R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-14-2010, 08:48 PM   #12181
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by motomanpat View Post
I have an RS coming this week and I am starting to get worried reading about all the issues people are having. Are most of these issues human error or are there issues with the software?
It's hard to say for sure but I would say it's probably user error. The Tekin has been one of the most reliable brushless speedos I have ever seen.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 08:52 PM   #12182
Tech Elite
 
tallyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: palm city, fl
Posts: 2,594
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

ditto to what technic said.. we have setup no less than 5 or 6 new tekins this week alone down here. i have been running one for quite some time as have several others locals at my track and i have yet to see a single issue other than my car is now too fast for me..
__________________
WWW.STORMERHOBBIES.COM helping keep pan cars alive!

Turns out not where, but who your with that really matters... DMB
tallyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 09:01 PM   #12183
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,996
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPMSRacing View Post
I am going to try and talk to Tekin this week, right now I am trying to figure out what to do to get this new B44 up and going to race after I replace the chassis, from this mess. I really didnt want to buy another Novak, but I am scared of Tekin right now. It has been so frustrating and extremely costly having to buy someone a new motor and a chassis for a new car I havent even raced yet.
That's all we ask is give us a chance. You won't be disappointed. Please PM Randy Pike or call Tekin directly. Customer satisfaction is the #1 goal. Also...remember that tomorrow is a holiday so if you don't get a live person on the phone this may be the reason.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 09:06 PM   #12184
Tech Champion
 
Cameron Kellogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Idaho
Posts: 5,744
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

You should be able to run the v200 software with out any problems if you are worried about it. I have had my speedo for a 1 1/2 now... just out of warranty and this is the first problem that appeared to be a failure.

I have faith they will figure it out.
Cameron Kellogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 09:29 PM   #12185
Tech Regular
 
bigbank66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: folsom, ca
Posts: 292
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Clogging Problem Also!!!

Callin all Tekin Specialtist??? her is my set up...i have a problem when i give a small amount of throttle i have a squealing sound from my esc...i changed the sensor wire..i have a digital servo..novak 17.5 ball..drag break 20...rev off...break 90...neutral 10...motor bl-fw..throttle 5...voltage 2...push off...timinmg 50...turbo 10..turbo delay 0.1...end rpm 7000...start rpm 2437...turbo ramp 3.0...spur 100...pinion 41...an im driving a photon...help fellas i got to get rid of the squeal!!!
bigbank66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:29 PM   #12186
Tech Regular
 
Casey Belarde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbank66 View Post
Callin all Tekin Specialtist??? her is my set up...i have a problem when i give a small amount of throttle i have a squealing sound from my esc...i changed the sensor wire..i have a digital servo..novak 17.5 ball..drag break 20...rev off...break 90...neutral 10...motor bl-fw..throttle 5...voltage 2...push off...timinmg 50...turbo 10..turbo delay 0.1...end rpm 7000...start rpm 2437...turbo ramp 3.0...spur 100...pinion 41...an im driving a photon...help fellas i got to get rid of the squeal!!!
try gearing down some 3-4 teeth

sounds like your over geared
Casey Belarde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:39 PM   #12187
Tech Regular
 
bigbank66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: folsom, ca
Posts: 292
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

this sounds comes even before i make a lap....once im running its fine....just at low rpm an at the begginning of a run..
bigbank66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:56 PM   #12188
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

No offense to Casey, but being 4 teeth off won't cause the squeal you've described (although I agree it would appear to be over geared). In my experience it comes down to a sensor issue. Here are the culprits from likely to not likely . . .

1. Sensor Wire (If possible troubleshoot with a sensor wire known to work properly with V203, or try a NIP one. I've had a few not work right recently)

2. Sensor wire not getting plugged in all the way. You might be feeling the cog of sensorless mode and never even run sensorless if there is debris etc hindering full contact with the pins)

3. A problem with the sensors in the motor. If possible troubleshoot with a motor known to work properly with V203.


I had this problem this Sat and when I swapped sensor wires twice, it persisted. I bought a new motor and installed it (ballistic which included a new sensor wire) and installed a spektrum cap to the receiver and the problem never came back all day running off-road 2wd buggy.

Let us know what you find . . .
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 12:09 AM   #12189
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdoherty View Post
No offense to Casey, but being 4 teeth off won't cause the squeal you've described (although I agree it would appear to be over geared). In my experience it comes down to a sensor issue. Here are the culprits from likely to not likely . . .

1. Sensor Wire (If possible troubleshoot with a sensor wire known to work properly with V203, or try a NIP one. I've had a few not work right recently)

2. Sensor wire not getting plugged in all the way. You might be feeling the cog of sensorless mode and never even run sensorless if there is debris etc hindering full contact with the pins)

3. A problem with the sensors in the motor. If possible troubleshoot with a motor known to work properly with V203.


I had this problem this Sat and when I swapped sensor wires twice, it persisted. I bought a new motor and installed it (ballistic which included a new sensor wire) and installed a spektrum cap to the receiver and the problem never came back all day running off-road 2wd buggy.

