R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-20-2010, 12:19 PM   #12436
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 399
Default caps

Its not a big deal Im in the Uk so just as easy to go buy some.1000s on ebay
tellan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 01:20 PM   #12437
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by racer-oZ View Post
I'm at a big offroad event this weekend running 2wd stock and need some fine tuning advice.

I'm running an older Novak 13.5 with the orange ring, I set the ring in the middle for timing (not marked for degrees, but I assume it's around 5 - 10 degrees)

Timing boost 45 (start rpm ~2100/end rpm ~18000)
Turbo boost at 10 (ramp 2)
Kyosho geared 28/76

Track has nice long straight about 110 feet with 10 foot lanes everywhere, very fast high bite layout

In practice the car felt very fast, turbo kicks on nicely around mid straight.

here is my question, the motor is coming off temping with a gun around 100 - 110 degrees after 5 minutes so I think I can get more out of it, what adjustment would you suggest I push to get more out of the car?

thanks!
just like wing said in is post,if it feals good go up a tooth and since you are on high bite clay bring the end rpm down a little
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 02:35 PM   #12438
Tech Apprentice
 
jeppesen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 76
Default

Hey guys.

Have been testing the speedo this weekend, and i have a good feel with the power, and the changes on the speedo.

But.

I an very tired of removing my speedo cable from the transmitter, so my question is, will it work with the hot-wire if i put a y-cable between the speedo and transmitter??


Greetings

Søren
__________________
Large scale racing with RS5 Touring car, Sanwa, Savöx, Modelsport engines and Shell V-Power

1/10th Racing with RGT R2, Hobbywing, Gens-Ace and Absima.
jeppesen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 03:27 PM   #12439
Con
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Brownsville Ont Canada
Posts: 178
Default

No... it powers the receiver as well then, and data transfer will be compromised
Con is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 03:39 PM   #12440
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
Default

I ran an rs pro for the first time last night, as i dont have a hotwire it was surprisingly slow, then a mate did the hotwire thing. All i can say is wow....

That was 13.5 on carpet. I also run at a indoor club that race on polished wood (27t B or 17.5t BL). (as i dont have a 17.5t yet) How does the rs pro work with 27t brushed? If i change the speedo to brushed motors, will it reset the hotwire stuff that was updated to the speedo? Will i still have the boost setting he changed etc if i change it to run brushed? Is there any reason why i shouldnt change it to run brushed with the 13.5t setup changed he made to it?

Thanks for any help.
Aqualoki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 03:42 PM   #12441
Tech Fanatic
 
buffalobill989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: broken arrow, ok
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

i made a short extension wire. plug it into the rec and glued the other plug into the chassis. plug the speedo into that. when i want to do a data transfer i unplug the speedo from the plug. you still have to unplug but this way im not plugging and unplugging frommy recall the time
buffalobill989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 03:58 PM   #12442
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aqualoki View Post
I ran an rs pro for the first time last night, as i dont have a hotwire it was surprisingly slow, then a mate did the hotwire thing. All i can say is wow....

That was 13.5 on carpet. I also run at a indoor club that race on polished wood (27t B or 17.5t BL). (as i dont have a 17.5t yet) How does the rs pro work with 27t brushed? If i change the speedo to brushed motors, will it reset the hotwire stuff that was updated to the speedo? Will i still have the boost setting he changed etc if i change it to run brushed? Is there any reason why i shouldnt change it to run brushed with the 13.5t setup changed he made to it?

Thanks for any help.
with brushed it's also fast. I started with the brushed motors and when the V183 came it was fast.
You only have to change the motor type.
Look in the manual how to use the wires. Look also for the right motor type with the right weiring.
In brushed mode you don't have any Boost or Turbo.
This is only in Brushless sensord mode.
In sensor-less mode you have timing advanced.
No need to change any thing accept maybe the push control and drag brake.
Motor type you must change.
All the other settings will not give you any more speed.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 07:46 PM   #12443
Tech Adept
 
kp-61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 211
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default need help

Hello co tekin owners

Got the RS and need a good starting point for a tight track with a 90 ft straight. Average lap times are on the 12 - 13's.

i have played around with some settings and cant seem to lower my temp with out being a bit on the slow side of the pack.

I am running a 17.5 with zero timing motor. here is my setup (6 min qual)
FRD : start RPM : End RPM : timing : turbo : delay : ramp : temp

6.551470588 3800 8000 45 15 0.1 3 190
7.185483871 3800 8000 45 15 0.1 3 228 (improved .3 sec/lap
5.861842105 3500 6500 max 15 0.2 3 Burned motor (insanely fast. improved .2 died last min)

i did few testings during practice laps based on 3 min

4.714285714 2500 8000 40 10 0.2 2 145
5.210526316 2500 8000 40 10 0 2 154
5.211 3800 8000 40 10 0 2 125
3800 8000 45 15 0 3 hot

Now I am using a new motor Duo 2 and dont want to burn it

Please help with some settings. I am confused why my motor temp goes high when i increase the FDR on the 6 min qualifying.

