R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-04-2010, 04:09 PM   #12931
Tech Regular
 
twk-b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: calgary
Posts: 379
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to twk-b
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
I would say there is a Setup 3, which is boost and turbo together. I have a .1 delay and a 2,500 start RPM so for the most part I am using both turbo and boost at the same time.

If your temps are 190 I think a few changes to your setup and gearing will bring you back down to the acceptable 170* range. Perhaps try a combination of setup 1 and setup2 to get the best of both worlds (the speed + the lower temps).
I agree, I like my temp to stay below 150 during practice so it can run up to 165 or so when im beating on it in a race... for the time being I have been keeping with TB.... I tried going up and down about 5 pinions each way to try and find a sweet spot where the off temp was consistant without luck for BT.... any deviation from 6.0 seemed to amplify the problem... toasted a nemesis in the process... =/

For setup3 what size track are you running on? are you running a lower (then 40) boost to make the two stack successfully? I am assuming your ramp is 1? what is end RPM?

if your end RPM is greater closer/over 10,000 then really its an linear variant of TB...

I found running the 0.1 delay laggy off the corners compared to 0 (or a BT setup) but temps seem to jump about 25F going from 0.1 to 0 delay.... maybe that is the compromise required to keep the temp from skyrocketing?

Is that the reason for using the 0.1 instead of 0?

thanks
-b
twk-b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 04:13 PM   #12932
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone data logged the usable RPM range on a 1s 17.5?
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 04:31 PM   #12933
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
Has anyone data logged the usable RPM range on a 1s 17.5?
yang
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 04:44 PM   #12934
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

yes, yes i have.

__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 05:10 PM   #12935
Tech Fanatic
 
Fast XXXS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ballarat, VIC
Posts: 843
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by audriusv View Post
Hi,

track technical 25x8m high grip carpet. Spur 96, pinion 27, tires 58mm. At the moment settings are

Motor timing on five and half mark to +.
Drag Brake - 0
Reverse Strength - 33
Neutral Width - 8
Motor Type - BL-DL
Throttle Profile - 3
Voltage Cutoff - 2
Push Control - Off
Timing Boost - 30
Turbo Boost - 5
Turbo Delay - 0,2
Turbo Ramp - 2,0
Start RPM - 1598
End RPM - 11016

First problem that when in straight there is no feel of engaging Turbo Boost. And motor temps are ~55-60C. What suggestions? Something to change to get more speed and lower temps? Would like to lower temp a little bit because I am learning to drive and my speed is improving... so motor temperature will increase :-)
I had a similar problem but my boost would cut out about 2 mins into a race. Try maybe setting your highpoints on your remote to 90, then recalibrating your speedy then putting the highpoints back to 100. Maybe your remote signals are fluctuating and the speedy is not reading full throttle, therefore the turbo boost not engaging. This may be your problem but anyone can correct me if i may be wrong, maybe its an esc setting issue.
Fast XXXS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 07:00 PM   #12936
Tech Master
 
timmig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Trabuco Canyon-- in the Pines!!
Posts: 1,769
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

HEY---is the hotwire compatible with a MAC??
T
timmig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 07:12 PM   #12937
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
yes, yes i have.

can you share?
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 07:41 PM   #12938
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
can you share?
sure, what do you want to know? most of this is specific to the motor and the track.

to give you an idea, the slowest corner at the track that I race on, my motor is spinning about 2400rpm. but that changes from track to track and even varies a little based on tracktion. I have seen my lowest rpm range from 2400-3000 depending on the tracktion level.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 08:02 PM   #12939
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

How many motors and how many tracks have you tested? If it is not too much to ask, I'd like to know:

