R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-06-2010, 12:12 PM   #11836
Tech Fanatic
 
RKeasler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: A step closer to where I need to be a step further from where I was
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HoboShop View Post
Does anybody have or know a good base setup for a tekin redline 17.5 motor with v203 software. I run the tamiya 416 we. Also is this a good motor to start out with compared to the trinity duo2 and the Lrp x12.
Duo2 does a good job, the team guys told me to be very careful with the X12 because of all the timing it has in it , would be very easy to smoke with the more aggressive setups.

Rod
__________________
ClemsonTigers
USVTA # 224
ERC
RKeasler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 12:48 PM   #11837
Tech Elite
 
ShaunMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Loading...
Posts: 3,390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RKeasler View Post
Duo2 does a good job, the team guys told me to be very careful with the X12 because of all the timing it has in it , would be very easy to smoke with the more aggressive setups.

Rod
He was asking about the performance of the Redline motor Rod.

The Redline motors are proven in all applications. Good motors.
ShaunMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 12:58 PM   #11838
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wingracer View Post
I'm not Randy or Yang but the esc doesn't care. If your Rx and servo can take it, you're fine.
Yup!
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 01:06 PM   #11839
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 103
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hi Guys just a quick question regarding motors and the RS. I notice a lot of posters here are running the Duo range with their setups and was wondering what the standard timing is compared to a Redline. ie middle hole = ? deg timing. cheers Dave
Toolmannz2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 01:21 PM   #11840
Tech Master
 
slakr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 1,712
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toolmannz2 View Post
Hi Guys just a quick question regarding motors and the RS. I notice a lot of posters here are running the Duo range with their setups and was wondering what the standard timing is compared to a Redline. ie middle hole = ? deg timing. cheers Dave
Duo is 10* 20* 30*
Center is 20*
All the way counter clockwise for 30*
All the way clockwise for 10*
__________________
TLR 22 4.0, 22-4 2.0, 8IGHT & 8IGHT-E 4.0~XRAY XB2C~AE TC7.1
Tim aka "slakr" ROAR No. 3-119960

Last edited by slakr; 02-06-2010 at 01:31 PM.
slakr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 01:57 PM   #11841
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 103
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the quick reply this thread is great for us tekin guys
Toolmannz2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 02:36 PM   #11842
Tech Fanatic
 
RKeasler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: A step closer to where I need to be a step further from where I was
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunMac View Post
He was asking about the performance of the Redline motor Rod.

The Redline motors are proven in all applications. Good motors.
Gotcha

Rod
__________________
ClemsonTigers
USVTA # 224
ERC
RKeasler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 06:23 PM   #11843
Tech Elite
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,363
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slakr View Post
Duo is 10* 20* 30*
Center is 20*
All the way counter clockwise for 30*
All the way clockwise for 10*
how would this compare to a novak SS timing wise since it dont have any #s
full clockwise is ?
full counterclock is ?
jlfx car audio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 09:44 PM   #11844
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlfx car audio View Post
how would this compare to a novak SS timing wise since it dont have any #s
full clockwise is ?
full counterclock is ?
3mm from zero timing in either direction on the outside diameter of the motor is equal to 10* of timing. So 6mm=20* and so on....
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 09:49 PM   #11845
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside of Crook County Illinois
Posts: 1,949
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to A-Ko
Default

If your 17.5 is turning 20k, what would seem to be a good starting range for Start/End rpm?
__________________
Jeffrey
teamgravityrc.com - motivrc.com
USVTA National Points Member #101
A-Ko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 10:54 PM   #11846
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

2k-15k
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 04:22 AM   #11847
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 561
Default

Ok fellas, quick install help needed...

I currently don't have anything installed on my PC for the Tekin RS, so this will be a totally clean install.

Registered on the site, downloaded the newest software. Installed fine. Plugged up the Hotwire via USB to my computer. Said it found new hardware and it's ready for use.

Went into the drivers section and DID NOT see it listed like the .pdf help file says it should. Figured, no big deal.

Plugged up the ESC to the Hotwire, and clicked the software icon.

I get a quick Hotwire screen, that goes away automatically, then the interface comes up.

I get a small pop up at the bottom that says new software is available, and if I don't click it, it goes away. Interface shows an "advanced" button. I click that, and get more settings available to me on the right hand side of the interface.

I re-did this again to see what clicking the "new software is available" pop up box will do, and it did the same exact thing as clicking the "advance" button the first time, as in it gave me more settings available on the right hand side of the interface.

So with that said, the interface said the current version is 180, but in the box below it that says "other versions", it lists v203 at the top of the list.

1) How do I get v203 to show up in the "current version" box? No matter what I do, the interface still says 180 in the "current version" box.

2) Also, shouldn't I be seeing the Tekin drivers in the device settings box under my computer like the .pdf help file says?

3) The interface also shows "dual drive mode" at the bottom with a bunch of holes in the interface, like it's almost not appicable for this ESC. Is that true, or could it be some weird sort of graphical interface problem?

Please let me know...I really want to get on with it. It's a 32 bit Windows XP machine.



- Paulie
pgeldz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 04:38 AM   #11848
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 561
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pgeldz View Post
1) How do I get v203 to show up in the "current version" box? No matter what I do, the interface still says 180 in the "current version" box.

2) Also, shouldn't I be seeing the Tekin drivers in the device settings box under my computer like the .pdf help file says?

3) The interface also shows "dual drive mode" at the bottom with a bunch of holes in the interface, like it's almost not appicable for this ESC. Is that true, or could it be some weird sort of graphical interface problem?

- Paulie
I know, I know, I'm quoting myself...weird I know.

Ok, somehow I missed the button right below the "other versions" box that allows you to upgrade the ESC. When I hovered over it, it said "update". Clicked it and it did its thing - walla, v203 applied.

Still baffled on question 2 and 3 though. Any help would be greatly appreciated.



- Paulie
pgeldz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 04:40 AM   #11849
Tech Elite
 
Yokomo_Ant3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,405
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Very happy with the tekins 2day at our local club My mates car is faster than alot of 10.5 cars, with a 17.5... No joke, it actually reals them in on the straight The gearing is crazy, its geared at 8.2 and it fly's (Literally) Big thanks to James Anslie (B4james) for the help
__________________
Antoni Caretti

Team Yokomo - Racing Performer - Sweep Racing
Yokomo_Ant3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 04:52 AM   #11850
Tech Elite
 
B4james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,162
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

No worries Ant, I get just as big a kick from the reaction people give the first time they experience the speed with this new software.

Almost as much as winning or driving myself,

Today was awesome to see people who at the last meeting were running in the B now actually running in the "A" and winning it with the only change being the installation of an RS speedy and the new 203 software. I think quite a few eyes were opened today

Next meeting I will need to show what it can do in 10.5 when set up correctly
__________________
Follow me on Facebook - James Ainslie Designs or on Instagram - JA_Designs

*HEI International for Protoform/Proline/Spaz Stix
*Bitty Design Australia for Bodies and Liquid Mask
* Airbrushmegastore.com for all paint and airbrush supplies
B4james is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:30 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net