R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2010, 03:50 PM   #13231
Tech Master
 
WIITA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,589
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gubbs3 View Post
As much as I like beating you, your car was off last night. Next Sunday give this a try:

Timing 30
Turbo Max
Delay .5
Ramp 1.0
End 7500
Start 1500
rollout 75

It wasn't perfect but it didn't fade noticeably at all. The infield was great but I would have liked the turbo to come in a little quicker. I might try lowering the end rpm to 7000 and the delay to .3.
Thanks, It threw me for a loop because in the first heat it was great with little fade. Second round comes around and traction comes up a little and I noticed a slight bit more fade than the last. In the main it just got worse with the more traction. What is that the result of? Sorry for all of the questions but I haven't been in the onroad game long and would like to learn these things. Thanks again!!!!!!
__________________
Team CRC / Sanwa / Team scream / Genesis RC / Hobbywing / TQ Wire / Schelle / MIP / RC^2 / TEKNO / BoomRC
WIITA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 04:45 PM   #13232
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akudou View Post
Delays slowed my acceleration on the early straight n accelartion out of corners. Our straights is only 30m.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akudou View Post
Thinking of using fdr 9-11 . Recmended settings pls?
that FDR will be to light.
I think that you must first find a good setup without using your Turbo.
Set your Turbo on 0 and work with your Boost and RPM setting first and try some different gearings.
I don't now if the motor likes a very light gearing like the Tekin or a heavy gearing like the Speedpassion.
Set a basic setup on your speedo and first find out how your motor reacts. Find a good gearing or find out if it need to be geared heavier or lighter.
Try this.
Boost 40
Turbo 0
Throttle 3
Start RPM 4000
End RPM 15000
7,5FDR
Start with this and start playing with the gearing.
Look if you need to gear lighter or heavier to get more acceleration.
As you find a good acceleration, than you can start with adding Boost and changing the RPM settings.
As you reached a good acceleration than watch the motor temp.
As it is low, you can set the End RPM lower for a bit more acceleration in the infield.
You can also start with adding some Boost and see what the car does.
Combine those 2. It is most of the time better to set the Boost not on max but just lower the End RPM. You can catch up the Speed loss with the Turbo.
Look were your top speed is with 0 Turbo. On that place you want to have the Turbo kicking in. Set the Turbo delay high and work down till you reached the right spot.

What is the timing on the motor?
As it is high, set the RPM settings higher or set the motor timing lower.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 08:53 PM   #13233
Tech Addict
 
gubbs3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: MN
Posts: 619
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WIITA View Post
Thanks, It threw me for a loop because in the first heat it was great with little fade. Second round comes around and traction comes up a little and I noticed a slight bit more fade than the last. In the main it just got worse with the more traction. What is that the result of? Sorry for all of the questions but I haven't been in the onroad game long and would like to learn these things. Thanks again!!!!!!
More traction means more friction. Its the same reason why we don't run pinks and magentas in stock, they're sticky which scrubs a ton of corner speed. That extra friction might have just pushed your setup over the limit of being too hot and caused the fade.

Another thing I'm pondering: If your setup has timing that comes in on the later side, as the battery drops off a bit, motor gets hot, tires go away, etc... That decreased speed might be enough to not let the timing come in towards the end of the run and cause it to feel like bad fade, just because you're no longer running in the sweet spot of your setup???
gubbs3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 02:17 AM   #13234
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Norway
Posts: 23
Send a message via MSN to Pamork
Default setup duo 2 10,5 T

Do anyone have a good setup for a Duo 2 10.5T in a X-ray T3 with 57 foam tires.
I have the RS Pro esc and the track is medium size.
__________________
X-Ray T3
Nosram
Durango
www.micromonsters.no
Pamork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 11:21 AM   #13235
Tech Addict
 
mdwaeracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Denver
Posts: 686
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Help... Can't get my RS to calibrate with my Tx. I have a KO Eurus and have follwed instructions. It finds neutral and then I pull the throttle all the way and it just beeps and the vc light flashes. Any ideas?

Last edited by mdwaeracer; 03-13-2010 at 11:52 AM. Reason: Uugh opertaor error. Doooh!! Suckn juice and kick'n caboose now
mdwaeracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 11:25 AM   #13236
Tech Master
 
timmig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Trabuco Canyon-- in the Pines!!
Posts: 1,769
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Hmmmm--- look a few pages earlier---I"m having the SAME problem with my Futaba 3pks and a new RS. It worked fine for a couple of runs--then I had to change out the steering servo--now it won't find center point?? I'm trying various things to sort it out--I'll post what I find.
Tim
timmig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 11:30 AM   #13237
Tech Fanatic
 
lochness42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 824
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi, anyone knows if it's possible to repair overheated (probably) Tekin RS Pro?
One of my club mates has his speedo nonfunctional now.
__________________
Pavel Balint
| Schumacher racing-cars.com | RCSGraphicWorx.co.uk | Cat K1 | Cougar SV2 & SVR |
Schumacher cars build videos http://www.youtube.com/view_play_list?p=9780E62C20A0EC4F
lochness42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 11:32 AM   #13238
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdwaeracer View Post
Help... Can't get my RS to calibrate with my Tx. I have a KO Eurus and have follwed instructions. It finds neutral and then I pull the throttle all the way and it just beeps and the vc light flashes. Any ideas?
Do you have a Hotwire? What is your Voltage Cutoff set to? If it is set to 3 and you are using 1s or 2s, that will happen. For voltage cutoff, a value of 1, 2, or 3 means 1s, 2s, or 3s, or 3.7, 7.4, or 11.1 volts. Try turning the voltage cutoff to Off, then re-calibrate.

