R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-07-2010, 05:08 AM   #11851
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pgeldz View Post
I know, I know, I'm quoting myself...weird I know.

Ok, somehow I missed the button right below the "other versions" box that allows you to upgrade the ESC. When I hovered over it, it said "update". Clicked it and it did its thing - walla, v203 applied.

Still baffled on question 2 and 3 though. Any help would be greatly appreciated.



- Paulie
Quick version - it works, don't worry about it!

Long version.

2. It appeared in the device list in XP, but doesn't appear to under that name in Vista or 7, not sure why but it may be under a different name. Just noticed, you're on XP. No idea but it works so it must be there. Blame it on Windows, most people do!

3. It's just part of the user interface design, nothing more than making it look pretty.

Trev
__________________
Schumacher Atom GT12
Schumacher Eclipse 12th
www.carsrcracing.co.uk
CARSrcracing.co.uk Webmaster
Schumacher Racing
TrevCoult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 05:27 AM   #11852
Tech Elite
 
Senna Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,035
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yokomo_Ant3 View Post
Very happy with the tekins 2day at our local club My mates car is faster than alot of 10.5 cars, with a 17.5... No joke, it actually reals them in on the straight The gearing is crazy, its geared at 8.2 and it fly's (Literally) Big thanks to James Anslie (B4james) for the help
Seeing is beleaving

b4 James what is your setup
__________________
Feral Batteries for all your on road needs
TRF 416, Fantom Batteries, Sorex, Tekin

Last edited by Senna Racing; 02-07-2010 at 05:48 AM.
Senna Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 05:29 AM   #11853
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 561
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevCoult View Post
Quick version - it works, don't worry about it!

Long version.

2. It appeared in the device list in XP, but doesn't appear to under that name in Vista or 7, not sure why but it may be under a different name. Just noticed, you're on XP. No idea but it works so it must be there. Blame it on Windows, most people do!

3. It's just part of the user interface design, nothing more than making it look pretty.

Trev
Sweet, thanks Trev!

On to tuning...

I posted a link to my track, and what motor I was using, and received two set-ups from two different people that were nearly identical. Upon looking closely, the only big difference was the starting and ending RPM's.

One was 5,000 to 18,000 with timing on the endbell, and the other was more like 3,000 to 9,000 with no timing on the endbell. This is for touring car, 10.5 Yokomo motor (which I think is a rebadged LRP X-11), rubber tire on a fairly large and flowing outdoor track.

Any ideas on which RPM settings I should start with out of the ones I received?

Here's the track:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VYgFDuP7e7w

- Paulie
pgeldz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 06:04 AM   #11854
Tech Elite
 
B4james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,162
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Senna Racing View Post
Seeing is beleaving

b4 James what is your setup
This is my 17.5 set up, I still have a little bit of fine tuning on the 10.5 set up.
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS ESC sensored-keilor-cup-17.5-v203.jpg  
__________________
Follow me on Facebook - James Ainslie Designs or on Instagram - JA_Designs

*HEI International for Protoform/Proline/Spaz Stix
*Bitty Design Australia for Bodies and Liquid Mask
* Airbrushmegastore.com for all paint and airbrush supplies
B4james is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 06:41 AM   #11855
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 561
Default

Well, I figured I'd put one of those tunes on the ESC so I could calibrate it to my transmitter and see what's what.

I couldn't figure out for the life of me why I couldn't get a response when calibrating the ESC for throttle.

Read something in this thread about reversing the throttle input on the transmitter and that did the trick. Calibrated perfectly after that.

So, first test on the bench and I was literally beside myself. When I heard the turbo kick in it was like having a 2 speed, just as advertised. Not only that, but I've never heard the car scream like that. Definitely sounded faster than any top speed bench run I've ever heard before.

I can't wait to test thing out on the track!

Heck, I might even get me one fo those ultra small netbook computers to fiddle with settings trackside. My normal laptop is too big, and battery doesn't last worth a crap.



