R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-06-2010, 10:09 AM   #11821
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I have never had an actual spektrum radio, but most all of the better radios on the market beat the spektrum module systems. Maybe the complete radio is better. I'll stick with Airtronics FM or maybe give KO a try.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 10:11 AM   #11822
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

i have a dx3s and and r1 on crystals only have my brakes set at 50% so they dont lock up
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 10:17 AM   #11823
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by higbo View Post
For me the KO........ but never had a spektrum
There is no comparison. The Spektrum was so slow I just couldn't use the speed of my steering servo. Mind you that was a DX3 Spektrum which is a rather old radio. Newer Spektrums are better but still below the KO. The Spektrum also had problems with losing binding for fractions of a second which can't help. I can tell you that just by changing the radio I shaved about 1 second a lap on our track.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 10:25 AM   #11824
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by niznai View Post
There is no comparison. The Spektrum was so slow I just couldn't use the speed of my steering servo. Mind you that was a DX3 Spektrum which is a rather old radio. Newer Spektrums are better but still below the KO. The Spektrum also had problems with losing binding for fractions of a second which can't help. I can tell you that just by changing the radio I shaved about 1 second a lap on our track.



When you refer to KO... the system ko is 2.4mhz or FM?
__________________
http://jlsabucedo.wordpress.com
higbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 10:32 AM   #11825
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

2.4GHz but that's irrelevant. The reaction speed of the radio is what makes the difference not the carrier frequency.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 10:39 AM   #11826
Tech Regular
 
Donny Lia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lavaandy View Post
you missed profile thanks
I used profile 4. Should point out however that throttle profile is strictly throttle curve mapping and has no effect on motor timing etc...

edit:forgot to say really just driver preference
Donny Lia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 10:47 AM   #11827
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 234
Default

Question for Randy or Yang

I am running 1/12 scale with a 2 cell receiver pack plugged directly into the receiver with no regulator. Is this to much voltage for the speedo. In other words am I risking buring it out?

I know I am already taking the risk with my JR servo.

Thanks
Jeremy Otis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 10:56 AM   #11828
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Otis View Post
Question for Randy or Yang

I am running 1/12 scale with a 2 cell receiver pack plugged directly into the receiver with no regulator. Is this to much voltage for the speedo. In other words am I risking buring it out?

I know I am already taking the risk with my JR servo.

Thanks
With my Tekin RS driven WGT, I use the Trinity/Epic Li-Fe receiver pack. It's voltage is only 6.6V and does not require a regulator. And I use the JR servo too. No problem.

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 11:00 AM   #11829
Tech Adept
 
hi-tech-redneck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: hanford ca.
Posts: 136
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

ok....i read here somewere that you could download v203 once you signed up at the tekin site. the only thing i see to sign up for is the forum witch i did but i don't see anything stating downloads ,do i need to ask?have a secret hand shake,stick my tounge out of the other side of my mouth?????last time i upgraded i just sent randy a p.m. and he sent me back a link.also anyone have a good starting point for v203 for 1/12 scale 1s lipo,outdoor,large track with 120ft strait and both tight&open tech sections.just a starting point,with all the advise on this site i should be able to tweek it from there.
__________________
tularecountyrc.com/the chicken ranch/exeter hobbies/nor-cal hobbies,ripon raceway/hara tcx/losi 22/top photon vta/tekin/reedy/hpi racing/3racing/AT&T/much more/upgrade rc
hi-tech-redneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 11:05 AM   #11830
Tech Fanatic
 
vabroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: dark side of the moon
Posts: 936
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hi-tech-redneck View Post
ok....i read here somewere that you could download v203 once you signed up at the tekin site. the only thing i see to sign up for is the forum witch i did but i don't see anything stating downloads ,do i need to ask?have a secret hand shake,stick my tounge out of the other side of my mouth?????last time i upgraded i just sent randy a p.m. and he sent me back a link.also anyone have a good starting point for v203 for 1/12 scale 1s lipo,outdoor,large track with 120ft strait and both tight&open tech sections.just a starting point,with all the advise on this site i should be able to tweek it from there.
Try this:
http://teamtekin.com/hotwire/vegas/index.html

or this:
http://teamtekin.com/hotwire.html
vabroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 11:08 AM   #11831
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 600
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Does anybody have or know a good base setup for a tekin redline 17.5 motor with v203 software. I run the tamiya 416 we. Also is this a good motor to start out with compared to the trinity duo2 and the Lrp x12.
HoboShop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 11:08 AM   #11832
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hi-tech-redneck View Post
ok....i read here somewere that you could download v203 once you signed up at the tekin site. the only thing i see to sign up for is the forum witch i did but i don't see anything stating downloads ,do i need to ask?have a secret hand shake,stick my tounge out of the other side of my mouth?????last time i upgraded i just sent randy a p.m. and he sent me back a link.also anyone have a good starting point for v203 for 1/12 scale 1s lipo,outdoor,large track with 120ft strait and both tight&open tech sections.just a starting point,with all the advise on this site i should be able to tweek it from there.
You will receive an e-mail from Tekin with the link. Not sure how long it took for me to get mine...An hour or so during a weekday.

Vabroom's first link above gets you there too.

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 11:15 AM   #11833
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Otis View Post
Question for Randy or Yang

I am running 1/12 scale with a 2 cell receiver pack plugged directly into the receiver with no regulator. Is this to much voltage for the speedo. In other words am I risking buring it out?

I know I am already taking the risk with my JR servo.

Thanks
I'm not Randy or Yang but the esc doesn't care. If your Rx and servo can take it, you're fine.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 11:26 AM   #11834
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I owned the KO 2.4Ghz stuff for a couple years and have switched to a Spektrum DX3R. I don't notice a difference at all.
or8ital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 11:50 AM   #11835
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HoboShop View Post
Does anybody have or know a good base setup for a tekin redline 17.5 motor with v203 software. I run the tamiya 416 we. Also is this a good motor to start out with compared to the trinity duo2 and the Lrp x12.

i like the redline over the duo2 but it is a good motor what i am using is
timing boost 50 motor 0-4deg
turbo 10
delay 4-5
ramp 2
start 2500-3k
end 10k-11k
fdr 5.5-6.0
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:57 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net