I wanted to copy Jeff Scuf's setup from the tekin website but worried i would burn the motor on a 6 min qual.
Any Suggestion?

Thanks !
__________________
* VISA * MASTER CARD :)

Last edited by kp-61; 02-20-2010 at 08:01 PM.
kp-61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 07:50 PM   #12444
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

kp-61, Too much boost on some of those set-ups. Too low end rpm, too short turbo delay.

Also, go to ramp 1 or 2. Dropping from ramp 2 to 1 on my 12th scale had no effect on early laptimes but dropped my temps ten degrees, decreased battery usage by about 500 mah and reduced my falloff by .1.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 07:52 PM   #12445
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kp-61 View Post
Hello co tekin owners

Got the RS and need a good starting point for a tight track with a 90 ft straight. Average lap times are on the 12 - 13's.

i have played around with some settings and cant seem to lower my temp with out being a bit on the slow side of the pack.

I am running a 17.5 with zero timing motor. here is my setup (6 min qual)
FRD : start RPM : End RPM : timing : turbo : delay : ramp : temp

6.551470588 3800 8000 45 15 0.1 3 190
7.185483871 3800 8000 45 15 0.1 3 228 (improved .4 sec/lap
5.861842105 3500 6500 max 15 0.2 3 Burned motor (insanely fast. improved .4 died last min)

i did few testings during practice laps based on 3 min

4.714285714 2500 8000 40 10 0.2 2 145
5.210526316 2500 8000 40 10 0 2 154
5.211 3800 8000 40 10 0 2 125
3800 8000 45 15 0 3 hot

Now I am using a new motor Duo 2 and dont want to burn it

Please help with some settings. I am confused why my motor temp goes high when i increase the FDR on the 6 min qualifying.

I wanted to copy Jeff Scuf's setup from the tekin website but worried i would burn the motor on a 6 min qual.
Any Suggestion?

Thanks !
first is this TC or 1/12
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 08:03 PM   #12446
Tech Adept
 
kp-61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 211
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Sorry.. Its for TC running a 416WE

just to add if this helps.. I use on average 2300 mah on a 40C 5000 mah pack
__________________
* VISA * MASTER CARD :)

Last edited by kp-61; 02-20-2010 at 08:14 PM.
kp-61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 08:05 PM   #12447
Tech Elite
 
rmdhawaii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,804
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Is there a complete history of software revisions posted anywhere?

How about an FAQ page?

I'm on page 100 of this thread and reading all these posts is brutal. It's just amazing how many times people ask and have to answer the same questions over and over again.

Tekin: Video FAQ would be a really good thing.
__________________
Nitro Knowledge Base: http://nitrokb.netne.net
My YouTube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/nitrokb -> Lots of on-road nitro & eletric action + some off-road as well
My Flickr Photostream: http://www.flickr.com/photos/nitrokb/
Kyosho V-ONE RRR WC (x2) \ XRAY T2'007 \ Also owned: XRAY NT1 & Mugen MTX-4
rmdhawaii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 08:09 PM   #12448
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

KP-61,

Higher your start RPM to 3000 and higher your end RPM to 14000.
Boost 50
Turbo 10 to 15 (start with 10)
Turbo delay 0,7 You can lower it but try to find the spot were the Boost reaches his top speed. Ad that moment you want to let the Turbo kick in.
Turbo ramp 2
FDR7 to start with and play with it.
Start with a motor timing in the middle.
check your temp after a mint and keep it under the 180F
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 08:12 PM   #12449
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kp-61 View Post
Sorry.. Its for TC running a 416WE
ok,the rpm range is to close to much timing to fast
end rpm 10k
start 2xxx
boost 50 motor between the middle and first mark 0-5 deg
turbo 5 the straight is small so not much is needed if any at all i would start with 0 and add some if needed
delay 3
ramp 3
fdr 6-6.5
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 08:20 PM   #12450
Tech Adept
 
kp-61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 211
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the quick reply amazing how forums work!

I will have 1 more chance to qualify tomorrow and will try both setups in the practice run. I will probably be able to do 2 min per setup should i be hmm 100F after 2 min?

this is where i get confused about the start RPM and End RPM.. please correct me... does it mean that the timing change say 40 will start from start and push all the way to end RPM then the boost kicks in after reaching the top rpm?

let me take notes on the settings
__________________
* VISA * MASTER CARD :)
kp-61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:30 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net