- Paulie
pgeldz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 06:55 AM   #11856
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 282
Default

Has any one played with the neutral width on there RS ??? What difference does it make, what exactly does it do ?? I have mine set at 10 at the moment.
__________________
XRAY T4 Hobbywing V3 Sanwa
FLAT OUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 07:17 AM   #11857
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLAT OUT View Post
Has any one played with the neutral width on there RS ??? What difference does it make, what exactly does it do ?? I have mine set at 10 at the moment.
It gives you a little bit of trigger travel with no response. I think that's for people who need to fine tune their trigger finger or a radio that drifts a bit. Mine is set to zero ( a good radio shouldn't need any, but you can also set this in the radio, you don't need to do it on the speedy).
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 07:19 AM   #11858
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FLAT OUT View Post
Has any one played with the neutral width on there RS ??? What difference does it make, what exactly does it do ?? I have mine set at 10 at the moment.
it is how sensitive the throttle is at first pull,a lower number will give a very sensitive touch and a higher number gives you a softer touch (you have to move throttle farther to start)
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 07:50 AM   #11859
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
DB: 0
TP: 5
Boost: 50
Turbo: 8
Delay: 0.2
Ramp: 3
Start: 2,500
End: 8,000
Motor: Duo2 17.5 with 0 timing
Final: 5.8
Just as a follow up I wanted to report my findings after yesterday's practice. In the morning we redid the layout of our track. It is now a bit more technical so I definitely wanted the increased rip I was looking for before. The above setup is what I started with based on our last practice on Wednesday night.

The only things I ended up changing where lowering the end RPM to 7,500 (so it was 2,500 to 7,500), and I also dropped one tooth so my final drive was 6.0. The car really came alive and it worked great on our new layout. My temps were 130-145 and the car was hanging with the 13.5 cars (even the ones running Tekins).
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 07:52 AM   #11860
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Helsinki - Finland
Posts: 7
Default

Does anyone know, what is the fixed timing of CS 17.5T? Here in Finland it is one of the two allowed stock-motors, but nobody seems to know what's in it.
Tuca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 08:22 AM   #11861
Tech Regular
 
TrevCoult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevCoult View Post
2. It appeared in the device list in XP, but doesn't appear to under that name in Vista or 7, not sure why but it may be under a different name. Just noticed, you're on XP. No idea but it works so it must be there. Blame it on Windows, most people do!
Quoting myself now The HotWire appears as different device names under XP and Vista/7.

Under XP, when the HotWire is plugged in a HID-compliant device and a USB Human Interface Device are added.

Under Vista/7, a HID-compliant device and USB Input Device are added.

So it does show up, just under generic names that are impossible to tell from anything else.

Trev
__________________
Schumacher Atom GT12
Schumacher Eclipse 12th
www.carsrcracing.co.uk
CARSrcracing.co.uk Webmaster
Schumacher Racing
TrevCoult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 08:52 AM   #11862
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

How do I resolve this error? Its on XP. It use to work but maybe some software update broke it. I've tried to uninstall, reboot, and reinstall.

or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 09:07 AM   #11863
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,762
Default

Got to run the Tekin outside for the first time today on low grip asphalt.

No-one could touch me in a straight line, but high speed braking needs to be a bit better, I still lose out when I have to properly get rid of some speed.

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 09:13 AM   #11864
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
Just as a follow up I wanted to report my findings after yesterday's practice. In the morning we redid the layout of our track. It is now a bit more technical so I definitely wanted the increased rip I was looking for before. The above setup is what I started with based on our last practice on Wednesday night.

The only things I ended up changing where lowering the end RPM to 7,500 (so it was 2,500 to 7,500), and I also dropped one tooth so my final drive was 6.0. The car really came alive and it worked great on our new layout. My temps were 130-145 and the car was hanging with the 13.5 cars (even the ones running Tekins).

the new version really light's up a 17.5,last night i switched to a 13.5 and never found a set up
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 09:32 AM   #11865
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by or8ital View Post
How do I resolve this error? Its on XP. It use to work but maybe some software update broke it. I've tried to uninstall, reboot, and reinstall.

I reinstalled the .net framework 3.5 SP1 and it fixed it
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:23 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net