R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-01-2008, 01:20 PM   #1186
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 585
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I finally installed the RS Pros in my cars a couple nights ago and will hit the track after work.



joech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 08:19 AM   #1187
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

runnin my RS with a Tekin Redline 17.5 motor. First day out was Sunday. As I indicated in an earlier post, I was very impressed with the power and driveability. Never got the motor above 150 and the speedo never got hot. I'm running a Losi Type R indoor carpet on rubber tires.

I used a buddy's hotwire to set the speedo to around 90% timing in dual mode. Timing on the motor endbell was not moved from how it came out of the box. What should I expect if I were to crank the endbell timing and place the RS into sensor onoly mode? It['s great now, but if I could have a bit more rip or top I wouldn't complain...

thanx
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 08:32 AM   #1188
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 585
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I ran both my cars last night, my RS pro with Redline 13.5 ran great in my 008EU, lot of punch and top speed is good. However my Redline 17.5 didn't run as good in my 416. It didn't seems to have the punch or speed and my motor temp at 150 after 5 minutes. Both RS pro ran in sensor mode and max timming on motor. What is the FDR I should aim for the 17.5?

Thanks.
joech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 09:53 AM   #1189
Tech Master
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,701
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joech View Post
I ran both my cars last night, my RS pro with Redline 13.5 ran great in my 008EU, lot of punch and top speed is good. However my Redline 17.5 didn't run as good in my 416. It didn't seems to have the punch or speed and my motor temp at 150 after 5 minutes. Both RS pro ran in sensor mode and max timming on motor. What is the FDR I should aim for the 17.5?

Thanks.
If you did not advance the timing on the motor itself, you weren't running with advanced timing. In sensor mode, the Tekin will run with the timing of the motor sensors. In hybrid mode, the system starts with the motor sensor's timing then switches to speed controller timing. When it switches to speed controller timing is when the timing you set in the speed controller will take over.

Either turn up the timing on the end of the motor, or gear up to make use of the surplus torque. Or, put the speed controller in hybrid mode and run both.
__________________
Speed Merchant Rev7, Tekin, TQ Racing (wire), Team Tamale
RC Excitement - Buy where you race, support your local tracks.
ROAR #105242
timmay70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 10:14 AM   #1190
Tech Master
 
Kenny L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I got my rubber Phi going Tuesday night with Rs pro and Redline 17.5. Here are the settings I came up with car was pretty dailed motor temps 135max.

4.05fdr
Redline 17.5 w/full motor timing
hybrid mode
drag = 80
rev = 0
brake = 90
neutral = 10
blfw
throt = 5
volt = 2
push = 0
timing = 100
current = off
__________________
Team Tekin, Ko Propo America
Kenny L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 10:16 AM   #1191
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 585
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmay70 View Post
If you did not advance the timing on the motor itself, you weren't running with advanced timing. In sensor mode, the Tekin will run with the timing of the motor sensors. In hybrid mode, the system starts with the motor sensor's timing then switches to speed controller timing. When it switches to speed controller timing is when the timing you set in the speed controller will take over.

Either turn up the timing on the end of the motor, or gear up to make use of the surplus torque. Or, put the speed controller in hybrid mode and run both.
Thank you for the info. This Brushless thing is new to me. I did set the max timing on the motor and the RS pro is in sensor mode. Should I move the timing back and get the gearing right for the infield first and advance the timing to get the top end?

Thanks,
Joe
joech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 10:18 AM   #1192
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 585
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Kenny, I am going to try your setting next time out.
joech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 11:49 AM   #1193
Tech Master
 
davepull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange Park, Florida
Posts: 1,180
Default




Tekin RS pro 3400 lipo and the 17.5 redline installed in a Custom Works Aggressor.
davepull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 11:56 AM   #1194
Tech Adept
 
360rcspeedway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 131
Default

Dave!
Is that my Snowbirds car???
haaa j/k

I do want to run oval though, gonna get a car setup for it def.

-Donny
360rcspeedway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 05:07 PM   #1195
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: FORT LAUDERDALE,FLORIDA
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Need help i have RSPro Running a novak 10.5..Guys at my track running the same motor with LRP esc..They are faster all over the track..im running 4.42fdr they are running 5.10fdr..My motor is at 160-170-6min i also have the 13mm rotor in the motor..
__________________
S411, EX-10 Eurus DDS,Tekin,Novak,Trinity
Team SF-RcRacers(Some people enjoy eating are dust) Team Serpent
iceman76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 07:10 PM   #1196
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,208
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iceman76 View Post
Need help i have RSPro Running a novak 10.5..Guys at my track running the same motor with LRP esc..They are faster all over the track..im running 4.42fdr they are running 5.10fdr..My motor is at 160-170-6min i also have the 13mm rotor in the motor..
what timing are you running? also ditch that 13mm rotor get the smaller rotor it will make the motor spool up alot quicker and give you more rpm
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 11:48 AM   #1197
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: FORT LAUDERDALE,FLORIDA
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
what timing are you running? also ditch that 13mm rotor get the smaller rotor it will make the motor spool up alot quicker and give you more rpm
Im running stock no Hotwire..
__________________
S411, EX-10 Eurus DDS,Tekin,Novak,Trinity
Team SF-RcRacers(Some people enjoy eating are dust) Team Serpent
iceman76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 12:03 PM   #1198
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Unfortunately without the hotwire you wont be able to get the esc competitive against the other cars

You will need to find someone with a hotwire and get them to up the timing to around 90.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 12:47 PM   #1199
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: FORT LAUDERDALE,FLORIDA
Posts: 705
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
Unfortunately without the hotwire you wont be able to get the esc competitive against the other cars

You will need to find someone with a hotwire and get them to up the timing to around 90.
i have one on order..Hope it works
__________________
S411, EX-10 Eurus DDS,Tekin,Novak,Trinity
Team SF-RcRacers(Some people enjoy eating are dust) Team Serpent
iceman76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 06:18 PM   #1200
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

If i recall correctly the default timing is set to 10 (on a scale of 100) so im sure you can imagine the difference when setting it to 90.

The other thing which people have been discussing is setting the motor to sensored only, then advancing the timing on the motor itself (although im not sure if you can do that with your motor). Apparently when you do that the esc runs more similarly to like a sphere.

Someone was explaining to me the differences in running a motor in unsensored and sensored a while back but i dont remember what he was saying.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:55 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net