R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-17-2010, 08:53 PM   #12346
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPMSRacing View Post
I second that, I have stuck steering servos in with Trinity Tape and not come loose. denatured alcohol clean and stick with no fingers touching the tape like putting stickers on with a knife.


Thats crazy hoss, I have to write that down, one more use for shoe goo. Its like duck tape.
here is one more.whats the only way to keep the shock caps on a slash,shoe goo
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 09:02 PM   #12347
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,619
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
That was not caused by software. That appears to be caused by something hitting two posts together. Judging by the burn marks on the chassis the chassis itself may have become an inductor and caused the short. Composite chassis can still conduct power and the graphite ones are known for this. This is why I do not like to hear about velcro holding esc's down(not saying yours was) or even see questionable mounting practices.
I used two sided tape, and I made sure it was under the posts as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
Looks like the "+" & "-" RS post were contacting the chassis post battery mount lug.
Nope, it was mounted far enough away from that. I also check to make sure the esc is still mounted securely every time I go out.
MUDVAYNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 09:47 PM   #12348
Tech Adept
 
HyperFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: TX
Posts: 161
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HyperFX
Default

Regardless of your soldering skills, (and depending on the solder you used), if the esc temp was hot enough, it could have melted your solder, and caused a short.
You did say you had just loaded v2.03, and had only been running for a short time before the meltdown, correct?
I would say it was a user adjustment/setup issue.
Not trying to bust your chops, just applying basic troubleshooting to the data at hand, mixed with a little personal experience, of course.
__________________
4PK, DEX410, DESC410R, DEX210, Tekin RS/RS Pro/RX8, Ten SCTE, XXX-SCT, XXXT-CR, XXX, XX, JRx2
MOTOCROSS: Because Roller Coasters Are Too Slow!
HyperFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 09:50 PM   #12349
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,234
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Double post...My bad!
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.

Last edited by Still Bill; 02-17-2010 at 10:38 PM.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 09:52 PM   #12350
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,234
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Em Texans call it like they see it...

Must know Yang!
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 10:04 PM   #12351
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,619
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperFX View Post
Regardless of your soldering skills, (and depending on the solder you used), if the esc temp was hot enough, it could have melted your solder, and caused a short.
You did say you had just loaded v2.03, and had only been running for a short time before the meltdown, correct?
I would say it was a user adjustment/setup issue.
Not trying to bust your chops, just applying basic troubleshooting to the data at hand, mixed with a little personal experience, of course.
It's all good. With being said:

1 I have been doing this hobby since 1992

2 There was a Tekin sponsered driver helping me with this issue

3 when I went out with the correct software, that driver and I both checked to make sure it had installed properly, that the corrrect settings had been applied, and that the grearing was correct.

4 I checked the motor after I put out the fire, it was at room temp.

Now, I'm not saying I'm perfect either. I have blown up one or two esc's from doing stupid crap like soldering the battery terminals to the esc backwards etc, but I have never had one go up in smoke like this, especaily on the track. Thats why I posted the pics. This is almost like a right of experienced passage for me.
MUDVAYNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 10:09 PM   #12352
Tech Champion
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by part-time racer View Post
Does anyone have any idea when these esc's are likely to be readily available again????
Nexus has them in stock
http://www.nexusracing.com/product_i...oducts_id=1905
__________________
--> 12th scale Information Source <--

"Men do not quit playing because they grow old; they grow old because they quit playing."
― Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.
RedBullFiXX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 11:47 PM   #12353
Tech Apprentice
 
Clint161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Langley B.C.
Posts: 81
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Motor Timing

Has anyone put together a list of different motors stock timing?
I think this would help in initial setup of speedo timing.

I have a few different motors I use in my son's and my TC cars.
Some I know some I don't.
I would like to know what the stock timing on them is to set up my timing properly for each, and try each one to see what I like the best.

my motors:
17.5s Tekin, Orion, Duo1, Orca, lrp
13.5s Tekin, Orca, lrp
Clint161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 01:13 AM   #12354
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Ive got ver 203 software, and Im trying to copy jeff cuffs setup for the esc that i downloaded from the tekin website (jeff cuffs 17.5 ver 203 carpet TC)

I cant seem to get the start rpm to 2000 rpm, it only lets me choose like around 1500 or 2500 rpm. Ive set the end rpm to 7000 first then hit calc.

????? any help please?????
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 02:01 AM   #12355
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

For all the Mac fans out there. Hotwire V203 will run on XP with Parallel 5. I have just set it up with my Macbook Pro and it runs perfectly
supagrub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 02:03 AM   #12356
Tech Master
 
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by part-time racer View Post
Does anyone have any idea when these esc's are likely to be readily available again????
It don't matter when there readily avaliable, you will still be slooooow
Malc
__________________
ARC 2013 model ZEN Racing, MM-UK, HW 3.1, Rich Paints, MM UK Rug Racers win13.5 2007/8
2nd in 2008/9/10 Win Ansman GP 2010 Schumacher GP. 17.5 blinky Winner of STCC 2009/10 13.5 WLRC 2010 Summer series. Winner of EWS Winter. 17.5 Blinky Winner of 2012/13/14 Rug Racers. 17.5 Blinky 2013 WLRC summer series. Newbury RCC GP 2014 17.5 Blinky 2015 3rd in 17.5 Rug Racers
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 02:12 AM   #12357
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOSI123 View Post
Ive got ver 203 software, and Im trying to copy jeff cuffs setup for the esc that i downloaded from the tekin website (jeff cuffs 17.5 ver 203 carpet TC)

I cant seem to get the start rpm to 2000 rpm, it only lets me choose like around 1500 or 2500 rpm. Ive set the end rpm to 7000 first then hit calc.

????? any help please?????
If I'm not mistaken, Jeff had some uber-beta software that allowed more precise sRPM values. Just choose the 2500-ish value and rock it!
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 02:25 AM   #12358
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUDVAYNE View Post
You guys wanna see what happens when an RS is having software issues?
Looks like the NOS leaked out of your v204.... I think you win the Paul Walker award for that one!

Joking aside, I hope things come to a good conclusion after it's sent in to HQ, i'm more than sure that Tekin will take care of you if it's deemed an ESC issue...
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 02:36 AM   #12359
Tech Adept
 
HyperFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: TX
Posts: 161
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to HyperFX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUDVAYNE View Post
It's all good...
Agreed!
I've been in RC's since 1986, and Tekin service is great.
They'll get you squared away and back on the track soon!
__________________
4PK, DEX410, DESC410R, DEX210, Tekin RS/RS Pro/RX8, Ten SCTE, XXX-SCT, XXXT-CR, XXX, XX, JRx2
MOTOCROSS: Because Roller Coasters Are Too Slow!
HyperFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 02:52 AM   #12360
Tech Fanatic
 
Brenos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney, where else?
Posts: 993
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supagrub View Post
For all the Mac fans out there. Hotwire V203 will run on XP with Parallel 5. I have just set it up with my Macbook Pro and it runs perfectly
Im running Virtual Machine fine also on my mac

Brendan S
__________________
Kyosho Lazer ZX-5 FS-2 SP, Orion R10 Pro, Team Orion VST Pro 6.5T,
Kyosho RB5 SP2 WC, Tekin RS Pro, LRP X12 10.5T
Brenos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:01 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net