Size of track, high and low rpm to each track with each motor.
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 08:15 PM   #12940
Tech Elite
 
carcrazy699's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,465
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

i would like to know what you used to do the data log on it. can it be done threw hotwire? or some other program
carcrazy699 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 08:18 PM   #12941
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

i have only run 2 layouts with the same motors. since I have a novak sentry, i have no reason to try different motors at different tracks or layouts. i have a duo 1 17.5 from eXpress Motorsports. this motor was purchase before vegas 2009. i would call our track a big track. my low rpm was around 1900 and the high was 11,800 on the back straight and 8836 in the infield. this is with a 91mm roll out and a 40mm rear tire. the track is about 100x40 and we run about 3/4 of an oval for the back straight.

to give you an idea. without turbo or timing, my baseline was a low of 2968 and a high of 12,875 on the back straight and on the infield 8,042

I am not sure how much value these numbers are because imho tekin setups now need to take into account too many variable to make a setup work everywhere. I can tell you that this setup really is setup for our track the day I ran it. this was after 3 round of looking at sentry data and adjusting start rpm, end rpm, turbo delay and gear ratio. this setup was basically optimized as much as I could for the track. I was able to put a full lap on my best times. I rarely find any change that I can do that with.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 08:25 PM   #12942
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carcrazy699 View Post
i would like to know what you used to do the data log on it. can it be done threw hotwire? or some other program
i really doubt that there is enough memory inside the tekin to store this much data. I am using a novak sentry. and i only log rpm and throttle position. by default the sentry also has x/y axis movement
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 08:37 PM   #12943
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

that is good info yang. Thanks
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 08:42 PM   #12944
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twk-b View Post
I agree, I like my temp to stay below 150 during practice so it can run up to 165 or so when im beating on it in a race... for the time being I have been keeping with TB.... I tried going up and down about 5 pinions each way to try and find a sweet spot where the off temp was consistant without luck for BT.... any deviation from 6.0 seemed to amplify the problem... toasted a nemesis in the process... =/

For setup3 what size track are you running on? are you running a lower (then 40) boost to make the two stack successfully? I am assuming your ramp is 1? what is end RPM?

if your end RPM is greater closer/over 10,000 then really its an linear variant of TB...

I found running the 0.1 delay laggy off the corners compared to 0 (or a BT setup) but temps seem to jump about 25F going from 0.1 to 0 delay.... maybe that is the compromise required to keep the temp from skyrocketing?

Is that the reason for using the 0.1 instead of 0?

thanks
-b
No, I am running 50 boost. You can see my full setup here:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/7039252-post12511.html

I will say however the Nemesis motors like to be geared differently than Duo2's. So I am surprised you are also running a 6.0 final drive.

I have not tried 0 turbo delay either, simply because I do not have the head room on my temperatures to get away with it.

The tracks I run at are medium to large asphalt. I'd say about 140-150 x 70-80.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 09:18 PM   #12945
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
i have only run 2 layouts with the same motors. since I have a novak sentry, i have no reason to try different motors at different tracks or layouts. i have a duo 1 17.5 from eXpress Motorsports. this motor was purchase before vegas 2009. i would call our track a big track. my low rpm was around 1900 and the high was 11,800 on the back straight and 8836 in the infield. this is with a 91mm roll out and a 40mm rear tire. the track is about 100x40 and we run about 3/4 of an oval for the back straight.

to give you an idea. without turbo or timing, my baseline was a low of 2968 and a high of 12,875 on the back straight and on the infield 8,042

I am not sure how much value these numbers are because imho tekin setups now need to take into account too many variable to make a setup work everywhere. I can tell you that this setup really is setup for our track the day I ran it. this was after 3 round of looking at sentry data and adjusting start rpm, end rpm, turbo delay and gear ratio. this setup was basically optimized as much as I could for the track. I was able to put a full lap on my best times. I rarely find any change that I can do that with.
We are pretty close on our track. Double everything for 2s setups in TC. We see 6k to 8k in the corners and 30k on the straight with a moderate setup..

We can gear down and let the motor spool to 40k on the straight but it gets slower well before that. We can add gear until we only reach 25k on the straight and it gets slower. The magic is in between depending on the track.

Tekin Prez
__________________
[email protected]
Smarter, Smaller, Faster....
www.teamtekin.com
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:45 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net