R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-22-2010, 08:03 AM   #12511
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

You're welcome for the help Carlos (sonic31), thanks for building that silky smooth diff for me!

I wanted to share my recent setup since I've made some small changes. Last weekend I TQ'd and won. Saturday I TQ'd and won. Sunday I qualified 2nd and finished 2nd.

Car: 416WE
Motor: Team Epic Duo2 17.5 timing on the middle mark (0)
Battery: Team Epic 5600 50c
Final drive: 6.05

Drag Brake: 0
Neutral: 10
Th. Profile: 5
Boost: 50
Turbo: 10
Delay: 0.1
Ramp: 3.0
Start: 2,4XX
End: 7,2XX
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 08:21 AM   #12512
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Hawaiian View Post
motor limit
On a manufacturing level, less FETs (but you won't be able to tell the difference between the 2 wit a like for like motor setup!)

Depending on the application, anything around 5.5 or faster and you'll be needing the RS Pro....

Hope that helps
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 08:23 AM   #12513
Regional Moderator
 
Jon Carlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 2,882
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Ok, I'm looking for a booster that works with the 203 software. I don't want to use the N-word, I've seen the HobbyCity one(5 volts) and it seems to work well, not sure about the TQ model, I also heard there is one from the UK (I think?) that puts out 6 volts. Does anyone know about that one? I'm using a receiver pack now and it's working well I just would like to have only one thing to charge.
__________________
Jon Carlson
Team Associated, Reedy
Futaba, OS Engines, O'Donnell Racing Fuel
Jon Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 08:36 AM   #12514
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 5,058
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swen View Post
Ok, I'm looking for a booster that works with the 203 software. I don't want to use the N-word, I've seen the HobbyCity one(5 volts) and it seems to work well, not sure about the TQ model, I also heard there is one from the UK (I think?) that puts out 6 volts. Does anyone know about that one? I'm using a receiver pack now and it's working well I just would like to have only one thing to charge.
I've been using the TQCells one with no problems.
__________________
Steve Walter
Sweep Racing USA/ Speed Passion USA/ Karens Famous Cookies (Transporter)
SRW141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 08:40 AM   #12515
Tech Adept
 
Racingbod85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bromley, Kent, UK
Posts: 186
Default

Gents

Can someone offer a good starting setup for 12th with 1s lipo and Novak velocity 10.5 motor on medium twisty track with a decent straight.

I was told i'd have to be careful with the timing using a Novak, is this the case?

Ta
__________________
RC12L4
Novak 4.5R / 10.5R
Sanwa/Futaba/Much More
Carpetwars/Sidcup RCC/Maritime Racing/7oaksmcc
Racingbod85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 09:02 AM   #12516
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B4james View Post
Set up posted, 13.5 TC on large outdoor asphalt track.
Thanks. The setup looks a lot to my setups that I use now indoor.
I gave a same sort of setup to other drivers for bigger tracks and told them to temp in time. I was afraid that it became to hot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hardmankam View Post
I tried delay=0 with a 11.5R motor. The speed is very fast, it can hang around with 5.5R's. However, I do find the motor temp. to be higher than usual (around 70C to 75C).

With a delay<>0 with 11.5R, the temp is around 50ish C.
70 to 75C is good. The motors perform the best when they are around the 80C. As long as you stay ad the 70 to 75C it's good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain stacker View Post
how is the 203 compared to the black diamond ?
They are always in front of you when you lap them
They are infield about the same but top speed is lower. Even a bit lower than the SXX ss adn that one has already a lower top speed as the Tekin.

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup View Post
they can't compare. that is why you see BDs in the for sale thread now. lol
That's not good. Let them keep there BD. As long as they have it they are Behind you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
I hear from another thread that the BD is still being developed further:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/electric...nd-setups.html

But I don't think it will be a problem for the RS, at all ....

I have no desire to buy the BD either to find out!
You can buy 2 Tekin's for that price. That would be an expensive test.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
i also hear that the Black Diamond wont be approved by EFRA or ROAR

i know the RS and RSPro are !!!!!
That is not good news for the BD owners and for Advanced.
Who told you that?

