R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-28-2008, 03:10 PM   #1171
Tech Elite
 
YmeBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,927
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I am looking for a used RS or RS Pro.

Just picked up a 13.5 redline, any suggestions for an open rubber on carpet track? Like what temps should i be shooting for?
__________________
www.skyrocketracing.com quality RC gear!
http://www.rctech.net/forum/racing-forum/555071-2011-skyrocket-invitational-blue-diamond-raceway-october-15-16-a.html <- Great race!

Last edited by YmeBP; 09-28-2008 at 08:06 PM.
YmeBP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 10:41 PM   #1172
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Just ran my RS/Redline 17.5 combo today and so far I'm I'm one happy customer. Plenty of rip and speed, and never got over 145F all day. Last time out I ran an Xcelorin speedo with a Trinity 17.5, and making similar power had that motor coming off the track between 170 and 175F.

Been using Tekin products since 1988, and the only thiing Tekin hasn't managed to do yet is disappoint me.

Thanks
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 09:20 AM   #1173
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,300
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sportpak View Post
Thanks Dayton.
What about the 7.4 volts on the electronics? What do you guys do in nitro racing if your running lipo receiver packs? I'm not sure how the big burly servo you use in truggy compare to the dinky 12th scale servos. Are they made to run @ 7.4 volts or do you step it down with something?
You have to regulate that down or you are going to burn your servos out. Look for a 6.0V regulator... some even come with a Lipo cut-off as well. I believe Castle Creations makes one that will work for you.
duckman996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 09:30 AM   #1174
Tech Elite
 
OSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: o0O In the FishBowl O0o
Posts: 3,273
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Thumbs down 4 flashing lights

I have an RS that continaully flashes LEDS 1, 2, 6 and7. As if I am I am in the wrong motor mode. I have set motor modes 1 thru 3 using the Redline 10.5 but the 1,2,6,7 LEDS continues to flash. Did Factory Reset and set to Brushless modes numerous times.. Still giving me the error code.. Any ideas??

__________________
•KO Propo America
•EXOTEK
OSherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 09:51 AM   #1175
Tech Master
 
Kenny L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Do you have a hotwire?
__________________
Team Tekin, Ko Propo America
Kenny L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 09:57 AM   #1176
Tech Elite
 
OSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: o0O In the FishBowl O0o
Posts: 3,273
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

nope..
__________________
•KO Propo America
•EXOTEK
OSherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 10:21 AM   #1177
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

What motor do you have it hooked up to? Brushed or Brushless?
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 11:04 AM   #1178
Tech Elite
 
OSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: o0O In the FishBowl O0o
Posts: 3,273
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Brushless
__________________
•KO Propo America
•EXOTEK
OSherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 11:51 AM   #1179
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OSherman View Post
I have an RS that continaully flashes LEDS 1, 2, 6 and7. As if I am I am in the wrong motor mode. I have set motor modes 1 thru 3 using the Redline 10.5 but the 1,2,6,7 LEDS continues to flash. Did Factory Reset and set to Brushless modes numerous times.. Still giving me the error code.. Any ideas??

W/O useing a Hotwire, Press Mode on ESC 6 times, LED6 start to flash. INCR buttom 1,2,or 3 Set it what even Brushless you're useing, Wait a few seconds For ESC to program. After it chimes set is kept in memory and LED3 is solid. Should be good from there.
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 12:12 PM   #1180
Tech Elite
 
OSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: o0O In the FishBowl O0o
Posts: 3,273
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geezatec View Post
W/O useing a Hotwire, Press Mode on ESC 6 times, LED6 start to flash. INCR buttom 1,2,or 3 Set it what even Brushless you're useing, Wait a few seconds For ESC to program. After it chimes set is kept in memory and LED3 is solid. Should be good from there.
Been there, done that numerous times.. Instead of going back to 'neutral' it returns to 1,2,6 and7 blinking. Does not react to throttle input, just sits and blinks... and blinks..... and... blinks..

I noticed the literature mentioned something about self-test and Pit-mode, I tried doing the Pit Mode, it still returns to 1,2, 6 and 7 blinking.. What is the Self-test? And how do i perform?? Or this that a HotWire exclusive feature?
__________________
•KO Propo America
•EXOTEK
OSherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 12:51 PM   #1181
Tech Elite
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OSherman View Post
Been there, done that numerous times.. Instead of going back to 'neutral' it returns to 1,2,6 and7 blinking. Does not react to throttle input, just sits and blinks... and blinks..... and... blinks..

I noticed the literature mentioned something about self-test and Pit-mode, I tried doing the Pit Mode, it still returns to 1,2, 6 and 7 blinking.. What is the Self-test? And how do i perform?? Or this that a HotWire exclusive feature?
Did you call Tekin? I had an RS that would just blink 1,3,5 like I was under cutoff voltage. If I power cycled it a bunch of times it would eventually boot up fine.

I called Tekin and spoke at length to Chris, who was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. We went through every possible troubleshooting scenario and it turned out I just had a defective unit. They sent me a new one and it's perfect.

Call them and talk to Chris.
__________________
Pete Waydo
2010 Big Fat Turkey Race Mini Cooper AAA Main Champion
*** currently in stasis ***
reenmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 05:18 PM   #1182
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Make sure you don't have a small solder blob anywhere on your motors 3 phase wires. Either on the esc or the motor. If there's even a small whisp of solder that's all it will take.

If that isn't it try unplugging the sensor harness, turn the unit on and off 3 times(let it boot every time in between) and see if it operates.

If you need more help:

[email protected]
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 05:40 PM   #1183
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Well I tried the new setup on my RS and LRP 13.5...went from Hybrid mode with 80% timing to Sensored mode with max timing on the motor. Overall speed and punch didn't seem to change much if at all. Motor temps ran about the same. Where I did notice it is in the brake and drag brake. Running the RS in Sensored only mode the car finally felt like it has brakes. So much so the brakes can almost hold my car in place on our starting grid which is on a hill. I'm very satisified with the results of the change and am going to keep running it this way. Now I just need new batts and figure out my handling woes.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 05:46 PM   #1184
Tech Elite
 
OSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: o0O In the FishBowl O0o
Posts: 3,273
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Make sure you don't have a small solder blob anywhere on your motors 3 phase wires. Either on the esc or the motor. If there's even a small whisp of solder that's all it will take.

If that isn't it try unplugging the sensor harness, turn the unit on and off 3 times(let it boot every time in between) and see if it operates.

If you need more help:

[email protected]
Thanks for the tips.. I'm actually setting this up for a friend who made all the original solder connections.. I will double check them. Then go thru the motions again.

-O
__________________
•KO Propo America
•EXOTEK
OSherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 01:12 PM   #1185
Tech Master
 
davepull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orange Park, Florida
Posts: 1,180
Default

page 3 wtf back to the top
davepull is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:36 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net