R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-14-2010, 07:08 PM   #12166
Tech Elite
 
JPMSRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lost in the Dead Space between my Ears Somewhere around Wamego, KS (OZ Land)
Posts: 3,518
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
Than is your motor the problem.
With those settings you don't burn a motor and it run for a half lap so the speedo works.
Use an other 10,5T and see what it does.
Well I had a 7.5 and a new 10.5 Ballistic motors hooked to it and that Orion was a new10.5 not mine that smoked changing everything on the car trying to get that esc to work right.
__________________
I'm around still!!!
JPMSRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 07:15 PM   #12167
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPMSRacing View Post
Well I had a 7.5 and a new 10.5 Ballistic motors hooked to it and that Orion was a new10.5 not mine that smoked changing everything on the car trying to get that esc to work right.
It's strange. Did you contact Tekin already?
Try an other motor of a club member. Not a new one but a motor from an other Tekin driver and try that motor.
With the Orion motor it worked for a 1/2 lap so the speedo is I think ok but that motor wasn't.

I have a Speedpassion V3 13,5T and I smoked it in a meter. I drove away and it just broke. The magnet broke. An other driver drove with a Speedpassion and after 3 lipo's his motor went down.
I think that there was a problem with the motors because others with the same setup and motor have no problem.
Both motors were new.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 07:32 PM   #12168
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 736
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
It's strange. Did you contact Tekin already?
Try an other motor of a club member. Not a new one but a motor from an other Tekin driver and try that motor.
With the Orion motor it worked for a 1/2 lap so the speedo is I think ok but that motor wasn't.

I have a Speedpassion V3 13,5T and I smoked it in a meter. I drove away and it just broke. The magnet broke. An other driver drove with a Speedpassion and after 3 lipo's his motor went down.
I think that there was a problem with the motors because others with the same setup and motor have no problem.
Both motors were new.
How do you know your motor burned up?
3 people at my local track (1 being me) had motor issues with a Tekin on v203. Turned out to be a serveo issue. Putting in a Futaba servo fixed the problems. We each had different brands of servos each not being a futaba at first. Im not sure why this is, I am just relaying problems I've seen with the solution.
RC Racer OG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 07:41 PM   #12169
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Racer OG View Post
How do you know your motor burned up?
3 people at my local track (1 being me) had motor issues with a Tekin on v203. Turned out to be a serveo issue. Putting in a Futaba servo fixed the problems. We each had different brands of servos each not being a futaba at first. Im not sure why this is, I am just relaying problems I've seen with the solution.
Servo problem?
How is that posible? Does it pull to much from the receiver?
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 07:42 PM   #12170
Tech Elite
 
JPMSRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lost in the Dead Space between my Ears Somewhere around Wamego, KS (OZ Land)
Posts: 3,518
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Racer OG View Post
How do you know your motor burned up?
.
The smoke and the smell that would knock a horse over and the ruff rotation of the rotor.
__________________
I'm around still!!!
JPMSRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 07:47 PM   #12171
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 736
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
Servo problem?
How is that posible? Does it pull to much from the receiver?
That's what Im guessing. I was scratching my head when a fellow racer suggested it when I was having problems. When I hit the throttle with the car in the air, it works fine. Put the car on the ground and hit the throttle and I get a grinding noise. Change the servo and the car runs great.
RC Racer OG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 07:48 PM   #12172
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mechanic-man View Post
im a newbie and Got a small problem raced today and motor got hot 180 the motor is a 13.5 tekin now my tekin esc is telling me i have the wrong motor type i tryed to reset it but same thing is the motor cooked or do i have a problem with the esc thanxs
Remove the front endbell, inspect the solder plate. If you had too much timing too soon and or overgeared you might have melted this out. Good thing is that you can clean it all out, reflow the joints and the motor will be just fine.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 07:49 PM   #12173
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 736
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPMSRacing View Post
The smoke and the smell that would knock a horse over and the ruff rotation of the rotor.
Can never be too sure. A few guys at my track do the same thing
RC Racer OG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 07:54 PM   #12174
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,988
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