Let us know what you find . . .
hi, whats the story behind putting a capacitor to the receiver?
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 12:24 AM   #12190
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbank66 View Post
Callin all Tekin Specialtist??? her is my set up...i have a problem when i give a small amount of throttle i have a squealing sound from my esc...i changed the sensor wire..i have a digital servo..novak 17.5 ball..drag break 20...rev off...break 90...neutral 10...motor bl-fw..throttle 5...voltage 2...push off...timinmg 50...turbo 10..turbo delay 0.1...end rpm 7000...start rpm 2437...turbo ramp 3.0...spur 100...pinion 41...an im driving a photon...help fellas i got to get rid of the squeal!!!
That is too much timing too soon! First off get away from the 3.0 ramp rate. Right now you're dumping a huge amount of timing in just over a tenth of a second! AND you're running the most agressive throttle profile.

Those rpm's are also too low for a 2s application like TC.

Try start of 25xx and end rpm of 13,500, turbo delay at least .2 ,2.0 ramp rate.

You also don't mention where your motor is timed.

Bottom line, you've got too much timing and this "squeal" is cogging. Change it or you will destroy the motor/esc.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 12:45 AM   #12191
Tech Elite
 
Goingfast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,454
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

..I just installed the RS tekin in my 12th scale....

Who got the winning 12th 13.5 setup at the snowbirds or the latest best set up ? our track is 60X100
__________________
Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.

AE 12R5.1,Tekin RS PRO
17.5 super stock T.O.P PHOTON , TAMIYA M05 Mini
CEFX.. High Velocity Racing Motor
Goingfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 01:04 AM   #12192
Tech Regular
 
bigbank66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: folsom, ca
Posts: 292
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Randy...im running a novak 17.5 an rhe timing is at N...someone told me thats still a advanced timing....where should i be????
bigbank66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 01:54 AM   #12193
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

JPRMSRacing: I feel your pain. It's frustrating enough when something that's supposed to be awesome doesn't work, and it's even worse when it breaks things and costs even more. I've got 2 RS's, both work fine, but a 100% quality record is pretty much impossible. If it's a problem with your unit, I'm sure tekin will take care of you.

That being said, I'm gonna throw a few more things out there that I haven't seen others mention yet (at least in relation to your problem). I'm an electric newb, so it might not be helpful, though.

1) I'm pretty sure motor timing is backwards from a clock: clockwise is less timing, counter-clockwise is more timing. If you adjusted motor timing, make sure you adjusted in the correct direction, if your motor doesn't have clear timing marks like the Tekin. If you got that backwards, it would definitely make your issues worse.

2) Did you double and triple check the wiring at the speedo? I don't know if that would cause your issue, but if there was a short or a bad connection at the speedo, it might explain why you had the same problem with all the motors. And it could also be easily overlooked by everyone who was helping you troubleshoot.

3) Did you try sensored mode with 0 timing boost and no turbo? That was suggested a couple times, but I didn't see results from it. Ditto with flashing back to the version 200 software.

4) Did you go through the radio calibration without a problem?

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 02:23 AM   #12194
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 114
Default Brakes, again.

Hi,

I dug out my RS Pro to put into my TC yesterday as my SPX just isn't quick enough to keep up.

I loaded 203 onto it and sure enough, the car was a missile but I'm having to brake about 5 metres before the corner in order to get into the apex, during which time I'm losing about 3 metres to the cars behind me.

Here's a video of the race in question:

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.


I'm the orange TQ car and when at race speed, I was hitting the brakes just under the furthest right basket ball hoop.

I know the problem isn't the motor (Novak Ballistic 13.5) because the SPX would stop the car almost instantly on the lowest brake profile.

I tried resetting the radio throttle position, I tried as someone else suggested, putting the speedo into BL-F/R with max reverse, applying the settings and then changing it back to BL-FW. But there was no change.

Any suggestions for getting good brakes? Could it be a hardware problem?

- Tim.
THancock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 02:56 AM   #12195
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THancock View Post

[...]

I tried resetting the radio throttle position, I tried as someone else suggested, putting the speedo into BL-F/R with max reverse, applying the settings and then changing it back to BL-FW. But there was no change.

Any suggestions for getting good brakes? Could it be a hardware problem?

- Tim.
Have you tried the calibration to 90%EPA then reverting to 100% trick?

Another thing to be aware of is that sometimes settigns are not transferred correctly to the ESC. I had this problem too, and at the moment the only fix is that you need to close hotwire and reopen it and check the ESC settigns to make sure they are what you want them to be. That's how I do it, anyway.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.

Last edited by niznai; 02-15-2010 at 03:13 AM.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:39 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net