R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-13-2010, 12:18 AM   #12076
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

If your servo is "busy" it's just trying to find center. It shouldn't have anything to do with the esc.

Yes the RS pro can handle the 4.5 turn without issue.

Yes if you see "standard" that is out of the box timing which is 12 degrees.

To get rid of reverse you should run MT 1 which is brushless forward only. Review your manuals "motor type" section.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 02:34 AM   #12077
Tech Apprentice
 
mark79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
Set your Boost down and replace it with Turbo.
As you lower your boost to 45 and set 10 Turbo, You will have a smoother acceleration.

What you also can do is use this setup.

Boost 50
Turbo 10
Turbo delay 0
Turbo ramp 2
Start RPM 5100
End RPM 17000
Throttle 5
Gearing 7FDR (to start with) Watch the motor temp.
As you don't do full throttle, your car drives easier away.
So for the infield this is better to drive.
When you hit the straight. give full throttle and you fly away.
As you want even more acceleration set your Turbo ramp to 3. Hold on this is fast.
Tried the above last night and the car was much quicker. pretty much bang on really. i thought the throttle profile was the mellow one but i realised it wasn't when setting up on hotwire (most aggressive). I thought i'd prob end up toning it down but there was no need.

I had the ramp at 2 and the gearing at 6.99 and the motor came off at 40-45 degrees celcius after 6 min!!! i reckon i'll leave the gearing as it is for my local track but gear up a for my next regional track (bigger).

Many thanks
__________________
AE RC8.2 powered by Picco Boost.
mark79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 05:52 AM   #12078
Tech Elite
 
Senna Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,035
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Wayne

For sma I would leave it at 12 for the slower sections

I will be at the track in the morning but have to go to work
before lunch

But I will have my laptop with me

Will not be running so can help you with a setting
just hope the weather holds out
__________________
Feral Batteries for all your on road needs
TRF 416, Fantom Batteries, Sorex, Tekin
Senna Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 07:53 AM   #12079
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,001
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
If your servo is "busy" it's just trying to find center. It shouldn't have anything to do with the esc.
I didnt think it could be cause of the ESC but when I had a LRP in the car it did nothing and switch to this and its doing it.

So is that bad on the servo? Or no.
C_Money is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 08:07 AM   #12080
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by warnos View Post
Just a quesiton regarding the redline motors.. The motor can came in the box with the standard timing at 12 degrees. Since the timing is now handled by the Speed Controller should I change the can timing back to 0?? Is this what everyone else is doing??

As on some of the V203 setup sheets I have noticed that the end bell timing is set to standard.. does this mean 12 degrees for the redline motor or 0 degrees..

When I run the Redline motor compared to a LRP Vector X11 is seems to have higher timing standard.. just an observation I have noticed with gearing of the two motors so I though the timing of the redline should be taken back to 0..

Cheers
The timing on the motor depends on a few things.
Track size.
Start RPM
Personal.
Gearing.

The motor timing will be used for extra top speed without using the Turbo.
I used on bigger tracks around the 10 motor timing and medium tracks around the 5 and small tracks 0.
With the V203 you can try what you like.
It gives you extra top speed and a different feel by the acceleration.
With motor timing it's a bit more aggressive will with 0 on the motor, it will be a bit smoother.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 09:03 AM   #12081
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

I am having issues with getting into the set up mode and making my tekin work. When I have speketrum, the motor does not move and cant get into set up mode, even after loading the software.

Then I put in synthesized receiver. Now, i have put in a synthesized receiver and not the motor works but still get into set up mode. What is going on?

A fast ESC but has major problems....Please help. Is it a faulty ESC that needs service?
Yellowtaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 09:08 AM   #12082
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowtaro View Post
I am having issues with getting into the set up mode and making my tekin work. When I have speketrum, the motor does not move and cant get into set up mode, even after loading the software.

Then I put in synthesized receiver. Now, i have put in a synthesized receiver and not the motor works but still get into set up mode. What is going on?

A fast ESC but has major problems....Please help. Is it a faulty ESC that needs service?
You want to calibrate the radio or did you do this already?
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 09:27 AM   #12083
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,996
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellowtaro View Post
I am having issues with getting into the set up mode and making my tekin work. When I have speketrum, the motor does not move and cant get into set up mode, even after loading the software.