JPMSracing-After reading this problem from the begining I'm at a loss of what the problem could be. As for the smoked motor what was the timing of the motor set at. With what you can do setting wise with the speedo it's important to know "ALL" your setting even when borrowing another motor. This may just be a bad unit. Randy is the guy that can shed a little more light as he knows the speedo inside and out. You didn't make a bad choice in speedo's. Everyone here is trying to help the best they can. You had a rough time the first time out but once we get to the bottom of your problem, your 2nd time will be great. Have you contacted Tekin yet? Give us a chance to make you happy again. It might be something simple if the unit isn't defective and if that's the case we all will feel stupid that we over looked it
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 07:58 PM   #12175
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPMSRacing View Post
I just pulled those setting here off the esc, its a brand new esc and all it does is clog. read the last 3 pages, I have been fighting this ever since I got that Tekin.
It's the motor! The new Orion motors have a lot of timing already built in. On top of that it appears their sensors are causing some issues. Try another motor(not orion).
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 08:09 PM   #12176
Tech Champion
 
Cameron Kellogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Idaho
Posts: 5,744
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

I sent my speedo in for repair for the same reasons others have posted. I think the sensor board when out on mine. I run for Orion and had used been using the new software for about two weeks before issues started. I thought it was just some bad luck.

I might have a bad sensor in the motor too; is it possible for a bad motor sensor to take out the speedo? I borrowed another RS speedo and now cant run over 30 deg of timing with the motor timing full clock wise. Temps were just too high.
Cameron Kellogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 08:23 PM   #12177
Tech Elite
 
JPMSRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lost in the Dead Space between my Ears Somewhere around Wamego, KS (OZ Land)
Posts: 3,518
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
It's the motor! The new Orion motors have a lot of timing already built in. On top of that it appears their sensors are causing some issues. Try another motor(not orion).
Randy I think Dustin Thompson said to get ahold of you because he really felt it was a bad new esc. I had 7.5 Ballistic and a new 10.5 Ballistic before the orion, all of them clogged so bad. No one there had a Tekin motor not being used. By the time I smoked someones else's motor, and had a broken chassis from this problem, plus the 1am-2am hr drive home, I didnt stick around and try to put a Tekin motor in.
__________________
I'm around still!!!
JPMSRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 08:29 PM   #12178
Tech Elite
 
motomanpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,181
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I have an RS coming this week and I am starting to get worried reading about all the issues people are having. Are most of these issues human error or are there issues with the software?
__________________
POWERED BY CORONA,MARLBORO'S
AND A RC CRACK HABIT
New sponsor YAK SCENT BODY SPRAY(Only the champs use it)
motomanpat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 08:32 PM   #12179
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 736
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by motomanpat View Post
I have an RS coming this week and I am starting to get worried reading about all the issues people are having. Are most of these issues human error or are there issues with the software?
Dont worry. This thing shouldnt be legal in spec classes, but because it is, you'll be fast....
Dont forget to get a Hotwire so you can update the software.....

Last edited by RC Racer OG; 02-14-2010 at 08:43 PM.
RC Racer OG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 08:35 PM   #12180
Tech Elite
 
JPMSRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lost in the Dead Space between my Ears Somewhere around Wamego, KS (OZ Land)
Posts: 3,518
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
JPMSracing-After reading this problem from the begining I'm at a loss of what the problem could be. As for the smoked motor what was the timing of the motor set at. With what you can do setting wise with the speedo it's important to know "ALL" your setting even when borrowing another motor. This may just be a bad unit. Randy is the guy that can shed a little more light as he knows the speedo inside and out. You didn't make a bad choice in speedo's. Everyone here is trying to help the best they can. You had a rough time the first time out but once we get to the bottom of your problem, your 2nd time will be great. Have you contacted Tekin yet? Give us a chance to make you happy again. It might be something simple if the unit isn't defective and if that's the case we all will feel stupid that we over looked it
I am going to try and talk to Tekin this week, right now I am trying to figure out what to do to get this new B44 up and going to race after I replace the chassis, from this mess. I really didnt want to buy another Novak, but I am scared of Tekin right now. It has been so frustrating and extremely costly having to buy someone a new motor and a chassis for a new car I havent even raced yet.
__________________
I'm around still!!!
JPMSRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:43 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net