I know with the Futaba 3PK, you have to set the throttle servo setting in the radio to reverse before it will calibrate correctly. Maybe the KO needs this as well?
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 11:55 AM   #13239
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: RUS
Posts: 16
Default 1/12 setup mod

1/12 mod

Xray link

1 s li-po fantom 5000 40C
motor 4.5 (rotor 11.5) fantom
rollout 37

Neutral width 5
Motor Type BL-FW
Voltage cut off 3.1
brake 50
DrakeBrake 5
PushControl 10
Throtel profile 1
Boost 30
Turbo 10
Turbo delay 0,3
Turbo ramp 1
Throttle 1
Start RPM 5000
End RPM 19000

Excellent speed and dynamics. (The best at competition)
The second place - is not enough experience in 1/12.

Temperature of the engine after arrival 55 C.
haltol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 12:03 PM   #13240
Tech Elite
 
JPMSRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lost in the Dead Space between my Ears Somewhere around Wamego, KS (OZ Land)
Posts: 3,518
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdwaeracer View Post
Help... Can't get my RS to calibrate with my Tx. I have a KO Eurus and have follwed instructions. It finds neutral and then I pull the throttle all the way and it just beeps and the vc light flashes. Any ideas?
I know the KO and JR Z-1 radios need to be in servo reverse for it to work with RS stuff.
__________________
I'm around still!!!
JPMSRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 01:16 PM   #13241
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lochness42 View Post
Hi, anyone knows if it's possible to repair overheated (probably) Tekin RS Pro?
One of my club mates has his speedo nonfunctional now.
Contact Tekin. They can help you.
He must send it to Tekin but he needs first a RA number.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 02:28 PM   #13242
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,234
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdwaeracer View Post
Help... Can't get my RS to calibrate with my Tx. I have a KO Eurus and have follwed instructions. It finds neutral and then I pull the throttle all the way and it just beeps and the vc light flashes. Any ideas?
Is that a brand new Eurus?
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 03:21 PM   #13243
Tech Elite
 
loriding69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tacoma
Posts: 3,440
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to loriding69
Questions??

Just throwing it out there but..... Does anyone have a extra RS laying around you wanna sell, Please PM if ya do. Thanks
__________________
Double E

If your not here to have fun, then stay at home!!!

Breast Cancer Awareness is my race for the cure!
loriding69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 04:45 PM   #13244
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 300
Default Questions on using V.200 firmware

Guys:

I was recently banned from using V.203 at my local track (TC 17.5). When attempting to revert back to V.200, I couldn't help but notice that the timing boost still gives me the option of going as high as 55, is this normal? I could have swarn that V.200 timing boost was maxed out at 30? Please help me refresh my memory.

Also, when reverting back to V.200, I noticed that the ESC is showing 3 lights (temp) at the end of 5 mins (using V.203 it never showed more than one light), but the motor stays stone cold (100 F max)...does this mean that I can add more timing boost? Is it normal that the ESC is taking more heat than the motor?

V.200 setup = I'm using FDR 5.8 (same as I was using for V.203, should I lower?), timing boost at 30, turbo at max (20).

Appreciate your assistance.
Regards,
MH
mhavlena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 05:10 PM   #13245
Tech Master
 
timmig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Trabuco Canyon-- in the Pines!!
Posts: 1,769
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmig View Post
Hmmmm--- look a few pages earlier---I"m having the SAME problem with my Futaba 3pks and a new RS. It worked fine for a couple of runs--then I had to change out the steering servo--now it won't find center point?? I'm trying various things to sort it out--I'll post what I find.
Tim
OKAY---AFTER plugging the speed control into the steering channel #1--It FOUND the center point. Speed control is working okay!!!! Change out the reciever---thinking it's channel 2---NOPE!!! I've gone back into the Futaba 3PK transmitter SEVERAL times to re-check all the settings I know of---EPA's -- no Expo--no ABS--no Throttle speed--in REVERSE direction per instructions ---EVERYTHING appears to be fine!! Can't get the ESC to find center point---finally go to another model memory #--and start over---WAHLLAA!!!!! Everything works fine!!! I STILL can't find why the original Trans output model memory won't work---but setting it up on a NEW one---I get everything working good again. If I ever figure out what's gone wrong---I'll post my findings---but for now--the solution was to set up a NEW model memory!!!
Off to the races!!!!
T
timmig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:42 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net