R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-08-2010, 02:08 AM   #11896
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
Don't dot it with a low turn motor. You will wrack the car
what u mean by wrack the car? ... i put the tamiya spec motor but with RSpro esc ... cuz it can run brushed motor on that esc ~ but I'm really want to ask is the hotwire work on my mimi spec motors? or only the brushless?
skyshen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 02:20 AM   #11897
Tech Elite
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,020
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

I know about that screeching sound as my dads rs pro does it and won't move after loading 203 into it it will move 3ft stop screech and won't move but will work if 203 is not loaded into it . Any time he tries to load 203 the same thing happens. I know its not the software as mine was updated to 203 with his hotwire. But his speedo worked perfectly before . Just wierd cuz his rs is now worthless if 203 can't be used on it. Any ideas.
__________________
Maclan Racing Products-Bellgate Distributions-PR Racing- Prospeed
jeff jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 03:18 AM   #11898
Tech Regular
 
Lost Aggresiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Caledonia, MI
Posts: 255
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Check your servo. After loading 203 on mine, I had nothing but trouble. Ended up switching out a JR servo and went with a Futaba. No problems since.

Bill
Lost Aggresiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 03:28 AM   #11899
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

probably there is some issue with a loose wire or something as i could reproduce it once in a while while fidling with the wires. It also did it when i was fidling with the red and black power wires but that might also have been the sensor cable that moved in the esc while i was fidling with the power wires.

edit:
I raced 3 or 4 whole days with the new software and there was nothing wrong so i don't think it could eb the servo. It only happend after the crash.
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 03:39 AM   #11900
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26
Send a message via MSN to mark xray007
Default Good starting point

Hi all
I just got a rs pro and was wondering what a good starting point for my 17.5 X12 would be
I run at a medium size indoor asphalt track which is not too technical and has great traction
any help would be great

Regards Mark
mark xray007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 03:41 AM   #11901
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark xray007 View Post
Hi all
I just got a rs pro and was wondering what a good starting point for my 17.5 X12 would be
I run at a medium size indoor asphalt track which is not too technical and has great traction
any help would be great

Regards Mark
a track size would be useful for someone to chime in and help, i'm not bashing you or anyone else that says small,medium or large, but it gives a better picture when you give a track size in metres or yards...
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 03:57 AM   #11902
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 26
Send a message via MSN to mark xray007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
a track size would be useful for someone to chime in and help, i'm not bashing you or anyone else that says small,medium or large, but it gives a better picture when you give a track size in metres or yards...
I cant tell you exactly but it has a 18m straight then a sweeper followed by a 5m straight then a slow left right the another 4m straight a tight set of ss then a 4m straight a hairpin and back onto the straight hope this helps
mark xray007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 05:37 AM   #11903
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skyshen View Post
what u mean by wrack the car? ... i put the tamiya spec motor but with RSpro esc ... cuz it can run brushed motor on that esc ~ but I'm really want to ask is the hotwire work on my mimi spec motors? or only the brushless?
Yes that works.
I thought you wanted to use a 13,5T.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hardmankam View Post
Hi mikky32,

Thanks for your setup info.

May I ask what FDR/Rollout are you using for your setup? What is the size of the track and straight away? Many thanks!
Sorry it was 7,8 what i was running.
The motor became 89C so watch out and check your temp.

Play with the Turbo ramp to have a different acceleration feel.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 2wdrive View Post
probably there is some issue with a loose wire or something as i could reproduce it once in a while while fidling with the wires. It also did it when i was fidling with the red and black power wires but that might also have been the sensor cable that moved in the esc while i was fidling with the power wires.

edit:
I raced 3 or 4 whole days with the new software and there was nothing wrong so i don't think it could eb the servo. It only happend after the crash.
Check your wire into your receiver.
It can look good but I changed it and my problems were solved.

If that's not the problem. set it back to the V200. Check it than and as that works good, set it back to V203.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 05:50 AM   #11904
Tech Elite
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,365
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveL View Post
A couple of things to try..........Make the rpm spread a little bigger and raise the start to around 4500. Maybe 4500 - 15,000 or so. This will allow the timing to be added over a wider range which should smooth it out some and it will start coming in a little later out of the corner. Other thing is throttle profile. If you have it set on 3,4 or 5 you might find 1 or 2 more infield freindly. Like adding throttle expo in your radio.
Quote:
Originally Posted by oeoeo327 View Post
Depending on the track layout, you might want to consider using a longer turbo delay. Using a value of .2 feels like you're using the turbo boost almost instantaneously. +1 on the larger RPM spread and using a less aggressive throttle profile, since it will tame the throttle response. You could also experiment with using a little drag brake, but watch the motor temps while you test different drage brake settings.
thanks guys hope this helps.
i am now running 20% drag i wonder if this could be up setting the car in the corners as well?
jlfx car audio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 06:21 AM   #11905
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 600
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hello guys can someone explain what ramp,start,end,and fdr mean and what they do. I am new to this stuff I am a onroad nitro guy.
HoboShop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 06:29 AM   #11906
Tech Master
 
2wdrive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikky32 View Post
Check your wire into your receiver.
It can look good but I changed it and my problems were solved.

If that's not the problem. set it back to the V200. Check it than and as that works good, set it back to V203.
That is a good one. I didn't check the plug into the receiver. I did change some settings on the track in the morning so it could be the cause. It would be a stupid mistake , will have to check it in the evening.
2wdrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 06:33 AM   #11907
Tech Elite
 
Senna Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,035
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Fdr: final drive ratio - spur / pinion* internal ratio

ramp or ramp rate - is the rate that the turbo kicks in at in deg.

1 -2 deg
2 -4
3 -6

start the rpm were you would like the timing to start advancing at
end were it ends
__________________
Feral Batteries for all your on road needs
TRF 416, Fantom Batteries, Sorex, Tekin
Senna Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 07:21 AM   #11908
Tech Elite
 
cyclone x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gaithersburg MD
Posts: 2,547
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

where you can calc your rpms what is a good rpm level for a tekin 17.5 motor
__________________
Chase Chandler
Sponsors:HOTBODIES Express .The Track. Stevo Racing
Cars: VE8, F104 PRO, B4.1, HPI BLITZ, Losi SCTE
cyclone x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 07:35 AM   #11909
Tech Elite
 
oeoeo327's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,651
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlfx car audio View Post
thanks guys hope this helps.
i am now running 20% drag i wonder if this could be up setting the car in the corners as well?
Drag brake should make it easier to drive the car into the corner, since you shouldn't need to apply the brakes during corner entry. However, if you're using push control, the drag brake feature won't work properly. Check your ESC settings, and make sure that both features aren't being used simultaneously.
__________________
Founding member of the Solid Gold Racing Team - Mediocrity, redefined...
oeoeo327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 07:35 AM   #11910
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

a lot have come down to the 2500-8k range
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:25 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net