R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2010, 02:57 PM   #13336
Tech Elite
 
wstuart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,001
Trader Rating: 112 (98%+)
Send a message via AIM to wstuart
Default

what does it take to update to the 203 software? Can my friend with a hotwire update mine for me or do i have to send it in?
__________________
Yokomo Yz-2 x2
Yokomo B-max4iii
Awesomatix a700 evo
Team El Cajon Hobbies
wstuart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 02:59 PM   #13337
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,103
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wstuart View Post
what does it take to update to the 203 software? Can my friend with a hotwire update mine for me or do i have to send it in?
You just need a windows computer and the hotwire. Doesn't matter who's it is as anyone can do it for you once they have the latest software on their comp.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 03:09 PM   #13338
Tech Elite
 
Dadaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 2,077
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

I would like to thank Tekin for their quick service. Fantastic to see a new speedy to replace my old one that gave up the ghost. Good to see a company back up a fantastic product with fantastic service.

Adam Beniston.
__________________
Xray XB4 '16
Yokomo Dogfighter YZ-10 870c
Xray T4 '14
Dadaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 12:44 AM   #13339
Tech Elite
 
Yokomo_Ant3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,405
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by niznai View Post
Great work, congratulations to whomever did it. I used to race at the track there. Still have the old YR4 with its battlescars. I guess it's about as big as the old track?
Yea its the same size. re-painted surface and new layout Lap times are around 21.8 seconds...in mod, 22.6 for 10.5, and 22.8 for stock (Fastest laps). On the layout Benzaah has showed in the picture. Running Anti-clockwise.


On another note tried my Tekin with 10.5 last night. Seems fast, ill see this weekend at the event im travelling too. hope it all goes well

Antoni
__________________
Antoni Caretti

Team Yokomo - Racing Performer - Sweep Racing
Yokomo_Ant3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 09:14 AM   #13340
Tech Apprentice
 
Jorge G's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Fairfax VA
Posts: 85
Default Cartpet on Road Nationals

Is there a Tekin sponsored driver attending the Carpet on Road Nationals next week at MD?
__________________
TC6
XRAY NT1/ Novarossi 353 Race Engine
F1 F104 Pro V2
Jorge G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 10:46 AM   #13341
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,106
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Solara Send a message via AIM to Solara
Default

Anyone can share a good indoor carpet (35x90) rubber TC setup for TEKIN RS V203 with (1) Tekin Redline 17.5 and (2) Novak 13.5 SS? Thanks...
Solara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 11:51 AM   #13342
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have an iPhone and I try to download the driver setup sheets off the Tekin website but they come up blank? Anyone have a way to get them to show the settings? Thanks for any help. Love this speedo.
HIGHTYMES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 12:07 PM   #13343
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

just been training outside for the first time this year ,

all i can say is WOW !!!!!

straight line speed is AWSOME and the punch out of the corners is great

fantastic speedo , keeps amazing me
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 04:36 PM   #13344
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
just been training outside for the first time this year ,

all i can say is WOW !!!!!

straight line speed is AWSOME and the punch out of the corners is great

fantastic speedo , keeps amazing me
What was your setup and motor temp?

I go Sunday finally on the outdoor track.
I can't wait.
As I don't have my 13,5 in this week, than it will be the 10,5T motor.
It will be overkill on the track but I also want to see how it goes.

I think that some drivers will be afraid as they see the power.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 07:08 PM   #13345
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Covina, CA
Posts: 48
Send a message via Yahoo to Mr. Paroxysmal
Default Tekin RS solder post

Is it possible to remove the solder post on the Tekin speedo and solder the wire directly to the solder pad? The reason I ask is because there are couple of time on my local tract the that wire got de-solder and burn the speedo. Need responce.
Mr. Paroxysmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 07:14 PM   #13346
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Paroxysmal View Post
Is it possible to remove the solder post on the Tekin speedo and solder the wire directly to the solder pad? The reason I ask is because there are couple of time on my local tract the that wire got de-solder and burn the speedo. Need responce.
Doubtful. Now that almost all manufacturers are ROHS certified (basically, using lead free processes/materials), the solder used melts at higher temperatures. Without a decent solder rework station, you'll probably damage the circuit board (or at least the traces) trying to remove the posts. And it will void your warranty. Even more of a risk on an RSPro due to the posts being connected to two boards. And the posts are used as a heatsink during normal operation.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 07:17 PM   #13347
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I'm using Jesse Munn's SC10 setup as a baseline and had a question. On the setup sheet it says the timing boost was set to 10. Looking in the interface I don't see a timing boost option. However I see a turbo ramp, but that is not on his setup sheet. Are these one and the same? Does the timing boost get set on the ESC and not through the HotWire?
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 07:50 PM   #13348
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCGaryK View Post
I'm using Jesse Munn's SC10 setup as a baseline and had a question. On the setup sheet it says the timing boost was set to 10. Looking in the interface I don't see a timing boost option. However I see a turbo ramp, but that is not on his setup sheet. Are these one and the same? Does the timing boost get set on the ESC and not through the HotWire?
Is the Sensored Mode box checked, or Dual mode? Once you check the sensored mode box, you get timing boost. You can only select those in Hotwire.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 07:58 PM   #13349
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonJoe View Post
Is the Sensored Mode box checked, or Dual mode? Once you check the sensored mode box, you get timing boost. You can only select those in Hotwire.
It was in dual mode. Is that the ticket then? I thought the advantage was doing Dual Mode, that way it kicks it into sensorless and increases the RPM on the top-end.
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 08:07 PM   #13350
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCGaryK View Post
It was in dual mode. Is that the ticket then? I thought the advantage was doing Dual Mode, that way it kicks it into sensorless and increases the RPM on the top-end.
I think most of the use for dual mode is for modified motors, and maybe off-road. Since in dual mode (or complete sensorless mode), the ESC doesn't know the exact position of the rotor, it has to be a little less aggressive than it can be in pure sensored mode. Thus, it should be turning more RPM in sensored mode because the timing can be more precise as to when to apply power to the poles of the motor.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:47 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net