Then I put in synthesized receiver. Now, i have put in a synthesized receiver and not the motor works but still get into set up mode. What is going on?

A fast ESC but has major problems....Please help. Is it a faulty ESC that needs service?
I wouldn't say the speedo has major problems. I'm sure it's something very simple. Randy will be along shortly to help you with your problem. You might want to pm him your problem rather than come on here pointing fingers and posting flame faces. Trust me....I use to be in your shoes and found I catch more bee's with honey than with vinegar.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 09:45 AM   #12084
Tech Elite
 
JPMSRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lost in the Dead Space between my Ears Somewhere around Wamego, KS (OZ Land)
Posts: 3,518
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I need some more help trying to figure out the clogging on my RS Pro, tried different motors, different sensor wires, I cant figure it out. It does it from a stop, 3 leds are lit up on the esc and the motor making terrible terrible noises, I have tried rolling the car while its doing it and watching the leds, but 3 leds stay lit the whole time while it is doing it. Once it takes off it runs great until it stops or you brake then 50% of the time it will not go again and just makes terrible noises until it decides to go again.
__________________
I'm around still!!!
JPMSRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 09:50 AM   #12085
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,996
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPMSRacing View Post
I need some more help trying to figure out the clogging on my RS Pro, tried different motors, different sensor wires, I cant figure it out. It does it from a stop, 3 leds are lit up on the esc and the motor making terrible terrible noises, I have tried rolling the car while its doing it and watching the leds, but 3 leds stay lit the whole time while it is doing it. Once it takes off it runs great until it stops or you brake then 50% of the time it will not go again and just makes terrible noises until it decides to go again.
What motors were you using (specific brands and winds) and how much motor timing are in the motors. Then can you please post your RS settings along with final drive ratio and track size?
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 09:50 AM   #12086
Tech Elite
 
JPMSRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lost in the Dead Space between my Ears Somewhere around Wamego, KS (OZ Land)
Posts: 3,518
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Come on Tekin guys, I am packing to race, I would hate to put my Novak back in, LOL, anyone have any Ideas???
__________________
I'm around still!!!
JPMSRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 10:01 AM   #12087
Tech Elite
 
JPMSRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lost in the Dead Space between my Ears Somewhere around Wamego, KS (OZ Land)
Posts: 3,518
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
What motors were you using (specific brands and winds) and how much motor timing are in the motors. Then can you please post your RS settings along with final drive ratio and track size?
OK dont go postal on me but I have had in it Novak Ballistic 7.5 and 10.5, the esc is new and I am going to try and race it today, it has never been on a track, I have been running it around my shop in a 20x20ft area. Its a B44 with a 81spur and a 25 pinion with the 10.5 in it right now. Settings are 3 leds for neutral, 30degs boost, 2500-8000rpm, sensored mode, BL with delayed reverse, and I have retarded the motor timing on the end bell one line, because the straight on the track is like 30ft and the other WOT is a 30ft sweeper, the rest of the track is difficult timed jumps and 180 corners, very very technical track, lots of get on it and brake action. The whole track area is 50x75ft I think.
__________________
I'm around still!!!
JPMSRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 10:02 AM   #12088
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,996
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JPMSRacing View Post
Come on Tekin guys, I am packing to race, I would hate to put my Novak back in, LOL, anyone have any Ideas???
Can you shed some light on what you're running?
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 10:04 AM   #12089
Tech Elite
 
JPMSRacing's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lost in the Dead Space between my Ears Somewhere around Wamego, KS (OZ Land)
Posts: 3,518
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
Can you shed some light on what you're running?
I know I am old and slow typing, I missed your post eariler while typing.
__________________
I'm around still!!!
JPMSRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 10:17 AM   #12090
Tech Master
 
racer-oZ's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Wichita
Posts: 1,485
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default quick help please

i have a friend racing today who had the small capacitor on the tekin rs speedo break off and it can't be repaired.

if he runs without the cap will it damage the speedo?

will another brand of speedo capacitor work in a pinch? ie. the novak one?

he is racing in the final leg of a series and needs help bad. any help is appreciated thanks!
racer-oZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:25 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net