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Hawaiian View Post
I just got my Tekin RS and just did some testing and I was very happy...can't wait to race....and a 0 turbo delay is ok but you will top out half way down the straight..
It depends of the Boost, motor timing and Turbo setting.
I would choose for a Turbo delay on a large track but I will try it also.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 09:30 AM   #12517
Tech Master
 
mkdut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: RC Retired
Posts: 1,961
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
i also hear that the Black Diamond wont be approved by EFRA or ROAR

i know the RS and RSPro are !!!!!
How can that be(for ROAR) when there is no approval process for ESC's or anything in the rules regarding ESC's?
mkdut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 09:38 AM   #12518
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkdut View Post
How can that be(for ROAR) when there is no approval process for ESC's or anything in the rules regarding ESC's?
I now it is tested by the EFRA and the ROAR.
Some things you may not do and that is also not allowed with a speedo.
You may not change the Voltage to the motor. Also not with a speedo.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 11:03 AM   #12519
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

it has something to do with the auto timing the speedo uses

it senses the needed timing on the motor relatave to speed / throttle position and how hard you hit the throttle

the speedo is inteligent and i believe they dont allow it
sidecarphil1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 11:18 AM   #12520
Tech Master
 
mkdut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: RC Retired
Posts: 1,961
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
it has something to do with the auto timing the speedo uses

it senses the needed timing on the motor relatave to speed / throttle position and how hard you hit the throttle

the speedo is inteligent and i believe they dont allow it
Please point me in the right direction in either the ROAR or EFRA rule books. For some reason I am not seeing it.
mkdut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 11:21 AM   #12521
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,486
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

What, do they think it is some form of traction control?
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 11:44 AM   #12522
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swen View Post
Ok, I'm looking for a booster that works with the 203 software. I don't want to use the N-word, I've seen the HobbyCity one(5 volts) and it seems to work well, not sure about the TQ model, I also heard there is one from the UK (I think?) that puts out 6 volts. Does anyone know about that one? I'm using a receiver pack now and it's working well I just would like to have only one thing to charge.
RC Dynamics booster from the UK at http://www.rcdynamics.co.uk.

Review at http://www.carsrcracing.co.uk/?p=183

I can't fault it. Works with 203, JR servos, 2.4G Rxs, the lot.

Trev
__________________
Schumacher Atom GT12
Schumacher Eclipse 12th
www.carsrcracing.co.uk
CARSrcracing.co.uk Webmaster
Schumacher Racing
TrevCoult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 11:45 AM   #12523
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidecarphil1 View Post
it has something to do with the auto timing the speedo uses

it senses the needed timing on the motor relatave to speed / throttle position and how hard you hit the throttle

the speedo is inteligent and i believe they dont allow it
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kraig View Post
What, do they think it is some form of traction control?
And traction control is not allowed.
Just like slipper clutch and Voltage booster to the motor.

As they see it as a sort of traction control, than is the speedo nod allowed.

Expensive and useless speedo as it is for bitten.
We follow Nomac rules and they follow EFRA rules so as it is forbidden there, it is also forbidden by my club.
Were can you find the info that the speedo is not allowed?
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 12:06 PM   #12524
Regional Moderator
 
Jon Carlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 2,882
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevCoult View Post
RC Dynamics booster from the UK at http://www.rcdynamics.co.uk.

Review at http://www.carsrcracing.co.uk/?p=183

I can't fault it. Works with 203, JR servos, 2.4G Rxs, the lot.

Trev
Thanks, that's the one. Not cheap but it looks very nice.
__________________
Jon Carlson
Team Associated, Reedy
Futaba, OS Engines, O'Donnell Racing Fuel
Jon Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 12:27 PM   #12525
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
For UK customers, we do all business in pounds only, nothing fishy...
Hehe humour as well as good service and prices, i may have to use you guys again!!
boosta1276 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:17 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net