for most 17.5s anyway). currently at 6.3 FDR. bigger pinions won't fit.
this is on a 2wd buggy.

cheers.
Adam? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 09:23 AM   #1338
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

Glad to see you guys picking up on the sensor checker. You can also turn the motor or spur gear slowly with your fingers and see the sensors slowly. You should see 1 led, then 2 leds, then 1 led in a pattern across the 3. A bad sensor can be just out, or make an odd pattern as it turns. If we see a bad sensor we automatically go to sensorless mode. If we are not sitting on the bad sensor when we start you will still get a decent launch and you may not even notice a difference.
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 04:03 PM   #1339
Tech Regular
 
Giorgio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 305
Default

I got an invitation to a 10.5 class carpet race.
Never used such motor (I'm normally on 4.5)
Motor will be at 99% a LRP 10.5 one (borrowed from a friend).
Can someone give me a setup of my Tekin RS PRO?
Lipo trakpower 4900.

Thanks in advance!
Giorgio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 04:41 PM   #1340
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Giorgio View Post
I got an invitation to a 10.5 class carpet race.
Never used such motor (I'm normally on 4.5)
Motor will be at 99% a LRP 10.5 one (borrowed from a friend).
Can someone give me a setup of my Tekin RS PRO?
Lipo trakpower 4900.

Thanks in advance!
Run it in sensored only mode and turn the timing on the motor to the max.
TRF415boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 07:34 PM   #1341
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Are you sure a 10.5 is going to like the timing set to the max?

If you are running hybrid mode the timing seems to be best around 85 or 90.
Its a good idea to set it to that anyway if you are in sensored mode, as the esc is meant to kick into sensorless mode if the sensor cable fails.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 08:01 PM   #1342
Tech Master
 
bigemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: hamilton, oh
Posts: 1,750
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to bigemike
Default

can you advance the timing beyond what you can do with the ring on the motor with this speedo? and if you can will it do it with the sensor wire working? And if you run sensored motors without the wire will the higher stuff like 17.5 cog?

trying to understand some of this new technology
bigemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 10:49 PM   #1343
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,202
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Giorgio View Post
I got an invitation to a 10.5 class carpet race.
Never used such motor (I'm normally on 4.5)
Motor will be at 99% a LRP 10.5 one (borrowed from a friend).
Can someone give me a setup of my Tekin RS PRO?
Lipo trakpower 4900.

Thanks in advance!
hybrid mode
throttle = 5
timing = 90
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 11:50 PM   #1344
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

In Hybrid mode the esc on startup (and i think very very slow speed, i think its like crawling pace) the esc uses sensored mode. In this situation the timing on the motor is used.

Once the car is going the esc uses sensorless operation in which case the timing is handled by the esc and it doesnt matter what timing is set on the motor.

In hybrid mode you would set the timing on the motor if you are looking for maximum start power off the grid (which may not be so necessary for say a 10.5 as you may start to just get wheel spin).


If the esc is in purely sensored mode the RS will use the timing as set on the motor. But the Tekin guys say its a good idea to still set the timing on the esc to an appropriate level as if the sensor cable fails the esc will kick into sensorless mode.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 02:52 AM   #1345
Tech Regular
 
Giorgio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
hybrid mode
throttle = 5
timing = 90
To run it in hybrid mode I need the Hotwire?
Giorgio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 03:03 AM   #1346
Tech Master
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,721
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I changed my RS Pro to sensorless only, now I have brakes. I wish that information was in the instruction manual.
dontfeelcold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 03:05 AM   #1347
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Giorgio View Post
To run it in hybrid mode I need the Hotwire?
It should be hybrid by default, however, unless you have a hotwire to configure the esc by default it will be race slow and there is pretty much nothing you can do. The esc's default timing is suitable for the ultra-fast mod motors but useless for the spec motor classes (but even then i suspect it is too low, although it is probably fine for off-road which i dont race).
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 06:30 AM   #1348
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
Are you sure a 10.5 is going to like the timing set to the max?

If you are running hybrid mode the timing seems to be best around 85 or 90.
Its a good idea to set it to that anyway if you are in sensored mode, as the esc is meant to kick into sensorless mode if the sensor cable fails.
yes that's how i was told to run it and how i run it.
TRF415boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 06:32 AM   #1349
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigemike View Post
can you advance the timing beyond what you can do with the ring on the motor with this speedo? and if you can will it do it with the sensor wire working? And if you run sensored motors without the wire will the higher stuff like 17.5 cog?

trying to understand some of this new technology
Motor timing goes higher than sensorless/hybrid mode timing hence why the 10.5+ turn motors are being used in sensored only.
TRF415boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 10:32 AM   #1350
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,172
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

13.5T motor what gear ratio ? ?
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:36 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net